We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring toilet roll”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Prestige Odalys Edenarc
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bring toilet roll”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

After spending £2000 we were very surprised to be allocated 1 toilet roll for a week, more roll is available at a cost sadly the same is also true for a bin bag, which unfortunately about the size of a wash bag.the room is cold and when we asked if more heat is available we were informed that the technician would turn the heat up. I still don't understand why it is necessary for another person to dictate the allocation of heat. The drain in the em suite can only be described as nasty again we were informed that the technician would sort this out. We are quite literally holding our breath. The accommodation is definatly compact and disappointingly out of the many tv channels available in this international hotel the only 2 English ones are cnn news and bbc world news. All in all disappointing from a service point of view and value for money .

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank sbr009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    113
    38
    18
    11
See reviews for
191
44
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I'll make this easy pro's and con's

Pro's
Ski in and out virtually on piste.
Good sized rooms, but an apartment for 6 realistically suits 4 (sofa bed in living room).
Very clean modern apartment.
Ski lockers good but not heated.
Staff helpful and friendly.
A good ammount of utilities available in kitchen.

Con's
Most annoyingly NO OVEN!! Just a microwave grill combo which is useless! And it's tiny.
Not good if your a beginner as you are half way up the piste with a steep section below which a beginner could not cope with.
A little out of the way from the main town but there is a free bus service

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lievesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

this is one of the newer properties in 1800, as such it's not directly in the centre of town; however it is a better location in terms of ski-in and ski-out. As for the walk-up at the end of the evening, if you take the lit foot path, it isn't that difficult. In contrast, the walk from most accommodations in Villard to the lifts is a steep, albeit short uphill too; whereas in the morning we simply skied to our lift of choice.

The apartments themselves are very well equipped, furnished and are very clean. We had a two bedroom apartment with a fire place, and it was certainly a good choice.

The central heating initially was set too low for our comfort, but after a quick request to the reception, they reset our room at a slighter higher level without any fuss.

The the pool area was large and clean, although did tend to get quite crowded at peak hours. Annoyingly the outdoor part of the pool had no view whatsoever, somewhat negating its purpose in my view.

Overall, if you are visiting Arc 1800, then Edenarc is your best choice for accommodation.

Room Tip: room with a fire place is worth it. The daily wood service is very efficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton abbas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel is lovely with knock out views and beautiful swimming pool. Only downside would be that it lacks character but the receptionists were consistently helpful as were the staff in the Ski Republic which is attached to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the ski runs and not facing Mount Blanc as although this view is beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I am not interested in apres ski so I choose this place because it advertised UK satellite TV, I was expecting a lot more than the 3 channels I have mentioned, it was very annoying.
I am yet to stay anywhere in France with decent UK TV. Go to USA or Canada instead, apart from the fact I think the snow record in Vail and Breck is better, if you don't want to go out you also get decent TV in USA.
Also the sauna and steam rooms were not worth bothering with, the amount of people walking in and out made it seem like they should just take the door off, no kidding i was actually a bit cold in the sauna and it was warmer in my apartment.

The other annoying thing that happened was the WiFi was not working for 4 days, how can a 4 star residence take 4 days to fix this??? i was planning to Skype my wife.
That said I still thoroughly enjoyed the snowboard trip, wouldn't go back to Edenarc though just because I can get rubbish French TV for a in another apartment for less.
It was clean, brand new in appearance, good location on slopes but not to walk into 1800, however it only takes 5-10 mins if you fancy a walk down the piste in the dark to get to 1800 resort shops. The free shuttle was frequent.
Also FYI we did a round trip to Lidl in Bourg St Maurice using the free buses and funicular, it took 2.75 hours.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 490ROB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EU
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Access is badly described for public transport: take the shuttle to charvet 1800 where you get a second shuttle to chantel. That second shuttle is just 5 mins, you get off at the end stop. If you dont ski (evenings) this also means going to town is a bit of a journey.

We stayed in a two bedroom app, the design is very nicely done and everything seems new and solid. Besides some doors slamming they also seem quite well sound isolated.
Kitchen: small oven/micro, large fridge, enough cutlery/pots and pans, dishwasher
Living: spacious and comfortable
Bedroom one: idem livingroom, VERY comfortable matresses, i would say medium-hard to hard.
Bedroom two slightly bigger than the bed.

Bathroom: decent pressure amd well litt

Services: the pool and spa are very nicely done but the pool is not very warm. The jacuzzi is slightly warmer. The sauna is simply too cold. It is one sauna for men and women mixed.

The biggest frustration was wifi: out of 7 days it worked for three. One apartment get one or maximum two log-ins, which is plain silly for a six people appartment. When wifi worked it was the speed of 1998 dial up connection.

Ski in out is perfectly adequate.

If you get an app with fireplace, be aware wood will cost you 15 euro per night.

Conclusion: great apartments, but the rest is soso. If management would improve wifi and spa experience i would stay here again. Being placed out of 1800 means its nice and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esarhaddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week's stay at Eden Arc, Les Arcs. Anthony and his staff are so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Clean and spacious rooms. Kitchen fully equipped including dishwasher. Order fresh baguettes from reception. Bar and pizza close by. Free bus to 1800 town. Ski-in/ski-out location. Fantastic pool, outstanding mountain views. Had no problem at all with internet signal and we were not even close to reception. Internet free. Anthony took the time to arrange birthday surprise - nothing seemed like too much trouble. All in all, would highly recommend Eden Arc. January 2014.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Arcs hotels
2.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Arc 1950 Le Village
0.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Belmont
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#8 of 17 in Les Arcs
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
#2 of 17 in Les Arcs
196 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Taj-I Mah
Hotel Taj-I Mah
#1 of 17 in Les Arcs
142 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arcadien Hotel & Spa
Arcadien Hotel & Spa
#11 of 17 in Les Arcs
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Prestige Odalys Edenarc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Prestige Odalys Edenarc

Property: Residence Prestige Odalys Edenarc
Address: le Chantel, 73700 Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Bourg Saint Maurice > Les Arcs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Les Arcs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Residence Prestige Odalys Edenarc 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Prestige Odalys Edenarc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing