We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views, comfortable seating, great food”

Les Chalets de l'Arc
Ranked #5 of 77 Restaurants in Les Arcs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: There is a B&B listed with the same name that may cause confusion. This is definitely a bar/restaurant only.
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views, comfortable seating, great food”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Astonishingly beautiful place to rest and recuperate those aching leg muscles. On a sunny day it's well worth booking a table on the raised decking with red sofa-style seating and chilling for as long as you are able to! Not cheap but the food is sometimes exquisite - one plat du jpur (filet mignons du porc) was to die for, while another (lightly curried pork with very stodgy rice) was a real let down. Friends and family who had the ribs, bolognese, salads etc - all raved about their food. But whatever the strength of the food - this is a place to revel in the glory all around you and make that small lunchtime beer last as long as possible.
Service very prompt once you've ordered - but sometimes hard to get your waiters attention (no hardship so long as you don't have a rendezvous to get to)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodandkindness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    194
    49
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond upon Thames
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best mountain food I had this holiday”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a fabulous restaurant. Friends had recommended it and the first time we skied over from Belle Plagne we made a beeline for it. Service was super friendly and quick, the menu is comprehensive and the interior of the restaurant is just gorgeous - your fantasy mountain restaurant brought to life with tasteful knick knacks and decor.

This lovely attention to detail included piped music of cow bells and birds chirping in the loos! Which of course were immaculate.

Portions are MASSIVE. My husband and I shared a tartiflette, which, along with the superb bread they bake on the premises (apparently they are the highest bakery in the alps) was more than enough for two. This was accompanied by a rather fabulous glass of sancerre. Our friends had soup - really this would have been enough for two - served in a sizeable le creuset casserole and accompanied by grated cheese and croutons. Our other friends shared a spaghetti bolognese and salad - more than enough for two.

We had several tartiflettes this week, and the one here was by far the best. Absolutely outstanding (but I defy one normal human being to eat a whole one!) and in fact our soup eating friends went back a few days later and succumbed.

We also went back later but this time I had a rather outstanding goat's cheese salad, and my husband had some soup. Both of us were defeated, not able to finish. This time it was lunch a deux and we were seated by the fire, contentedly sipping our lunchtime glass of wine. We were saddened to note that the cow bells and chirpy birds were missing from the loos, but everything else was perfect.

This will not be the cheapest mountain restaurant you eat at in the Paradiski area, but I bet you it's the best. Go forth and enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minkykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Mountain Stop”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just stopped today... sadly only had about 1/2 hour. But ordered plat du jour - Beef Bourgoignon with polenta - yum! Just did not think I we deserved it as skiing a bit difficult today with bad visibility :). All other reviews are spot on! Just try to stay a bit longer. We'll stop again tomorrow for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best place for a mountain meal nr Arc 2000”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Have frequented this restaurant a number of times and it has become one of our favorites. It has a charming interior and a sun drenched terrasse. The food comes in substantial portions and there are some real knock out dishes on the menu such as the roast farm bred chicken and feuillete de viande. The service is super quick if a bit brusque. Recommended! Best to book in advance to guarantee a table

Helpful?
1 Thank FSBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chez Christo Group visit”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great food and folded bread pizza. Sun terrace meal in February. Great views and looked after the Chez Christo Group. Interior is fantastic.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BigAl187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Chalets de l'Arc also viewed

Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice
Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice
 
Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice
Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice
 

Been to Les Chalets de l'Arc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing