We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel with excellent service”
Review of Ryokan Biyunoyado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ryokan Biyunoyado
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel with excellent service”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here in February 2013 and it was a fantastic! The traditional rooms are spacious with great views over the valley and the village. You sleep on the traditional mats on the floor. Our room was on the 6th floor. The room has a separate entrance where there is access to the toilet and the private bathroom. The living/bed room offers coffee and tea facilities. The meals are included and is an amazing experience in itself. The lobby and the common areas are very nice and you can access internet freely from these areas. We went to the monkey park and the hotel offered free shuttle service to that place. All in all this was a great hotel with excellent food and service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fortalezakaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    43
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
108
134
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The Japanese rooms in this ryokan are very spacious and modern. Comes with a bath. Has great views overlooking Yudanaka town and the skiing mountains. The outdoor onsens were nice and when the fluffy snow fell while bathing in the hot springs, it was a sublime experience! Food at dinner was abundant though the taste was a little mild. Breakfast was superb and great in taste and variety. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2013

美湯の宿に滞在中、お食事、サービス、観光(私は温泉につかるお猿さん、主人はスキー)を満喫しました。でも、最も驚いたのは温泉でした。源泉かけ流しなのですが、乾燥でとても痒くなっていた肌が二日で治ったんです!カサカサの指先とカリカリのかかとも保湿クリームをつけてないのにツルツルです。ペットボトルで持って帰りました。あまり宣伝したくないけど、同じ悩みを持つ国内外の方々のために書き込みしました。
I live in Japan and frequently travel to ONSENS (hot springs) throughout Japan. Each ONSEN has different theraputic qualities, and I've been to many good places but Biyu no Yado (synonymous to View and in Japanese characters is written Beautiful Springs) tops it all. The service, food and environment (snow monkeys-so cute!) are great. But I was most impressed with the quality of the hot spring water--it's unfiltered, undiluted and unheated. There are thousands of ONSEN Inns but it's very hard to find water so pure, and it's effect was...unbelievable.
I have dry skin in the winter and break out in hives, and I happened to go in the peak of itchiness. After repeated dunks in the ONSEN, the itch stopped in a day and the hives started to disappear the following day. My fingertips and heels, usually so dry it runs my stockings, are silky and smooth without using moisturizer. I was so happy I bottled the water and brought it home! I'm sure there are other theraputic qualities to this ONSEN, and I intend to find out after repeated visits.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mocha99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at the Biyu with my wife and 2 teenage children. We were there to go skiing at nearby Shiga Kogen. From the minute we were picked up from the train station the management and staff did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. We stayed 6 nights and the chef prepared 6 different evening meals using local produce as the centrepiece. Each dish was delicious and presented immaculately. The “American” breakfast was hearty and fresh, just what was needed before a hard days skiing.
We stayed in a room that had tatami mats and futons, which we found to be surprisingly comfortable. The furnishings were elegant and well maintained and the rooms and lobby were kept spotlessly clean. The onsens were clean, and relaxing and just the tonic after a day on the mountain, and changed from male to female each day so guests can utilise all of the baths.
Staff member Shane spoke excellent English and drove us to and from the ski slopes each day, and also organised hiring our ski gear which was brand new and matched the brilliant skiing we had at Shiga Kogen. He was able to get the hire gear for a very cheap price considering the high quality of the equipment.
My daughter decided to rest from skiing one day and the owner’s wife (who speaks excellent English) took my daughter on a tour of Yudanaka, Shibu and Obuse in her own car. She showed my daughter many interesting and amazing sights and gave her an unforgettable day.
On our final day the Biyu drove us to the “must see” Snow Monkey Park and then picked us up after we had visited that wonderful place and drove us to the station.
If you want to experience a true cultural and epicurean highlight then I strongly recommend staying at the Biyu-no-Yada.

Room Tip: River view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were greated at the train station by the owner Shane. Very friendly. Once we arrived at the Ryokan his wife Yukiko greeted us, dressed in traditional dress. She chatted away to us as she booked us in and showed us the room. We booked the traditional room. Well worth it. We wore the traditional Japanese clothes and slippers while at the Ryokan. The Japenese dinner was amazing. The room was very clean, with tatami matting, green tea to be made in the pot. The TV had English speaking channels. While we were at dinner the staff changed our sitting area into our bedroom area with futons on the floor. Very comfortable and warm. The view from our room of the mountains in the distant was beautiful. Snow everywhere. I used the tradional bath house and onsen in the ryokan. A great experience. My skin was so soft for days after. Yukiko and Shane supply a free shuttle to and from the snow monkeys. It was an amazing experience and well worth the travel to get to this area. Great to be out of the cities sometimes and see the counrtyside of Japan. I can see why this Ryokan is rated no. 1 for this area. Yukiko and Shane and the their staff work extremely hard in making you feel like you are part of their family and through their hard work and efforts give us a real experience of Japanese culture and food. This is a must do...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My friend and I stayed 3 nights at this recommended hotel in Yudanaka, with 2 objectives...visiting the snow monkey bathing in hot spring pool in winter and taking walks around the town taking views of the landscapes covered in snow. We also visited the nearby sake tasting outlet!

The hotel is modern, balanced with Japanese character of a ryokan. We enjoyed the breakfast and dinner in the hotel, as well as the onsen facilities. The service staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and we enjoyed our stay in the hotel. The hotel also provides free transfer to see the snow monkey, and even provide a one way transfer for us to the shiga kogen ski areas.

Location of the hotel was around 7 to 10 mins walk from the train station, however the hotel provides free transfers. On the day of our arrival at the station, a taxi driver offered us a free ride to the hotel....arranged through the tourist information counter at the station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank star06star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

All the basics are here to give a truly authentic Japanese experience: tatami mat flooring, free green tea in the rooms, complimentary sweets everyday, clever talking toilet and your own ukatta (traditional Japanese robes that are meant to be worn with slippers inside the Ryokan) for the duration of your stay. It's great fun and a highly recommended tourist experience. The food was excellent and the Japanese breakfast is well worth trying. A far cry from tea and toast, the basic elements are fish, noodles, miso soup, various pickles and an egg that is cooked in the local onsen (hot springs). You might only want to try it once but it is significantly better than the western effort. The staff are happy to give lifts to local ski slopes and shibu onsen for the hot springs and nearly all of them speak English. If you go for the dinner plan, The evening meals are also included and are excellent value relative to dining out in the local offerings. The only criticism I have is the lack of flexibility around timing. Most lifts and meals occur at set, rigidly observed times but this is just the Japanese way and part of travelling around the country. We stayed for 3 nights and the bill at the end was eye watering, however, the hotels private hot springs are included in the price and the staff genuinely go out of their way for you. one note on the onsen: They are segregated by male/female and although the group nudity might take a bit of getting used to you should try it. Its a big part of the reason why Japanese visit the local area and bathing in the onsen is supposedly full of health benefits.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yamanouchi-machi hotels
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shimaya Ryokan
Shimaya Ryokan
#2 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
536 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Yudanaka Seifuso
Yudanaka Seifuso
#3 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
219 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Aburaya Tosen
Aburaya Tosen
#7 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shibu-onsen Kokuya
Shibu-onsen Kokuya
#13 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
137 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Senshinkan Matsuya
Senshinkan Matsuya
#4 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
260 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Kanbayashi Hotel Senjukaku
Kanbayashi Hotel Senjukaku
#8 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Biyunoyado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Biyunoyado

Property: Ryokan Biyunoyado
Address: 2951-1 Hirao | (Yudanaka Onsen), Shimotakai-gun, Yamanouchi-machi 381-0401, Nagano Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Shimotakai-gun > Yamanouchi-machi > Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Yamanouchi-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ryokan Biyunoyado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Japanese Experience including Tatami Rooms & Magical Ryokan Dinner & Breakfast. A limited number of rooms have Westerner Orientated Beds. You'll feel the pride of Yudanaka's Mineral Springs in our 100% Natural Overflowing-Non-recycled HotSprings. Our staff will show a Ryokan tradition in an international atmosphere. Book the private 9th floor rooftop HotSpring Tub for your Floating Sake dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ryokan Biyunoyado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Biyunoyado Hotel Yamanouchi-Machi
Ryokan Biyunoyado Japan/Yamanouchi-Machi, Nagano Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing