We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better to see in the winter”

Jigokudani Snow Monkey Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$142.36*
and up
Snow Monkey and Cycling Day Tour in Nagano
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Better to see in the winter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went here in the summer and found that it was pretty ordinary. Monkeys are monkeys and it wasn't very appealing. Part of the appeal here is to see the monkeys in the hot springs in the snow, therefore I wouldn't recommend going there in the summer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,151
    514
    124
    22
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Even with snow monkeys are fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

To get to the snow monkey park from Yudanaka, we took the bus from Yudanaka stations. Just say Snow monkeys and everyone knows where you are going, even if if you don't speak Japanese and they speak no English! From the bus stop it is a nice walk through cedar forests to the snow monkey area. Once there, the monkeys (Japanese macaques actually) provide plenty of entertainment, But don't try to touch them and don't eat food at all while in the park as they may grab at the food and your bags, camera etc. As the brochure say "these monkeys are not lovable animals"! But they don't seem to mind walking around humans or humans walking around them. To get a preview of the park and the monkeys in the onsen check out the web cam at http://www.jigokudani-yaenkoen.co.jp/livecam/monkey/

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank bexleygirl-111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Snow Monkey Mania”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Quite intimidating at times but wow what an experience!!

Anyone interested in Nature should see this once....

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thehungrydaydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I was talked into going to this park having thought it didn't sound that special. When we arrived and caught our first glimpse of one of the monkeys I knew that it had been worth the journey. I can't believe how close you can get to the monkeys, if you like photography then you will particularly enjoy this place because the monkeys make great subjects. When we visited it was particularly cold and there was lots of snow, so make sure you are wrapped up and wearing decent shoes!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RFG64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Monkey-madness!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We visited Jigokudani in mid July 2013.

Getting to the park from Nagano (or like we did, Matsumoto) isn't difficult. We travelled from Matsumoto to Nagano on the Shinano train line, then caught a bus from Nagano Station to Kambayashi Onsen. From here, Jigokudani is a 25 minute walk through beautiful forest. You can't possibly get lost - there are English signs at every turn!

The monkeys are brilliant - and there are lots of them! The babies are obviously the best. As others have commented, the monkeys are continually fed throughout the day to ensure they 'stay' where most the tourist flock to view. In saying this, the monkeys acted as if we weren't even there and carried on with their daily lives.

The park itself is not overly exciting - it could do with a tidy up (i.e. remove old piles of piping laying around etc).

It is definitely worth a visit - regardless of the time of year! Cost 500 yen per adult.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank r4ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jigokudani Snow Monkey Park also viewed

Yamanouchi-machi, Shimotakai-gun
Nagano, Nagano Prefecture
 
Nagano, Nagano Prefecture
Yamanouchi-machi, Shimotakai-gun
 

Been to Jigokudani Snow Monkey Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing