We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for skiing”
Review of St. Moritz Shiga

St. Moritz Shiga
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Moritz Shiga
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This Hotel has a great location near the ski hill and has ski/snow board rental (with a price) and there is also a ski/snow board rental place near the ski hill. In the room the beds were not very comfortable but after skiing you fall straight to sleep! The room stays comfortably warm and there is a good T.V (not that you will need it though). They also include a free breakfast but you have to make reservations and pay for dinner the closest restraunt that serves dinner is an Indian place right next to the ski/snow board rental place.

Room Tip: Don't order dinner in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chocoklet12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at St. Moritz Shiga for about a week in January (winter) along with 2 sets of friends - one a family of 4 and the other a married couple. We enjoyed ourselves at the hotel though some improvements could be made.

The hotel is situated at one end of Ichinose Village. Dining options for night time are limited - the two main ones we frequented were the Nepalese/Indian restaurant (a short walk, but wear your thermals if going in winter) and the isakaya (Japanese 'pub') which is a longer walk, particularly as it's uphill on the way home with a full belly! Both Nepalese and isakaya were good. It appears that most other hotel restaurants allow only their hotel guests to dine there.

St. Moritz Shiga is not ski in ski out, but access to Lift #28 is via a narrow, cut out path that runs alongside the building (hotel?) a couple of doors down. The rooms were clean, not spacious but adequate, with fairly cramped capsule-style bathrooms that contained both toilet and bath (with shower above the bath). The hot water cut in and out somewhat, but not enough to be too annoying. However, after the first day I used the hotel's onset to shower, then soak in the onset, then rinse off - hence no need for a shower in the room. The onset itself was good, but the adjacent room to the onsen - the change room - was rather spartan, with no towels and no extras such as razors, after shave lotion, cotton buds etc. It contained only baskets for your clothes/belongings (note-no lockers in the onsen) and two basins. However, a fresh modesty towel per person was provided each day in our room and we needed to bring our room towel to the onsen as well to dry off.

Beds in the rooms were comfortable enough, but the loose bedspread tended to slide off the bed during the night - it would be great for it to be tucked in or replaced with a tucked in blanket. Rooms lacked storage space - none of the three rooms (ours and our friends' rooms) had drawers and we had to ask for additional coat hangers at reception because there were so few in the room. More smartly conceived storage areas in rooms would assist. Living out of a suitcase with the numerous components in ski gear can become onerous.

There was a bar on the lobby level, but although we stayed from a Thursday - Monday, ie over a weekend, it was never open. Guests could purchase their own drinks from either vending machines or the shop downstairs (elsewhere was cheaper for wine), but at about 10pm the lights were turned down, then off, giving the hint that it was time to go to bed. This is a good think if guests are being rowdy and affecting the sleep of other tired guests, but a bit annoying if you want to kick on a little in that open area. We tended to have a quiet 'room party' instead.

Breakfast was quite good, but the hot food wasn't hot. I didn't mind it at all but some of my friends weren't overly happy about it. Still, it filled us up and gave us a good start to the day in readiness for skiing.

Staff were adequate and friendly enough.

We shared a jumbo taxi (Chuo taxi company) from Nagano Station directly to St. Moritz Shiga and it was just under JPY15,000 for 4 people. On the way back to Nagano Stn at the end of our holiday, we caught the public bus. The bus stop is down the road about 100 metres, more or less outside the Nepalese restaurant. It's not under cover so if it's snowing you should dress appropriately.

If I were to stay in Shiga Kogen again, and I very well might because I love it there, I would most probably choose to stay in a different hotel, one that is truly ski in ski out. However, if I had to stay at St. Moritz Shiga I would happily do so.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony - not all do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BradM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Very convenient lodge. Simple, clean rooms. A bit dated, but most hotels in ichinose seem to be. Onsen hot spring in the hotel was great after a day of skiing, and the ski rental on site was a huge plus. Staff spoke good English and were very friendly and helpful in working out travel and recommendations. Breakfast was included in the rate and was a mix of western and Japanese, a buffet, and was adequate before a day on the slopes. Check to see that your room has a bathroom, because some do not, and the ones that do are a bit small. Overall a great place for simple affordable accommodations, and right in the heart of the somewhat sleepy ski town of ishinose.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chet17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 基本的に洋室は入口やフロントからのアクセスも良く、眺望も良いようだ。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Briton1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 東京すぬこ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ふくそん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yamanouchi-machi hotels
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shiga Palace Hotel
Shiga Palace Hotel
#9 of 143 in Yamanouchi-machi
93 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Ryokan Biyunoyado
Ryokan Biyunoyado
#2 of 143 in Yamanouchi-machi
421 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shimaya Ryokan
Shimaya Ryokan
#1 of 143 in Yamanouchi-machi
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Bozanso
Bozanso
#23 of 143 in Yamanouchi-machi
40 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Maruka Ryokan
Maruka Ryokan
#26 of 143 in Yamanouchi-machi
28 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Ryokan Hakura
Ryokan Hakura
#30 of 143 in Yamanouchi-machi
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Moritz Shiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Moritz Shiga

Address: 7149 Ichinose, Yamanouchi-machi, Shimotakai-gun 381-0401, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Shimotakai-gun > Yamanouchi-machi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Yamanouchi-machi
Price Range: $140 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your St. Moritz Shiga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Moritz Shiga Japan/Yamanouchi-Machi, Nagano Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing