We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting”
Review of Hotel Alpenburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alpenburg
Tasmania, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I just returned from the most wonderful ski trip in Shiga Kogen. We didn't do an organised ski package, so we looked at a few hotels and decided on Alpenburg. This is for people who, like us had never skiied in Japan- we chose Shiga Kogen because we did not want all the fly in fly out groups of Aussies about- we wanted a more authentic Japanese experience.
If you are trying to figure out which Valley to stay in, it doesn't really matter they are all connected. This is not a place for nightlife- here you ski yourself to death, have a thermal bath, eat fabulous food and crash into bed. then do it all again the next day. If you stay at Alpenburg, which you should, you will enjoy the friendliest, most helpful staff- clean warm rooms with , in our case, views up the piste. It is truly ski in ski out- The whole Shiga Kogen area is huge and easy to negotiate, long long runs, great grooming, tons of snow.
The hotel Alpenburg rents ski gear at a VERY reasonable rate- half that of the ski rentals in Ichinose. It is a must to get your breakfast and evening meal in the accom. package when you arrange it (you don't have to do it this way, but it could be expensive if you don't, also there are only a couple of other hotels in this valley and it seems silly to traipse about at night to find the food not nearly as nice elsewhere).- set meals Western and Japanese on alternate nights. Breakfast Buffet of wonderful food, both Japanese and western. The manager comes to pick you up from the bus stop and takes you back when you need to leave, and will do ANYTHING to make your trip a happy one. I do not usually review- but this place is so sweet and so perfect for a couple. Everything works well- it is a delightful hotel in a perfect setting. I loved the thermal spring Onsen Japanese bath and pool. I included this in my review as fitness centre rating.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank platypus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We returned to Hotel Alpenburg for seven nights at the end of our 4th ski trip to Japan. Having now skied at Hakuba, Nozawa Onsen, Myoko Kogen and Niseko, Shiga Kogen has become our favourite for the expanse and variety of skiing available. Hotel Alpenburg is well located in the Giant ski area, which is part of an interconnected ski area extending many miles down valley to OkushigaKogen; though up-valley both Sun Valley and Yokoteyama are both well worth exploring.

Hotel Alpenburg is quite self contained among a small group of other hotels and it's location suits us, but if you need a big crowd to party with at night, this hotel may not suit you.

Everything that we enjoyed and appreciated at Hotel Alpenburg last year is still evident, with quality consistently excellent. We must be turning Japanese, as we've even taken a series of photographs (attached) of several of our dinners that we were served. Hopefully these photos do justice in conveying the freshness, variety, range of tastes and quantity of food that we were lucky enough to enjoy. Simply, the food is as good as it looks. One of the features of our trips to Japan is the consistently high quality of their food and the food at Hotel Alpenburg in our view sets the standard.

Dinners alternate each night between Japanese and Western on subsequent nights. Western meals were again five course and similarly excellent. Japanese meals were invariably much more comprehensive in terms of variety, with a broader range of tastes involved. Dinners at Alpenburg get a big tick from us.

In relation to the rooms, we had two this year as we initially had 4 in Alpnenburg's "Special" room, which is large in size and worked well for us. We subsequently moved to a triple room and from our experience, all rooms are consistently modern, well maintained, very clean and warm; a positive reflection of the hotel being personally and well managed by the Kodama Family who have owned the hotel since new.

Alpenburg has an excellent indoor onsen - well presented, clean & hot. Their outdoor onsens also provide a very special experience when it was snowing heavily - something that seems to happen often.

Hotel Alpenburg has proven to be a terrific place to stay and deserves continued success. If we're lucky, we'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Skiculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We were looking for somewhere where the price was reasonable (with respect to a ski resort in Japan) and where we can get help easily finding our way around with our limited grasp of japanese. Well, we found it in Hotel Alpenburg. We chose the room package that came with dinner and breakfast and there is definitely no compromise when it came to the quality and quantity. The variety was huge, and so was the servings. The resort is also just outside Giant ski slope... but if you are a beginner and find the Giant 'expert' ski slope too daunting, no fear as the owner and staff are always on hand to show us where and how to go somewhere more gentle. Mr. Kodama the owner also spoke excellent english which comes in very useful. He and his small friendly team will definitely make you feel at home and are all ready to meet your needs. They have made our stay a very enjoyable one.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelmiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

This was our third trip to Japan skiing, though first to Shiga Kogen (otherwise been to Hakuba, Furano & Nozawa Onsen). Before discussing the merits of Hotel Alpenburg (www.alpenburg.com), you need to appreciate what Shiga Kogen has to offer. Its website http://www.shigakogen.gr.jp/english/ states it comprises 21 interconnected ski fields with about 70 lifts. It extends along a couple of valleys and is seriously extensive, with a wide variety of skiing on offer. It currently comprises some 5 lift companies that operate with the one lift pass. Two of these (Kumanoyu to the far east and Okushigakogen to the far west) are exclusively skier only, though for boarders that is not a great loss as they are both distant, involve a hike to get to and both are only a small portion of the ski fields, so there is more than ample alternate terrain.

Significantly, Shiga Kogen is a built resort, rather than having its origins as a village (such as Nozawa Onsen – a really classic place to visit – check Kawaichiya Ryokan). Shiga Kogen’s buildings have predominantly been built over the past 20-30 years and save for clusters of hotels, are quite fragmented. Whilst there is a good range of restaurants and cafes on the slopes, the only other restaurants are part of hotels and it is therefore common for accommodation packages to include meals.

If bars & crowds are your preference, consider staying at Ichinose. But if travelling as a couple, small group or family, Hotel Alpenburg may be an ideal choice. It is modern, comfortable, clean, has cheerful / helpful staff and has seriously good food. It had been recommended to us, with good reason and yes, we are already booked to go back.

Alpenburg is a purpose built, family run hotel. It comprises basement, ground and three upper levels, all serviced by lift. The basement has terrific lockers for ski / board storage, ski hire, a large heated pool, sauna and access to the separate male & female onsen (hot baths) at the rear. Having an onsen to start the day, or to soak away the aches of a hard day’s skiing is a special treat in Japan and Alpenberg’s onsens are high quality, well presented, very clean and feature views of the forest.

The ground floor mainly comprises the café for breakfast & lunch at the front and evening dining area at the rear. Reception is on the first floor, with a comfy adjoining lounge & bar. The hotel’s rooms are a good size, warm, clean and good quality / tastefully decorated. They have the typical for Japan, modular ensuite, with shower over bath; though this will be superfluous if you get used to the indulgence of having frequent onsens.

Alpenburg is located at the foot of the lengthy downhill course and faces the “Giant” ski run, which is the steepest in the region. Ski lifts are ~50 metres away and you ski home to the door.

Other than us two Aussies, in mid-January, Hotel Alpenburg was full of Japanese guests at weekends (always a good sign) and less busy during the week. The food warrants special mention for its quality and diversity. The breakfast buffet caters to both Japanese & Western tastes and is more than ample, with plenty of variety. Lunch can be recommended too. But dinner is terrific, with set Western / Japanese style meals on alternate nights (or by arrangement?). Western meals are ~five course and Japanese feature ~twelve different food items. When we stayed, one dinner at the weekend featured a half lobster, which was a real treat.

Hotel Alpenburg had not previously been listed with Tripadvisor but is truly deserving, so I had it listed in order to provide this review for the benefit of others looking for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Skiculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yamanouchi-machi hotels
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shiga Palace Hotel
Shiga Palace Hotel
#9 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
85 reviews
Shiga Kogen Prince Hotel
#39 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
204 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shiga Kanko Hotel
Shiga Kanko Hotel
#41 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shibu Hotel
Shibu Hotel
#15 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
103 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Ryokan Biyunoyado
Ryokan Biyunoyado
#1 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
381 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Hotel Shirakabaso Shigakogen
Hotel Shirakabaso Shigakogen
#1 of 78 in Yamanouchi-machi
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenburg

Property: Hotel Alpenburg
Address: Hirao | Giant Ski Area, Shiga Kogen, Shimotakai-gun, Yamanouchi-machi 381-0401, Nagano Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Shimotakai-gun > Yamanouchi-machi > Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 133 Hotels / Ryokan in Yamanouchi-machi
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Alpenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alpenburg Japan/Yamanouchi-Machi, Nagano Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing