We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kanha National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shergarh Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Everything about Shergarh was what we had hoped and better! The tents are very spacious and beautifully furnished. The bathroom area at the back is actually a proper building and again very spacious with a large dressing area and very good walk in shower. Hot and cold water plentiful and reliable. Everyone is very welcoming and you made to feel at home. The food is excellent, plentiful and very tasty. They also made a special meal when they found it was our anniversary - thanks!

Also important, now that Kanha restricts the number of vehicles in the park quite severely and allocates places on a first-come first-served basis, Shergarh seem very efficient at getting the bookings required for their guests. Their driver/guides are also excellent. Kanha is great for game - we did see a tiger, sloth bear and much else while others saw leopard while we were there. Just remember it is very cold in the morning in November! Shergarh do supply blankets and hot water bottles for the morning drives - they are needed. Bear in mind too that the tents are not heated so take warm nightwear.

Room Tip: All excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyReview186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 126 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012

Comfortable, enchanting, clean, adventurous, romantic, safe, fulfilling, and charming are just a few of the words that come to mind when I think of Shergarh. The staff’s magnetic and marvelous way of making you feel like family was beyond my expectations. Their amenities held up firmly to western standards, and they really do think of every little detail, from the fresh flowers in your room to the hot water bottle for your lap on chilly mornings. The food was by far the most creative and gentle of all of the different lodges I had eaten at while I was in India and was consistently yummy. On top of all of this was the spectacular wildlife viewing! Out of all of the other lodge guides, Shergarh’s guides felt like scholars, their passion and enthusiasm for nature was truly inspirational and their keen sense of sight was like something out of a superhero movie, incredible! On my 3 ½ day safari with Shergarh I saw everything from Tiger (5), Leopard, Sloth Bear to Sambar and even a few Jungle Cat’s! Some of the Tiger viewing was even on magnificent Elephant back, a dream come true! If you want to experience a true Rudyard Kipling style safari while not having to surrender any of your western style comforts I highly recommend Shergarh, their intensions lie deep with eco-friendliness and true human/nature connection. I will return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Danny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

A truly beautiful, luxurious and magical place to stay! We have just returned from 16 days of travelling around the North of India and we were lucky enough to have incorporated a three day stay at Shergarh as part of our trip. From the moment we arrived we felt at home. Katie, Jehan and their wonderful team of staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The camp setting is peaceful and relaxing, the tents are luxurious and comfortable, the food is out of this world. Katie and Jehan have managed to create a perfect and indulgent camp in the amazing surroundings of Kanha National Park. The safaris were brilliantly organised and the guides provided by Shergarh were phenomenal - Raj is the King of the Jungle and fountain of all animal and plant knowledge! Each day the Jeeps were loaded with fresh water, blankets and a delicious packed breakfast to be eaten in the amazing jungle surroundings. We had an extremely lucky stay as we spotted a tiger on three occasions, a leopard, a pack of wild dogs and managed to climb aboard an elephant for an up close viewing of a female tiger. A once in a life time moment! We also went on an evening walk with Raj and Allam to the local river - meandering through the local villages, meeting the locals and spotting even more wildlife was fantastic.Each evening brings more delights at Shergarh - the food! Katie and Jehan have got the balance of East and West spot on - having munched our way through exquisite curries and rice dishes accompanied by chapatis and naans we were surprised by delicious sticky toffee puddings, lemon tarts and chocolate fudge brownies! Incredible. Dinner is either served in the cool and tasteful main house, or even more perfectly under the canopy of trees, candles and oil lamps within the Shergarh camp. The staff at Shergarh also arranged a perfect private meal for us to celebrate my birthday - our table was set up under the stars and surrounded by tea lights, candle and oil lamps and to top if off I was bought a scrummy chocolate birthday cake - nothing is too much trouble for the team at Shergarh and everything is carried out with style and class! To all the staff, and in particular Katie and Jehan - thank you so much for making out stay truly unforgettable. Thanks for taking care of us and making us feel so special in your home. We really do hope to visit you all again sometime!

Pete and Hannah x

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hannah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

What a great place - just like staying with a family. Personal attention with style and poise. A lovely tranquil camp. The food was superb, a lovely blend between East and West. Well done Katie!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

A great place for a family holiday in the jungle. Recommend highly for a great family vacation with adventure. Kids loved it as much as we did. The service, tents & atmosphere are simply out of the world!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julyderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

What a wonderful place. All the previous reviews are spot on. Jehan and Katie are wonderful hosts, and have created the perfect balance to make sure your stay is one you will never forget. The permanent tents are lovely, with en suite facilities to match.
After you are woken with a lovely cup of tea and biscuits, it's off to the park for a bit of tiger spotting. It's a bit chilly in the morning, but blankets and hot water bottles are supplied in the jeep. The whole adventure of listening for animal warning calls, and looking for tell-tale tiger tracks are great fun. Jehan was always stopping to explain different animals/birds that we saw along the way. Finding a tiger was a bonus, and we did. A female with four cubs.
Breakfast is eaten out in the jungle. Great fun.
Returning for lunch ( will mention the food shortly ) and a bit of sunbathing, then it's off for the afternoon drive, and a bit more tiger spotting.
After a good shower it's back to the main house area for a drink around the camp fire and some snacks. Soup is served in a mug - then its time for dinner which was served in the main house or outside with the whole area lit with oil lamps. The food was certainly a highlight, a great variety, beautifully cooked and absolutely delicious - 10 out of 10 to the chef. The staff are brilliant, and nothing is too much trouble, and is carried out with the minimum of fuss.
Then it's off to bed, hot water bottles included - a great touch.
Sitting around the dining table with other travellers can sometimes be a little daunting, but we were fortunate to meet some lovely people, especially Christine and Anne, a couple of adventurous ladies.
Having stayed in other tented camps, in other countries, I must admit this was one of the best if not the best.
Thanks for everything, and if you ever need any volunteers, there is a white haired Scotsman called iain just waiting to take the next flight out.

Room Tip: Swimming pool not applicable - could not remove from the ratings above, sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We wholeheartedly agree with the other great reviews of this place. Shergarh combines top class service with a warmth of hopitality that one normally only finds when staying with good friends or family; the home cooked Indian meals here were a delight. The very knowledgeable and enthusiastic naturalists were interested in showing us all the wildlife of Kanha and not
just the tigers. Whilst at Shergarh we had a great tiger sighting as well as seeing leopard, Indian bison, four species of deer and common langur monkeys. We were also able to indulge our passion for bird watching and saw 110 species during our 4 day stay, that total being largely due to the incredibly sharp eyes and extensive knowledge of our naturalist Raj. Some
photo's from our trip to India can be found here:
http://www.pbase.com/waldr_p/india_2011

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cilla101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanha National Park hotels
11.3 mi away
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
#1 of 18 in Kanha National Park
484 reviews
8.4 mi away
Tuli Tiger Resort
Tuli Tiger Resort
#4 of 18 in Kanha National Park
167 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pug Mark Resort
Pug Mark Resort
#3 of 18 in Kanha National Park
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Kanha Jungle Lodge
Kanha Jungle Lodge
#2 of 18 in Kanha National Park
199 reviews
9.4 mi away
Banjaar Tola
Banjaar Tola
#3 of 44 in Kanha National Park
223 reviews
12.4 mi away
Singinawa Jungle Lodge
Singinawa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 44 in Kanha National Park
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shergarh Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shergarh Tented Camp

Address: Village Bahmni | Post Kareli, Tehsil Baihar, District Balaghat, Kanha National Park 481111, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Kanha National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Kanha National Park
Price Range: $62 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing