We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pugdundee Safaris Kanha Earth Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very clean, comfortable lodge, where each bungalow is apart from the others so you can have total privacy. The food is always good and tasty. But what will remain in my mind, apart my first sight of a tiger during 8 minutes, is how all the staff is kind and attentive. Impossible to find a bettrer service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcappez-paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 277 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

The lodge is located away from the hustle and bustle of the little towns around in a jungle like area. Each room is a free standing structure around 20-30 meters apart giving great privacy. When we got there, there were monkeys on the tree next to our room, but they never hassled us or came into the room.

The rooms (more like mini-units) are beautifully fit-out. The primarily rock and wood structure is has been designed with style. The room had 2 toilets and a shower that was, once again beautifully designed. It had ample room for luggage, away from the main bed room, which made the bedroom more comfortable.

However, the highlight of this place is the service. We had just come from the TreeHouse in Bandhavgarh which belongs to the same company. It is clear that may of the driving concepts were similar in the service and operation. Some of these were the hot water bottles for the safaris, the magic face wipes, the home-made lemonade at the end of the morning safaris. I particularly support their policy of working with the local communities.

The complex has a great pool which is open to the jungle on one side! Unfortunately we were there in January and so it was too cold to use. There were several barbecue areas and patios which I'm sure come in use in summer.

The management are clearly out to give you the best wild life experience possible.

Thanks to the whole team.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CockeyedObserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Kanha Earth Lodge is just magic. The staff are very attentive and relaxing. The web page cannot exude the atmosphere that is so beautiful here. A very peaceful place. The architecture of the setting is superb. Karan the host is extraordinary in his attention to detail and creating a relaxing place to enjoy. The food is also of the highest standard I have experienced in India. You will not be disappointed in being here but will be touched for ever.

Room Tip: they are all beautiful rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michemash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Had a wonderful stay in this lodge. It has a complete environment-friendly approach and the entire design is beautiful and rustic. Cottages have excellent facilities and the food was simple and very tasty. The service was excellent and their in-house naturalists were very helpful and even accompanied us on safaris and nature trails. The overall experience was fabulous. The location is a bit far from the Kanha sanctuary gates but it's well worth the distance.

Room Tip: All accommodation is in cottages and they are all identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manik_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

this was our first visit to Kanha forest. Earth Lodge is a bit far from the gate but excellent location otherwise. on the way to the gate for the morning safari we saw a flying fox. amazing. the staff is great. Mr. Ashwin is very helpful. our group had 3 kids but we didnt face any problem at all. we didnt see a tiger but the jungle is wonderful. the decor is warm and gives a feel of jungle lodge, and their hospitality is the best.

Room Tip: we stayed in rooms 7 and 8. all are secluded cottages. all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debKolkata_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Busy with our work we didn't get much time after our wedding to travel out, we opted for a small vacation to Kanha. It's a great park with a variety of animals. We didn't get to see a tiger but loved the park and enjoyed the safaris. The highlight of our trip was Earth lodge which is in a secluded romantic setting. We had our own bungalow which is done with rustic furniture and artifacts. The rooms have private wooden decks overlooking the park and the whole place has a very unconnected feel with the world. The stone work and interiors in the main building are outstanding mainly done with tribal art.
We enjoyed the evening bonfires and drinks, one day set on the pool deck also.
The food and service is excellent.
We heard from the naturalists that peak summers is better for sightings and will travel again to see tigers.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meneka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We just returned from one of our finest trips from Kanha and Bandhavgarh. We were prepared for a basic trip in the jungles, but it turned out to be super luxury and pampering. Earth lodge is very very special, small, intimate but with all the needs of a modern traveller. The stone architecture and the simple flow of spaces makes it a delight to live in. The lodge has lots of special touches with furniture, paintings, tribal pieces and the most warm staff we have ever met.
Ashwani, our driver Santu, Hary and Vijay pampered us for all 3 days and we felt we were part of the lodge from years. Such ease is vanishing in big hotels and in the city pace. Kanha park is also so special, we saw 2 tigers and many birds, just being in nature is so satisfying. The lodge is deeply rooted and connected with the kanha jungles, making life in the lodge also very special. You don't feel disconnected from the forest when living here. Village Narna and Sarekha around the lodge have amazing character and are very clean, the lodge had organised cycling trips for us there.

Room Tip: All bungalows are superb with wooden stouts over looking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neelamrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanha National Park hotels
2.7 mi away
Tuli Tiger Resort
Tuli Tiger Resort
#4 of 18 in Kanha National Park
173 reviews
14 mi away
Kanha Jungle Lodge
Kanha Jungle Lodge
#2 of 18 in Kanha National Park
200 reviews
16.4 mi away
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
#1 of 18 in Kanha National Park
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
7 Tigers Resort
7 Tigers Resort
#6 of 18 in Kanha National Park
147 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Baagh Forest Retreat
The Baagh Forest Retreat
#5 of 18 in Kanha National Park
90 reviews
3.8 mi away
Soulacia Hotel & Resort
Soulacia Hotel & Resort
#7 of 18 in Kanha National Park
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pugdundee Safaris Kanha Earth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pugdundee Safaris Kanha Earth Lodge

Address: | Village Narna, P.O Sarekha, off Dhanwar Village, Kanha National Park 481001, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Kanha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Kanha National Park
Price Range: $197 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pugdundee Safaris Kanha Earth Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
India's finest Wilderness Experience, Kanha Earth Lodge, is spread in 16 acres of natural forest, tucked away in a small hamlet bordering Kanha’s buffer zone. Its unique location, 30 minutes from the Khatia/Kisli park gate, ensures that it is close enough for easy access to the park, but still far enough from the glut of hotels lining Kanha’s tourist hub to offer guests a true wilderness experience. The 12 luxury bungalows with large open verandahs of this Wildife Resort in Kanha National Park have been inspired by Gond tribal architecture and offer environmentally sensitive, low-impact accommodation through their design and use of local stone and waste wood. While the absence of neighbouring lodges or highways creates an ideal setting for nature walks, birding and cycling trips through the surrounding forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Pugdundee Safaris Kanha Earth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing