We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

When our friend suggested "Chitvan" for our maiden visit to Kanha we had absolutely no doubt on his choice,
but now after our visit to your place we fully understand the reason behind this.

The warmth and hospitality which "Chitwan" bestowed upon us is a rarity nowadays.
At other places , A guest is just that...a guest...but the personal touch of your entire team made us feel special and wanted.

Amit with his omnipresent smile made us feel comfortable and at home instantly and the 4 days we spent seemed a tad too short in the end.

A special thanks to the Chef Mr. Kumar who whipped up epicurean delights day after day, meal after meal.
To let you onto a little secret, we were actually looking forward to our next meal even before completing the one we had on hand.

We could not spot the Tiger during our many Safari's to the jungle,
a reason good enough to visit Chitwan again.....

Divya.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divyabaldev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharadKumarVats, Owner at Chitvan Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to note that you felt Chitvan to be Home away from Home. It is such feedback that motivates us to further improve our benchmarks. I will convey your kind words to Chef Ashish who ensured that enjoyed the food and made you look forward to your next meal, and an ever smiling Amit who made you comfortable with all his interactions.

Yes, it is the personal touch which is our forte, and somehow it comes naturally to most of our team members. As you said, that you came here through a recommendation of a friend, and Chitvan did not let you down on any account. I am sure that you will want to refer more of your friend, infact get them along, as Tiger is indeed a good enough a reason to be back.

Eagerly looking forward to your next visit soon.

With Warm Regards

Sharad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 475 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed on 1/2/3 Feb 2013. Beyond its convenient location-the property comprises of wonderfull people. Their intentions of making your stay memorable undoubtedly is excellent. Sharad's coordination from Delhi & efficiently communicating the same level of responsibility & belonging ness towards their guests definately is commendable.
These people are genuinely trying to complete the entire circle of hospitality in true sense. Right from Welcome, to intermediate Medicinal & grocery needs for children were aptly handled. Their entire staff is polite, well mannered, neatly dressed which made us feel very comfortable. While visiting jungles feeling homely & comfortable is more important than being treated special. The management understands that & hence valued every guest very well.
Organic farming is bonus to Veggies. Property's other infrastructure like pools & other walkable paths were too well maintained.
To top over the pleasant stay- We managed to Spot a Male Tiger & Male Leopard at Mukki zone in an unplanned Evening Safari, which Chitvan Guys managed to book for us in lieu of others cancellations.
P.S. Sharad, even if you dont extend your commitment towards servicing your guests-my honest sincere suggestion for you is retain your standards in toto. Extending Propertis & Spaces should not be on cost of quality standards which you have impressed us with on our First stay.

Room Tip: Always depend on the number of members travelling, though Akash has a very soothing view especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrateekPitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharadKumarVats, Owner at Chitvan Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Earnest gratitude for writing on Trip Advisor about your stay with us. Glad to note that you were delighted with the quality hospitality service provided to you during your stay at Chitvan. It brings us joy when we see our guests cheerful at Chitvan.

I am conveying your kind words to our entire team from drivers, naturalists, Chef, House-Keeping, Service and everyone who puts in their heart to ensure that our guests go back delighted.

Indeed spotting a Tiger is always a bonus, and you were even more lucky with sighting of a Leopard.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Chitvan soon.

With Warm Regards

Sharad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Not only the amenities and the ambiance, but the people who welcome and serve you reminds you of a lost world of affection and concern. Mr Ashwani Agarwal, the manager makes you feel at home and if you could find some time spend few minutes to gain insight in to Gandhian Thought and Life Style.

This place of luxury provide you, food prepared by the magical hands of Mr Asish. Simply superb Indian food.

I do not have words to explain my admiration towards this property.. it is simply amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharadKumarVats, Owner at Chitvan Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Heartfelt thanks for sharing your experience about Chitvan on this forum. I am glad you enjoyed the hospitality, and could feel that Chitvan is above business for us. Chef Ashish, GM Mr Ashwani Agarwal and rest of the team works with their heart, and your kind words energise us all to further work harder and try and exceed all expectations of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Chitvan.

With Warm Regards

Sharad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

For our first visit to India, what an amazing place to come to, nothing was too much trouble.
Sanjay was very knowledgable, and gave us an insight into daily village life as well as all the wonderful animal and birdlife in the park.
We were also very fortunate to see a tigress and 4 cubs, as well as a close up of the bear.
The chef was amazing as this was our first taste of Indian food, and he talked us through each dish that was served to us, a lot of it that had been grown on their own organic farm.
Would recommend Chitvan Lodge to anyone, accomodation was spacious, some nights its was chilly but hot water bottles were on hand,everyone was friendly and helpful.
One tip for the safaris in January, the weather is cold, so do take coat, and gloves, but the sight of a Tiger soon warms you up

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharad01, Owner at Chitvan Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for writing about your experience at Chitvan Jungle Lodge, We are humbled by your feedback. I will pass on your kind words to our Chef Ashish, our Naturalist Sanjay, and other team which works relentlessly to provide a seamless, and a joyous experience to our guests.

We are glad you liked our spacious accommodation, though you visited in the winter months, but the hot water bottles provided to you, and of course the Tiger sightings no doubt warm you up.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to your next stay sometime in future.

With Warm Regards

Sharad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

It's a lovely jungle resort very close to the Mukki gate in Kanha. This jungle lodge cuts you off from the mundane daily city life and makes you live in the lap of nature for the number of days that you spend there. From the first time I touched base with the co-ordinator Manjit till the time we left Chitvan, there was a feeling of warmth and courteousness from each and every member of the staff. Food is excellent and al their vegetables are grown in their organic farms. One of our friends is a pure Jain but she didn't face any problem as all her specific demands were met with by the always smiling and friendly staff.
The resorts and the rooms are lovely. We were booked in a large Akash suite. Had a nice sitting room, dressing room, huge bedroom and a huge bathroom. The safari bookings were taken well in advance by them and we had a lovely experience in the jungle. A special mention here for the environmentalist who spent sometime explaining about the sightings, seasons and the directions I the park.

Room Tip: The akash suite is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shantanugodambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharadKumarVats, Owner at Chitvan Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Good to know that you had a nice experience in the beautiful Chitvan, in wilderness, and away from civilization. I am conveying your kind words to my colleague Manjeet who handled your booking, and rest of the team members as well whom you found warm and courteous. Yes, one reason for our delicious cuisine is fresh vegetables from our own organic farms grown on site.

Our Chef is very meticulous about the Jain food, and is able to churn out the dishes in seperate utensils which we keep aside for all vegetarian cooking.

Glad you enjoyed the safari experience with our naturalist, who is a local, and is applauded by all our guests.

Thank you for writing on this forum, we look forward to welcoming you again in Chitvan.

With Warm Regards

Sharad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have just mistakenly reviewed a lodge in Nepal of similar name, so must apologise...more unforgivable, as, in the past, my husband & I have also stayefd there!

Superb upper storey room with lots of space, complimentary snacks, great views, hearty food, helpful & courteous staff...we did find low occupancy and whilst this was no issue for my husband & me, we were concerned it could be due to recent restrictions imposed by the government on national parks/tiger tourism; this was a hallmark of our entire trip to Central India.

In-house naturalist guides (Sam & Sanjay) & those in the park were excellent: knowledgeable and very accomodating of photographers.

We had an "exclusive" jeep for 2 (great driver, Bikam) and never felt rushed/hoarded. Lodge management readily on hand to adjust schedule/verify all was satisfactory...attentive but not overbearing.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Upper floors offer better views; check distance from dining room if mobility is an issue.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hslfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharadKumarVats, Owner at Chitvan Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and writing on this forum about your good experience at Chitvan, Kanha. Our first floor Suites are indeed appreciated by all our guests for the view, space, and peace. Though most of our team is from local community, but they have a good attitude towards service, and it reflects in your comments.

Yes, the driver, and the guide are extremely knowledgeable about the park, and they ensure they make your safaris very meaningful.

With Warm Regards

Sharad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very well maintained resort with amazing staff (Mr. Ashwani (GM), Mr. Ashish Kumar (Chef) & Mr Manjit (Co-ordinator). Food is just amazing.. you can't ask for anything better at your service. The complete staff is very helpful and courteous.
Few Points would like to highlight:
- I didn't need to carry any mails/vouchers to show my bookings at the resort
- The moment I entered the resort, I was greeted by Mr. Ashwani and escorted to our room.
- The delicious lunch was served in no less than 5 mins.(Mind you the vegetables are grown in the organic farm which belongs to the resort and chapatis are just the same as home food)
- The morning safari last for 6 hrs (6:15 am - 12 pm). We were given blankets/hot water bottles to keep us warm. And even the breakfast was provided which we had in the forest itself at a check point. (home made muffins/sandwiches/paranthas)
- My credit card didn't worked but without any hue/cry, I was told I can pay back once I reach Delhi through account transfer
- And I checked out at 9:30 am and it takes 4 - 4.5 hrs to reach Jabalpur Airport, my lunch was packed so that we don't have to stop on the way.
Thank you Mr. Ashwani/Ashish for making our trip so memorable.

Room Tip: Prithvi/Akash rooms are amazing with a living room. Plenty of space in the room and they are well ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vineet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharadKumarVats, Owner at Chitvan Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on this forum which is referred to by lot of potential guests before they take a decision on where to stay when they travel. I am glad we measured upto your expectations, infact crossed the same as well. I am conveying your appreciation to our team, specially Mr Ashwani Agarwal, Chef Ashish and Manjeet. All of them goal the way to appease our guests. Service is our religion.

Yes, we don't expect our guests to carry any confirmation, and vouchers as our systems ensure all communication is in order to ensure a seamless stay. The fast, flexible, and friendly service is our forte. The entire team takes pride in sending our guests with lot of memorable moments. Your appreciation of food and cleanliness is being communicated to our Kitchen and House Keeping team.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back at Chitvan again.

With Warm Regards

Sharad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanha National Park hotels
17.9 mi away
Tuli Tiger Resort
Tuli Tiger Resort
#4 of 17 in Kanha National Park
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kanha Jungle Lodge
Kanha Jungle Lodge
#2 of 17 in Kanha National Park
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
7 Tigers Resort
7 Tigers Resort
#5 of 17 in Kanha National Park
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Pug Mark Resort
Pug Mark Resort
#3 of 17 in Kanha National Park
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tigerwoods Kanha Resort & Spa
Tigerwoods Kanha Resort & Spa
#14 of 17 in Kanha National Park
12 reviews
16.9 mi away
Mogli Resort
Mogli Resort
#11 of 17 in Kanha National Park
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chitvan Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitvan Jungle Lodge

Address: Village Samnapur, Post Mukki, Kanha National Park, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Kanha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Kanha National Park
Price Range: $84 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chitvan Jungle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chitvan is an 12 suite luxury jungle resort, situated near Mukki gate of Kanha National Park. Accommodation that include tastefully done up suites, with a view of the forest while relaxing in your bed, with mini bar, open terrace, and an open shower, restaurant, al fresco dining, facilities include spa and a swimming pool. Jungle Safaris, tribal evenings, organic farms, bonfire, delicious bar-be-cue, peaceful destination for leisure traveller & honeymooners. Recently awarded the Outstanding Practice Award by TOFT UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chitvan Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing