We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
212
22
10
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
22
10
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews taj safaris taj group game drives overlooking the river tented suites camp host african safari surprise dinner hand warmers sun loungers likes and dislikes south africa common areas dietary requirements an open area wild pigs amazing experience
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 247 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2011

My parents and I decided to stay at Taj Banjar Tola while visiting Kanha national park. I have to say, this place is amazing. From the staff to the decor of our room, everything was great.

First the staff - I have never been given such personal service. The cook introduced each meal to us personally. Each staff member knew our name and took the time to get to know us. The staff here seem to really enjoy doing what they do and that I think is not very common in resorts.

The decor - I read a review here by a lady who said that the decor was African. I wish that people would take the time to understand the culture before they make such statements. The brass fittings in the rooms are very traditional tribal art of Madhya Pradesh and def Indian. I thought the decor combined elements of Indian tribal art with British camp splenndor and I thought the rooms and the deck overlooking the river were just amazing.

Finally on the quality of our safari - just great. We could not have asked for more. We saw 2 tigers, wild dogs, 4 variety of deer and wild hogs. The best part however, was the naturalist who came with us - Payal is amazing! She really knows the forest and the wildlife and expresses great enthusiasm for conservation. Ask for her!

Overall, I would not hesitate to recommend Taj BT to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nsahgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We travelled to Banjaar Tola in Oct 10 with the primary purpose of seeing the big CAT. The drive from Nagpur airport to the resort took almost 6hrs and was most uncomfortable, with the result that we reached the resort at 3:30pm giving us little time to catch the afternoon safari. However, on reaching the resort ,Mr Gill, the manager arranged a quick bite and set us off on our first safari with the naturalist - Hooda.

Since it was cold in early mornings and late evenings during the safari, the staff arranged for hot water bags in the jeeps itself which was very thoughtful so was the early morning porridge with whiskey The presence of a naturalist also helped us nature lovers get more involved with the wildlife.

Although we could not see any CATs nor the wild dogs, the personal attention from the staff members, great food and the lovely tents with their views over the river made up some what for our disappointment.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lostbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I've stayed at game reserves all over (including really posh ones, like Malamala in South Africa), but this is by far the best. A lot of it can be attributed to its tiny size, that ensures personal service (everyone addresses you by name). The tent was the most beautiful room I've ever lived in: it's got a comfortable bed, a really well decorated room, and a nice, unique, HUGE bathroom. Meals are cooked when and the way you want them. Your field guide takes care of you, both in the wild and at the resort. Our guide was very knowledgeable (as good as the best I've seen in Africa), courteous and helpful. After every safari, members of the hotel staff (including the manager) were always there with refreshments and towels to greet us, waving at us as our jeep drove in. Every few days (twice a week, I believe), they hold a party in the forest, where everyone at the resort gets to meet and interact (not that they normally don't: we knew all the other families there on the first day). It's really the personal level of service that distinguishes this place from any other I've seen.
I would never hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Str_Bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

This lodge is probably the best that you can get in Kanha NP. The park itself is very far from Jabalpur (4 to 5 hours) on a very difficult road. Once there the lodge is only 5 minutes from the main entrance which is indeed very practical (no one can blame Kanha from being far from any city, this what wilderness is about).
We have spent 3 beautiful days and nights here and our stay was almost perfect. The staff and boss were extremely kind and helpful, the guides were very competent and able to drive us to to the so expected Tiger (we saw 3 of them) but also a lot of other animals (dholes, gaurs, chitals, sambars, barasinghas, indian jackal, even a leopard and all the birds). The only issue we had was a very strong air cooling system that was hard to regulate and a little water flow in the shower but we did not pay too much attention to this after all.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jboule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Just returned from a (too short) stay at Banjaar Tola. Every aspect was wonderful. (Even the 5 hour drive from Nagpur airport was interesting). The staff was amazing...every single one of them couldn't have worked harder to make sure we were comfortable with everything. From greeting us with a cold towel/drink after every return to hotel to waving goodbye. Service at all the Taj hotels/lodges was excellent. Didi, our butler, took great care of us. The chef - worried we weren't eating enough (it was 110 degrees, we weren't very hungry in heat) - offered to make pasta or non-Indian food if we wanted. The managers & staff were delightful. Service was the best! The "tents" are extremely roomy and comfortable. The huge bed was great and the lights, etc. easily accessable from the bed - with a great view of the river. The bathroom was huge - with 2 sinks, shower, tub, lots of closet space, safe....all amenities. The pool was a nice reprieve from the afternoon heat and the lounges were already waiting with towels, suntan lotion and staff brought cold drinks immediately.
But...other than pure comfort - we were there for the tigers! And they didn't disappoint. Our Naturalist Guide Payal was the absolute best....she's the only woman naturalist there and is so enthusiastic about her job - her love for the animals comes through every minute of every drive. We loved her! Our first sighting was a tiger in a tree (a rare occurence), we saw 3-4 others on elephant back. It is not an easy thing to find a tiger. Much harder than seeing animals in Africa...but what a thrill when you do! Well worth the trip. Our trip was arranged by Deepa Krishnan of Mumbai Magic and her service & coordination was excellent every step of the way. We've traveled with some of the best travel companies in the world and Deepa's service was unparalleled. She did a custom trip with several stops for 3 of us (women) from USA. You are in good hands with Deepa.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews