We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to get jungle experience”
Review of Asteya Kanha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asteya Kanha
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We are a group of 8 and one infant, visited Muba on December 3rd-5th. We find it very enjoyable. First of all the place is excellent one with a fantastic environment. The staffs are very helpful and cooperative. My 2 year old child felt ill due to the long travel, but they cooperate us providing extra care. Manager, Mr. Vijay took good care of us. Can't forget fantastic experience of listening jungle experience from Mr. Bhimsen in the evening during bonfires. Ms. Archana who is the kitchen manager also shared her experiences. They are true jungle lovers. Food quality is great and also tasty. Wish to visit Muba again in future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mud house and it's really great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prasun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 128 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

group of 6 with 6 safaris pre-booked by Muba Resorts Mr. Junaid Khan.
Mr. Khan and Mr. Vijay were most helpful in guiding us from Ahmedabad itself on various routes to take.
They arranged our Taxi pick up and Drop, Safaris etc in a complete package.
Night one:- we thought we could stay in the Mud Rooms but unfortunately the Mud rooms are relatively old and not for the faint hearted like us.
On request we were changed to the delux rooms the next day.
everthing at Muba @ Mukki is natural and environmental.
Imagine 4 nights of No Cellphone service, No T.Vs, no contact with the outter world just the Jungle Sounds. Amazing.
And what Food by the Staff. Amazing. in all the 4 nights we stayed there, we Enjoyed each and every lunch and dinner to the fullest. Mind you if you are looking for a 12 course buffet with food getting cold on the buffet table, this is not your place. If you love freshly cooked food (even if there are only 2 or 3 cooked veggies) with hot chappatis, you are in for heaven at Muba. FYI none of us had any stomach problems all the days (which is a comman sign while travelling into remote regions).
So 5 Stars for the people at Muba, if visiting Kanha again i would not go anywhere else.
Had an amazing Jungle experience as this is the true Evergreen Forest.
However, we were also not luck enough to see a Tiger in any of our safaris.
Regarding Gates, we tried all the gates Mukki, Kisli, Kanha but were in vain. Kisli guides say that Kisli gate is the best while Mukki guides say that Mukki gate is the best. However, i found the Kisli gate to be better (maybe cos i had taken 4 safaris at the Mukki gate). Tiger siting is purely on Luck and we did not feel disappointed for a minute because we enjoyed a thorough jungle experience. hope this review is helpful to you.
If you are travelling from and to Jabalpur please check out a place which is 20 kms approx from Jabalpur "Bedaghat" it is most amazing i have been told. We missed it as had not planned it before. So want to pass on the favour to other travellers.
Please pack warm clothes beforehand as the morning and evening safaris are chilly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank al13184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My visit to Kanha was made memorable by the stay at Muba Resorts. Excellent surroundings, very natural - no TV, no Phones, no Internet .... but who cares when you are on an adventure jungle trip. The food was excellent and we were always served piping hot meals. The staff is very courteous lead by Mr. Vijay who himself is very guest-centric and that makes it easy for everyone else. The mudhouses are the best if you want to enjoy the nature and also save some money. The driver Lakhan singh was very helpful on safaris and tried his best for a tiger sighting but its very difficult in winters. The safaris were managed excellently without a single hassle and same goes for my stay. Muba is about 3 km from the Mukki gate and the travel is easy. Moreover, Kanha is a much better managed park compared to Bandhavgarh and is also way more beautiful. If you love nature, you will find a lot of variety of flora and fauna at Kanha.

One thing I would like to mention about Muba is that during the morning safaris, all the hotels pack the BF for guests and keep it in the safari-jeeps and there is a convention centre in the middle of Kanha where guests enjoy the BF - and the spread we had for BF was the best among all those having BF at the centre. The fishing pond is an excellent place to relax and if you like fishing, its a great place to catch some fish.

The campfire place at Muba is excellent and guests can enjoy the surroundings well while enjoying the campfire.

Some Important Info:

If you book Muba, make sure you book the safaris for Mukki Zone or Kanha Zone (Only mornings) else you will have to travel about 10-15 Kms around the park to get to the Kisli Gate or the Khatia Gate (Kanha Zone Evening) and this journey is filled with potholes and dust.

Kanha Zone safaris can be taken from the Mukki gate only in the mornings but for Kisli Zone safaris you have to enter from the respective Kisli Gate only. Most people do not know this information and have to struggle to get around the other gate which is usually a 20-30 min drive in rough terrain.

Room Tip: If you are more than 3 Adults, choose the Mud Houses - they are comfortable and 4 bedded along with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seo_ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Muba Resort is a true jungle resort. It is surrounded by the jungle. We stayed there for 2 days, we really enjoyed the beauty of the kanha jungle. Dr.Zaffar (owner of the resort) is a real wildlife lover, he came with us in the resort at night & give us a very good information about the Jungle. He also share his experiences with us in the jungle.
Intercoms of the rooms was not working & food is an average but i think this doesn't matter with the true wild life lovers.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank upendraitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I really enjoyed the natural surroundings in which the resort is situatued. The resort has the natural fauna and everything is so nice and beautiful. Got an opportunity to do some wonderful photography of butterflies, birds, reptiles and different species. The place is so peaceful and quiet ......a good place to be away from the city guss buzz...!

Room Tip: Carry some mosquito repellent or mat as too many mosquites may disturb the night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ParulParmar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Our visit to Kanha in the first week of June 2012 was memorable for many reasons; foremost of which was our stay at Muba at Mukki. The resort has been designed to bring the forest in to the rooms so as to experience it at close hand. The thoughtful layout of the cottages, the wide open windows in them, the open dining area, the machan, the central campfire area, the small wooden bridges, the mud paths all blend in perfect harmony with the mighty sal tree forest that surrounds the resort. The resort lacks air-conditioning, television in rooms, swimming pool, internet and good telephone connections but these do not get in the way of ones enjoyment of the lush green foliage, the sounds and solitude of the forest or a beautiful night sky. The other strength of the resort is its staff, who are extremely courteous and welcoming. Ms. Archana, the Manager was caring, sincere, obliging and active in her efforts to make the stay comfortable. Mr. Vijay who guided us in our safari besides his knowledge of the flora and fauna at Kanha is earnest in sharing the beauty of the national park with the visitors. The safaris that we undertook under his stewardship were a notable and unforgettable experience not only for the abundance of wildlife that Kanha has to offer but also for his sincere efforts that we see all. Yes we saw the tiger and the leopard and also a score of other animals and birds that Kanha is well renowned for and thanks to him for this treat. Does the resort have any shortcomings? Which resort located in the remote wilderness in the heart of India will not? But the simple beauty of the evergreen sal trees, the relaxed sylvan surroundings of the resort and the warmth of its staff make any such shortcoming trivial. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Cottages best deal to feel close to the forest. Mud houses are cheaper and a novel concept but lack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samratchatterjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Muba is Very nice place to stay. Nice location very helpful staff. It is near to Mukki Gate ( 3 KM ) , but very very far ( 50 KM ) from Katiya Gate ( which used for Kanha and Kisli zone ).

Problem arise when you want to visit other then Mukki zone , either go via Mukki gate or drive 50 KM ( very bad road condition for 10 KM ) . If you go via Mukki zone , it take lot of time and by the time you reach other zone , it make chance to sighting Tiger, very less.

But we had PLEASANT stay MUBA Mud house.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ViragSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanha National Park hotels
10.3 mi away
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
#1 of 18 in Kanha National Park
480 reviews
14.4 mi away
Tuli Tiger Resort
Tuli Tiger Resort
#4 of 18 in Kanha National Park
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
7 Tigers Resort
7 Tigers Resort
#5 of 18 in Kanha National Park
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
V Resorts Mogli Resort
V Resorts Mogli Resort
#12 of 18 in Kanha National Park
43 reviews
14.2 mi away
Pug Mark Resort
Pug Mark Resort
#3 of 18 in Kanha National Park
149 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kanha Jungle Lodge
Kanha Jungle Lodge
#2 of 18 in Kanha National Park
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asteya Kanha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asteya Kanha

Address: | Village Bahmani Mukki Gate, Kanha National Park 481111, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Kanha National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kanha National Park
Price Range: $86 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Asteya Kanha 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge located on the edge of Kanha National Park provides an ideal setting for guest to experience central Indian wildlife and hospitality. Spread over 45 acres, the property houses an elevated machan for wildlife viewing, large grasslands, and a beautiful lake with a suspended deck, an ideal location to spend evenings as one can simply relax while trying to capture the perfect shades of the setting sun. It is a great weekend destination for the nearby cities of Mumbai, Pune, Raipur, Nagpur and Jabalpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Asteya Kanha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing