We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience”
Review of Asteya Kanha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Asteya Kanha
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We, a family of four with two adults and two teenagers, recently stayed at Muba at the end of a three week visit to India. According to our limited experience of Indian hotels, Muba is very good; clean, comfortable, functional and welcoming although it is not particularly interesting nor beautiful (and we stayed in some extremely interesting and stunningly beautiful hotels in India). We were extremely well taken care of by the manager, who we would love to have cloned and put in our own hotels in Tanzania. She was an absolute delight and more than made up for the fact that her staff could not speak any English and were a bit IPL fixated. If you were to compare Muba to a lodge in a national park in East or Southern Africa you might not be ecstatic but then you would not find something in a similarly price bracket in Africa. A minor criticism of the hotel is that the food was a disappointment, wholesome and edible but extremely repetitive, unimaginative and not particularly tasty. Given that Muba is in India, for us it was completely adequate and a fine place to end our India experience. Kanha is beautiful, if crowded (we still preferred it to Bandhavgarh), the roads to and from the park are a national embarrassment, cellphone service is a problem and electrical power fluctuated wildly but these are not things that Muba can control. It was wonderful to see that India still has some wildlife and you can find unlittered countryside, some happy villagers (of the 800 million people trying to live on less than $1 per day) and even less polluted skies (we actually saw stars at night for the first time in three weeks).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TanzaniandeVil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdmubaresorts, Manager at Asteya Kanha, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Dear guest,
Very warm greetings, we wish to thank you for the genuine comments you have given about us, it was all our pleasure that you chose to be our guest, we heartily apologize for the food and any other inconvenience occurred in our part, pls do give us one more chance to improve, visit us again and oblige.

Thanks again on behalf of the whole team of MUBA.
Regards,

Mrs Swaleha Zafar Khan
Managing Director
Muba Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 130 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

My trip was a 3N/4D in MUBA,and we stayed in Mud house.Really i had a doubt whether we can bare the weather in non a/c room in mid summer, but you wont believe that we switched off the fans also in the nights.thanks for the suggessions given by previous visiters.The roads are horrible from Nagpur and we are delayed by 4 hrs and reached @ 5pm.Ms Archana the hotel manager is very nice and our food is ready by that time.The hotel staff are very friendly and what ever you ask they make ready in minutes.
1st day we spent in the hotel itself watching open sky.Muba is a 60 acres property and we can go for night trecking in their own property, me and my wife has gone for night treking and Archana has arranged escorts with torch, though Vijay (front office guy) threaten us about snakes we didnot find any one.Its a 2.5 Km strech with a clean path.
Next 3 days we have gone for morning safari and hotel staff has packed our breakfast neatly, the safari is diff kind of experiance and Kanha is a beautiful place to enjoy the nature, we started @ 5 o clock in the morning and weather is so cold and you need woolen cloths scraff ,hat or monkey cap to bare the chillness.First day we didnot prepare ourselves as it was hot summer we thought that there is no need of blankets,but from 2nd day Archana has arranged 2 blankets extra for us.The driver is also very friendly and take us thru the forest to find the big cat.We dint find in the first 2 days but on last day we caught the tiger near the pond at a distance for 10 mnts. Its a nice experience to follow the foot marks of the tiger and enquiring with other jeep drivers whether they saw a tiger etc.Deers and Barasinga's are plenty, we are lucky to see the dancing peakock with feathers fully open,the jackal,Bison,Spoted Deers,Sambar,jungle Hen,Hog (Jungle Pig),plenty of rare birds are seen in the forest, 1st day we saw a big phython with a fatty belly (might have swollen a deer or big ) the guide told that the phython cannot move for 2-3 days until the it digest the food and also it will tie to a tree so that the bones of the inside animal will broke into pieces.
Though the morings are very cold ,it is very very hot as the sun goes up.So we pent the afternoons in the hotel room itself .In the evenings open area of the hotel. Archana is so nice that she arranges a seperate table for us where ever we want in the rpemises to spend the evenings.The food is good and they will also prepare what ever the dishes we want in the menu.
Totally we had a great experience in Muba and we plan to stay in the same property next time also.Already informed some of my friends who are willing to go.since the transportation is too costly its better to make arrangement for a vehicle from Nagpur or Jabalpur for the entire stay as it will cost less than the pickup and drop. It was quoted Rs 11,600 for pickup and drop but where as i paid only Rs 6000/- for all the 4 days .you will also have the vehicle at your disposal and you can go where ever you want.The roads are horible and its better to take a SUV for transportation.Since liquor is not available in Muba you have to carry on your own, but you can have at hotel.Even chidren can also pend their time with the games like carroms, chess,billiards,volleyball which are available at Muba. Its a best place to stay, as i have choosen thru reviews only.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ramanakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdmubaresorts, Manager at Asteya Kanha, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Dear guest,
Very warm greetings, this is to thank you for the kind support you've made for us in the form of this review, we promise you more exciting and adventurous tour in your next return, thanks again from all the staff here at Muba.

Regards,
Mrs Swaleha Zafar Khan
MANAGING DIRECTOR
MUBA RESORTS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed 3 wonderful nights (March 20-24) in the Mudhouse at MUBA. Despite our 4 p.m. arrival from Pench--our taxi had broken down along the horribly maintained highway--Archana had graciously kept lunch ready for us. It was a Wednesday, so we had the hotel grounds to ourselves. Before dinner, we watched the playing monkeys from MUBA's viewing platform, which looks over Kanha's park boundary. After dinner, we marveled at the bright stars, which we'd forgotten about while living in Bombay.

We awoke at 5:00 a.m. for the first of our three morning safaris in Kanha. Hotel staff brought us a flask of chai for energy and warmth. Archana had prepared us a feast of parathas, sandwiches, bananas, apples, and more chai to eat in the park. She also gave us a blanket that became invaluable in the frigid early morning. (Despite late-morning and afternoon temperatures that top 90F, the wind in the open-top Gypsy jeeps bites the bones. Dress in layers and bring a hat and scarf, even in summer.)

Though our official park guides differed in diligence and English proficiency, we had the same driver for all three safaris. He was always looking out for tiger tracks. On that first trip, our second ever, we spotted peacocks, spotted deer, sambar deer, barasingha, gaur, boars, a million different birds, and, yes, a majestic tigress!

The next morning, Archana thankfully packed us two wool blankets. Our driver must have described to her our shivering. We did not see any more tigers, but Kanha is a beautiful habitat, especially at dawn.

While checking out, Archana booked us a return taxi to Pench. It was not only a bigger and more reliable car, but it was also cheaper than our first taxi! We loved MUBA, and we'll go back whenever we're back in Kanha.

Room Tip: The Mudhouse rooms are spacious and cool. Request the Mudhouse on campus for easier access to the di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BabakGhaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdmubaresorts, General Manager at Asteya Kanha, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Dear, Mr. Babak,
Greetings,
we would like to thank you on behalf of whole team of Muba for writing such a wonderful review about us, it was really a pleasure to have you as our guests, pls give us more chances to serve you better next time, thanks again...

Regards,
Mrs Swaleha Zafar Khan
Managing Director
MUBA RESORTS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I went with friends to this resort on the extended "good friday" weekend. The staff is very courteous and they "try" to make the guest comfortable, though not successful each time. Not to the fault of Muba, network connectivity is a big issue in Kanha. We wanted to call and the receptionist gave here cell to make the call and that too without any charges. This was unexpected and we were delighted!
The food is not up to the mark and this is one area where they should work on!

Overall we had a great exp and would recommed this hotel to the travellers to kanha

Room Tip: Choose deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_boy4587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdmubaresorts, General Manager at Asteya Kanha, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Dear Guest,
Very warm greetings, this is to thank you for the kind support you've made for us in the form of this review, we promise you more exciting and adventurous tour in your next return, we apologize for any of the inconvenience you've faced in your stay with us, thanks again from all the staff here at Muba.

Regards,
Mrs Swaleha Zafar Khan
Managing Director
MUBA RESORTS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

A wonderful experience

The two days, my wife and I were at Muba Resort at Kanha recently were simply wonderful. The rawness of the property, especially the pond, gives a wonderful feeling and impression of the wild. The property just blends with the surroundings and abuts the buffer zone of the National Park which gives a very raw feeling.

The rooms are cosy and comfortable and the bathroom just right. This coupled with polite and courteous service and excellent food [which I may add is totally unlike the standard fare dished out by five star places especially for vegetarian like me. The chef there needs to be complimented on his homelike fare] all added to the experience which we are not likely to forget soon.

The staff there and especially Ms. Archana, deserves a special mention doing those small things like packing a food basket for our return journey to Mumbai. There was none of high pressure selling or that fake politeness. The staff genuinely cares for the guests and it shows in the quality of service.

Their no liquor, no music and no TV in the rooms policy is the best thing.
Truly Muba Resort is a great place for those seeking natural surroundings.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LegalEagleMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I can't explain how happy I was being at Muba! We had a really great time there and would certainly return for another trip. The property manager, Archana is so helpful, and efficient. She made sure that our stay was not only comfortable but also informative. She took us around for a nature trail in the property, which is about 60 acre in size. She made sure that we got what we wanted within a matter of minutes. And the staff was equally supportive, and quick to respond. For our morning safari, they packed food, blankets, water etc. so that it was enjoyable. I am for sure going to recommend Muba to all my friends.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lko_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdmubaresorts, General Manager at Asteya Kanha, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Dear Guest,
Very warm greetings, this is to thank you for the kind support you've made for us in the form of this review, we promise you more exciting and adventurous tour in your next return, thanks again from all the staff here at Muba.

Regards,
Mrs Swaleha Zafar Khan
Managing director
MUBA RESORTS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Skirting the magnificent Kanha Wildlife Sanctuary, is the charming Muba Resort, run by the multifaceted Dr. Zafar Khan and his charming wife. After a tiresome road journey from Nagpur, Muba seemed like an oasis. Spread over a huge expanse, it has a lovely old world charm,. THe staff is exceptionally polite and helpful. Special mention goes to Archana, the manager, with her warm sunny smile and helpful nature. Our favorite place was the dining area, with Mrs. Khan's special dishes. Our explorations into the forest was thrilling, with Doctor sahib's interesting anecdotes and on a particularly cold night, he narrated a ghost story, about the flying witch! Definitely the highlight of our trip.
Doctor sahib's evening jungle safari was very special, and intriguing...
Bonfires, endless cups of tea and coffee, warm and courteous staff, clean and functional rooms, the Baiga tribe dance on New Year's eve, are some of the memorable things about Muba. Waiting to visit Dr. Zafar's new resort at Nagzira!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomad304554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanha National Park hotels
14.4 mi away
Tuli Tiger Resort
Tuli Tiger Resort
#4 of 18 in Kanha National Park
173 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kanha Jungle Lodge
Kanha Jungle Lodge
#2 of 18 in Kanha National Park
200 reviews
10 mi away
7 Tigers Resort
7 Tigers Resort
#6 of 18 in Kanha National Park
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
#1 of 18 in Kanha National Park
496 reviews
0 mi away
Tigerwoods Kanha Resort & Spa
Tigerwoods Kanha Resort & Spa
#14 of 18 in Kanha National Park
13 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Baagh Forest Retreat
The Baagh Forest Retreat
#5 of 18 in Kanha National Park
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asteya Kanha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asteya Kanha

Address: | Village Bahmani Mukki Gate, Kanha National Park 481111, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Kanha National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kanha National Park
Price Range: $77 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asteya Kanha 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge located on the edge of Kanha National Park provides an ideal setting for guest to experience central Indian wildlife and hospitality. Spread over 45 acres, the property houses an elevated machan for wildlife viewing, large grasslands, and a beautiful lake with a suspended deck, an ideal location to spend evenings as one can simply relax while trying to capture the perfect shades of the setting sun. It is a great weekend destination for the nearby cities of Mumbai, Pune, Raipur, Nagpur and Jabalpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Asteya Kanha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing