We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (991)
Filter reviews
991 results
Traveler rating
638
268
57
13
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
638
268
57
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmosaic restaurantsky grillbackwater viewexcellent hotelspecial thanksbusiness triplocal cuisineback watersroom servicecourteous staffcoffee shopbusiness hotelrooms are spaciousbreakfast spreadmain citygreat hospitalityhouse keeping
Filter
Updating list...
844 - 849 of 991 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Looked a great hotel from photos via Booking.com. On arrival it looks slightly different, arrive via a shabby off slip from Highway 47, with obligatory rubbish, fires and smoke on the side of the road. The water features at the front of the hotel were not working or even full of water. However the greeting from staff both outside and inside the front doors was nice.

Check in was easy and quick. We had a rear facing backwater view room on the 14th floor, the higher the better! the room was clean and good size ( we stayed in an executive suite ) .

We found the hotel grounds a little disappointing . On ground level/pool area there is a lot of wasted open empty floor space ( used for weddings ) it looks bleak when not in use. There was a lack of sun beds by the pool and NO staff members to remove peoples towels from beds once they had left the area. The nicest area to relax was in the small garden outside the spa.

The biggest upset for us was the bar..... They do NOT sell/serve anything other than BEER or WINE. We ventured over the road to use the other Hotels bar. There are No decent restaurants within walking distance of this hotel, however the hotel does have two restaurants with a third in construction /planning stages. All sights/tourist areas are a Rickshaw ride away.

Room Tip: rear facing backwater view, the higher the better......
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanjayKaushik2013, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kochi, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Kochi, Kerala!

Thank you for staying with us and for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

It was a great pleasure to serve you and we are happy to learn that you had an enjoyable stay. Your feedback motivates us to keep improving our services to the higher standards.

Look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Sanjay Kaushik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our stay at the Crowne Plaza, Kochi for nearly a fortnight was unavoidable due to late and last minute booking. The alternative would have been a shuttle of hotels with one night stays through the peak Xmas/New Year period. The staff were amazing and helpful. The walk to the large pool was excessive. There was no service at the poolside and no pool attendants. The local Indian tourists abused it constantly by throwing stones and mud, babies without nappies and swimming in their underwear with no control from the management whatsoever. Again, the staff were delightfully attentive.
The hotel was situated in the middle of nowhere so one had no choice but to stay in and although it is just one year old it seemed well past tie sell by date.
We will not be going back........

Room Tip: We recommend rooms facing the backwaters.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adena9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Kochi, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear adena9,

Thank you for your comments about your stay with with us. I am happy to know that you found our staff to be helpful and accommodating. However, it is disappointing that the situation was otherwise in our pool area. Please be assured that your comments will be addressed with the appropriate departments to consider for improvements.

Again, thank you for your review and our apologies for any shortcomings experienced.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Simply perfect. I have stayed here for two nights. The Hotel is newly opened and excellent in every way possible.
Atmosphere, food, massage, friendliness, you name it.
I moved to the hotel by chance because I couldn't stand staying in Le Meridien for 10 minutes!! Which was disaster in every thing except friendliness.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Salah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanjayKaushik2013, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kochi, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Kochi, Kerala!

Thank you for staying with us and for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

It was a great pleasure to serve you and we are happy to learn that you had an enjoyable stay. Your feedback motivates us to keep improving our services to the higher standards.

Look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Sanjay Kaushik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Hotel located far from CBD. Foul stench from nearby stagnant lakes permeats the air outside. Poorly maintained gardens and unapealing building internally and externally. However, functional and staff very obliging. Excellent weather Dec/Jan. Uninteresting holiday destination in general

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Shabeer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanjayKaushik2013, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kochi, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Kochi, Kerala!

Thank you for staying with us and for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

It was a great pleasure to serve you and we are happy to learn that you had an enjoyable stay. Your feedback motivates us to keep improving our services to the higher standards.

Look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Sanjay Kaushik
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The pros: I stayed 4 nights at the hotel while on holiday in Kerala. Upon arrival, I was amazed at how beautiful the hotel was and how well decorated it was for the Christmas season with a tree, reindeer display, and Christmas songs. Check in was quick and efficient and the receptionist gave us a discount on breakfast. The room was also spectacular. We were on the 12th floor with a backwater view and WOW what a view! The room is smartly decorated and there is a retractable screen in the bathroom and when open you can see the beautiful view from the bathroom or watch tv. The pool is also quite nice and the restaurants we ate at are of excellent quality. Finally the staff were wonderful. Someone was always around to help you and we literally saw staff running to get us things we asked for in a timely manner.

The cons: Being in Kerala for holiday, the hotel is very far from tourist attractions. With traffic it will take a half hour to get to Fort Cochin. There are no restaurants outside of the hotel within waking distance and it felt incredibly time consuming to go anywhere. Also, the concierge and "travel desk" was not very helpful in helping us sight see. Only after my 3rd visit to the desk asking about tours and trips was I given a brochure of a company that organizes trips. The hotel was also very unhelpful in recommending things to do and couldn't provide us with much information about nearby sights and activities. Finally, the concierge helped us get in taxis and rickshaws and each time they did this, they bargained a rate about twice of what the rate should have been. When we left the hotel on our own and picked up rickshaws on the street we paid considerably less than when the hotel bargained for us (with no bargaining on our end, just the first rate the rickshaw/taxi gave us). Perhaps the concierge gets a commission from the taxis and rickshaws he chooses?

My final recommendation: If you want a beautiful hotel to relax in, this should definitely be your first choice. However, if you want to go out and explore Kochi and the surrounding areas as a tourist, i would recommend staying somewhere closer to Fort Cochin and somewhere with more information on the tourist attractions and companies that organize trips.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a backwater view. You won't regret it!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiki1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanjayKaushik2013, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kochi, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Kochi, Kerala!

Thank you for staying with us and for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

It was a great pleasure to serve you and we are happy to learn that you had an enjoyable stay. Your feedback motivates us to keep improving our services to the higher standards.

Look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Sanjay Kaushik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews