We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Le Meridien Kochi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Kochi
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Maradu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with a friend in April while attending a wedding in Cochin. The hotel has a weird smell and feels old. The lobby was dark and not very comfortable. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms was very comfortable, clean with a great view of the backwaters. Breakfast was ok and in room dining was very good. I ordered the Panner tikka and it was delicious. I also joined their morning Yoga class which was excellent and the trainer was very good and very helpful. Overall, this hotel is good base in Cochin and had all the facilities expected from a le meridian.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alzadjalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

996 - 1,002 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2010

food, service, room, location, attraction, concierge... would highly recommend... but, you are in south India, no hurry...

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank jfmo0159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

I stayed here with my wife, two children and mother in law for 10 days. I was made to feel at home everyday. I was settling into Cochin at the time and everyone was very helpfeul. The GM even lent me a baby cot for our new house until our arrived! Thanks everyone.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
Thank Solly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Nice hotel.
Helpful and friendly staff.
Good food.

Cons - no stairs have to use lifts which are often full when they finally get to your floor so you have to wait all over again.

Both nights that we stayed there were noisey conventions but did disturb our sleep - one of the conventions was attended by some big bollywood stars though so we didnt mind that day - amitabh bachchan said wanakam (excuse sp) to me - yipee!

The hotel is a long way out of Cochin but we had a driver so it wasnt a problem for us.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smugster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

The words "Convention Centre" in the name say it all. This is not a good base for a holiday, located as it is beside a busy national highway, and far from the attractive parts of Cochin and the shopping areas. Although the hotel grounds are attractive, there is a limit as to how much time can be spent in them and, short of walking on the highway, after dinner strolls are out of the question.

The hotel itself is comfortable, rooms are spacious (ours was a top floor Club room and one of the few with a balcony), housekeeping is good, the staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel's restaurants are excellent. The quality and variety of the food were the highlights of our seven night's stay. Overall, however, this is not a place for a relaxing holiday as it buzzes with convention delegates who, in the evenings, are provided with ear-splitting outdoor entertainment well into the night.

Few of the guests in this hotel are responsible for settling their own accommodation and food bills on check-out, but here is a word of warning for those who are. Despite being asked to sign my bill which showed the total in Indian Rupees, the Cashier then, without saying a word to me, processed my credit card payment in Pounds Sterling at a conversion rate highly favourable to the hotel, but much to my disadvantage, which resulted in my being charged almost fifty Pounds more than would otherwise have been the case. This was indeed sharp practice but one which would appear to be condoned by the otherwise affable General Manager who chose to ignore my written complaint when I discovered what had been done. Such things leave a bad taste in the mouth.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

We arrived here to start a holiday after a stressful year. It was a great starting point were we could chill out for a few days. Very very friendly and delightful staff, great food, lovely pool, a brilliant 'patio' area with lounge chairs and day beds to relax on. Our room was clean and the bed comfy but was perhaps a little tired looking and had a bit of a musty smell which we got over pretty quickly. This smell however was not apparent anywhere else in the hotel. There is a good gym and an excellent yoga class conducted each morning and evening by Pratheesh.

The hotel is about 30 minutes by taxi from Fort Cochin which was not a big issue. Others however might want to be closer. We would go back if/when we return to Cochin.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E_and_M_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Surprisingly this hotel is fairly close to the tourist areas of old Cochin. You do have to take a car but it's no more than 20 minutes or so. The rooms are great, there is a good choice of restaurants. Just what you would expect from a Meridien.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maradu
4.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,083 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
6.6 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kochi
Crowne Plaza Kochi
#1 of 3 in Maradu
819 reviews
3.7 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
876 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kochi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kochi

Address: | Maradu, Maradu, Kochi (Cochin) 682304, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Maradu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Maradu
Price Range: $82 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kochi 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashionably luxurious in 25 acres of beautiful, pristine environs, Le Meridien Cochin offers the perfect view into the best Kerala has to offer, her natural beauty of backwater rivers and coconut groves. Designed for the discerning traveler, the hotel offers a unique brand of chic, culture and discovery served with an Indian smile to the guest.Le Méridien Kochi offers a variety of guest rooms to satisfy the individual needs of our guests. Le Méridien Towers has 72 state-of-the-art suites with large bay windows overlooking the scenic beauty, bright paintings, and contemporary decor. Royal Club floors are bastions of luxury for the business barons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Otel, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Meridien Kochi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Cochin Resort And Convention Center
Le Meridien Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Kochi Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kochi Kerala/Maradu, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing