We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Meridien Kochi
Nearby Hotels
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Starlit Suites - Kochi(Maradu)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Maritime(Kochi (Cochin))
$52
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Livanta(Kochi (Cochin))
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BTH Sarovaram(Kochi (Cochin))
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The City Gate Residency(Kochi (Cochin))
$13
Booking.com
View Deal
Broad Bean Cochin(Kochi (Cochin))(Great Value!)
$33
$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Suites(Kochi (Cochin))
$70
$47
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,265)
Filter reviews
1,265 results
Traveler rating
597
412
168
49
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
597
412
168
49
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstower blocklatest recipemain buildingthe club loungeswimming poolmuseum restaurantback watersboat ridetravel deskayurvedic spabackwater viewf bexcellent propertyin room diningbreakfast spreadstar propertyspecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
997 - 1,002 of 1,265 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having stayed here on a couple of occasions earlier, I preferred Le Meridien once again for my business trip of 7 days along with several of my associates, only to be disappointed.

The Hotel itself has lost its old 'charm' and is slowly fading away. To begin with, the beautiful green shades of its exterior are now replaced by pale white on the structure with grey roof tops, making it look more like a Hospital than a Hotel! Its main Restaurant 'Treasure Trove' has been closed for renovation since few months and the only dining option available from breakfast to dinner is the small, insipid excuse of a Restaurant called "The Lagoon" where there are no live stations at breakfast (as it is too small), very few buffet items on display to choose from and no variety at all (items are almost the same every day except that they keep changing the filling in their Idlis and Vadas to make them look new). Menu cards have very few options and unless you ask them they do not tell you that they also have a few other items not listed in their Menu cards!

On one of the days, I had requested the Restaurant Manager to organize an Arabic themed lunch for 15 of my guests, which was a total disaster as they took about 2 hours to serve the 'hardly arabic' lunch in lengthy instalments, despite a day's notice. There were unending long gaps between every course that was served, leaving the guests with dry fingers, growling stomachs and eager looks at the Kitchen in anticipation of the next dish. Chef, cooks, Captains and waiters all running around frantically in and out of the kitchen, serving hardly anything! A few of my guests who orderd ala carte out of impatience were able to get their orders quickly, ate and left even before half the courses from the my party order were even served!! Service was shoddy and even when they do serve, they keep flooding only a couple of tables with everything, while totally ignoring the rest of the tables! I, being the host, was also completely ignored along with my family which was there! Thank God my daughter & wife had ordered something from ala carte which I also ate from, or else I would have surely starved after the nearly 2 hour ordeal! Ashok is a good Restaurant Manager but his Kitchen is not geared to handle such special lunch orders, even when there were no other guests in that Restaurant at that time.

The +ves:
1. Effortless and organized check-in and check-out
2. Very efficient and courteous staff all around (Avantika makes a great GRE)
3. Rooms are a bit tired but very well appointed and comfortable with variety of pillows on offer
4. Quick and responsive room service
5. Excellent housekeeping
6. Beautiful property with sprawling lawns and very good pools (too bad we couldn't use them as it was raining cats & dogs all the 7 days we were there)

The -ves:
1. Only 1 godforsaken Restaurant with very limited food options
2. Poor breakfast buffet
3. Food served in room tastes better than the one served in the lone Restaurant
4. Plenty of Arab guests all round the year but hardly any authentic arabic dishes available for them
5. Almost no international channels on TV, except for one or two
6. Minimallyequipped to handle needs of business delegations (power extensions, copiers, printers, travel plug adaptors etc.)

With the opening of Hotel Crowne Plaza bang opposite, besides several other good options not far away, Le Meridien badly needs to revamp its look, feel and services failing which, it might fade into oblivion soon.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the upper floors with the pool and backwater views
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Flying_Priest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saji J, General Manager at Le Meridien Kochi, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your patronage and feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We regret to understand that our services did not meet your expectations. I have shared your comments and experience with my team here so that we could take necessary actions and steps as learning opportunities . Thank you for acknowledging our managers and associates. It is true that our dining venues, lobby and landscape are undergoing a complete transition with a major refurbishment plan to provide the best stay experience to all our guests. The management has taken various measures to provide information on the renovation plan like website declarations, information on welcome letters, mention during check –in so that all our guests are in the know of the diminutive deficits and inconveniences, keeping in mind a unique product to offer as the end result. However we trust that once the renovation is over ( by end of August 2013) and new dining venues are operational our guests would be able to truly enjoy our culinary experiences that we are creating for the discerning travellers and loyal guests.
Your feedback is valuable to us as it will help us pay attention to certain areas in our services. We trust that there would be another opportunity to serve you in future and we look forward to your next visit till then wish you safe travels and memorable experiences through your journeys.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Being a SPG member decided to stay her for 2 nights in June while attending a wedding.The check in process the room service and Spa were good and of expected service levels.However what left me totaly unhappy was the breakfast time service resposiveness and the overall quality of food.I ate most of my meals here and found it really not upto the mark and lacking in taste.For the price I was being charged I would expect better quality and taste.
As carriers of the Le Meridien badge I would definately expect the food quality to be par excellance.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KurienCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saji J, General Manager at Le Meridien Kochi, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your patronage and feedback regarding your stay at our property. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the spa and had a smooth check-in process, however we regret that the dining experience did not meet your expectations. We would take up this concern at the earliest and make necessary amendments to provide our guests with the best service. The hotel would also feature two brand new signature dining venues by august 2013 which will provide our guests with choices. We look forward to your next visit to experience the changes, till then we wish you the best in all your discoveries around the globe.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent 2 days en - route to Kumarakom. Despite renovation going on, the hotel made it up more than satisfactorily by its services and hospitality.

Major attractions - it's pool and club house lounge on the 4th floor.

Not so good were the bar preparations.

Overall - a very good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chirmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saji J, General Manager at Le Meridien Kochi, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your patronage and feedback regarding your stay with us. We are happy to learn that you were able to enjoy your stay despite the renovation. Your motivating comments would cater to continuous improvement to excel. We look forward to your next visit to experience the changes and to explore the brand new venues. We wish you the very best in all your discoveries around the globe.

Regards
Chinnu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed there for 1 night during our 5 day trip to Kerala. I must confess that the property was so good that we dropped our evening plan to see the city (we arrived there at around 2PM). Also, we got upgraded to honeymoon suite - always a pleasant surprise to have :)

Overall nice hospitality, comfortable stay, good food. a combination ideal for any sort of traveler.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaurav_aggarwal757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saji J, General Manager at Le Meridien Kochi, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your patronage and feedback regarding your stay at Le Meridien Kochi. We are happy to learn that you truly enjoyed your stay and was able to capture the true essence of God's Own Country. Currently the hotel is under renovation and will soon feature two new signature food and beverage venues for you to explore authentic international cuisine. We look forward to your next visit to the city and to the hotel. We wish you the very best in all your discoveries around the world.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel faired the bestest out of the 3 Hotels we stayed during our 1 week trip to Kerela.

The club service design is followed to the T. We loved the professionalism there.

The bathroom amenities CM of Canada are excellent quality.

The spa is also good, we got couple of massages done there. Only thing which was a miss was the smelly oil. A better quality ayurvedic oil could be a better option.

Another thing what we felt during our trip was the expensive tender coconut water, where there is such abundance of TCs, there the prices should not be in the range of Rs 200 for a glass. It just doesnt feel right.


Rest the stay was the best between Leela Kovalam, Zuri Kumarakam and this Hotel. Wins hands down in the overall experience criteria.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller1982s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saji J, General Manager at Le Meridien Kochi, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so for your patronage and feedback on your stay at Le Meridien Kochi! We are happy to learn that you truly enjoyed your stay here, I have passed your positive remarks to my team here which is motivating and encouraging, We have noted your suggestions and would take up necessary steps to deliver the best service. Authentic ayurvedic oils would have ingredients of different smells and certain infusions may not be aromatic, however we would definitely research for an alternative or choices. Once again thank you for your valuable suggestions that would help us improve to render the best experience during your stay.
Wish you the best in all your discoveries around the globe.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews