We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Cochin experience”
Review of Le Meridien Kochi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Kochi
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Maradu
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Awesome Cochin experience”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We visited during a friends wedding to Le Meridien in January, this year. I particularly loved the lobby and also the LIVE music that's played in the evenings. The hotel staff was courteous and once discovered that we were SPG guests, the Front Desk team took no time to extend a complimentary upgrade to us to SPG Rooms overlooking the beautiful swimming pool & the river, followed by their standard amenities.

Its always nice to be proactively upgraded to the next category rather than asking for it. This gave us a sense of privilege and I congratulate the team for put in their best efforts to retain their guests; well you guys have retained me as your brand ambassador! The food at coffee shop was pretty descent as compared to many other hotels we stayed in South. I loved the fact that emphasis were laid on extending fresh south indian dishes to all the guests during buffet breakfast hours.

Overall, I highly recommend Le Meridien to all of you since they not only met but exceeded our expectations. Only one note of caution; the hotel seems closer to the airport but it is not! During peak hours, one has to leave at least 2 hours prior to the reporting time of your flight or else you will for sure miss your flight, like how we missed ours!!!

Room Tip: Try their SPG rooms or at least the ones facing the swimming pool; we found them better than other v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzizShafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjitJose, Manager at Le Meridien Kochi, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We thank you for taking your time in giving us your valuable feedback on your experience.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind remarks on our property. Your continued patronage and suggestions are a vital part of our growth which will help us progress. We will do our best to meet your service expectations. We traust to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future. Wish you the best in all your endeavors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    331
    138
    39
    33
See reviews for
242
181
52
352
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed with the family in the new Tower block (I think that was what it was called) across the water. This was a surprise we got once we checked in. You need to use the boats to come over to the main part of the hotel, but since we were on a holiday, we did not mind it. Great View. Just what you wanted while in Kerala. People were great. Everybody smiles at you (including those working in the gardens and other technical staff) when you pass by. Well kept gardens. Thoroughly enjoyed the three nights spent here. Breakfast selection for South Indian food was a bit disappointing considering we tried the local options.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the Tower block. Worth the extra time that you need to spend
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler304556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjitJose, Manager at Le Meridien Kochi, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We thank you for taking your time in giving us your valuable feedback on your experience. Thank you for your kind remarks on our property. Your continued patronage and suggestions are a vital part of our growth which will help us progress. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future. Wish you the best in all your endeavors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The fitness center just ticked me off. "No fitness shoes, sir?" No, I only have these sandals and I just want to lift. Sorry sir, but you must have fitness shoes. That makes sense since it's not a trip to India until you step in some poo. For what I'm paying, they could have shoe covers. Also internet is spotty. I've had to reconnect 6 times so far. BTW hotel is under renovation so best be out of here by 0830. Otherwise very nice property.

Room Tip: They do have smoking floors so be sure and specify if you want butts or no butts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trainhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

It was an excellent property with neat and clean rooms good ambiance and excellent food.. Staff rating 20 out of 10, the boat service between 2 properties is joyful and has a very good conference rooms helped us a lot to have good team meetings.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Le Meridien Kochi, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
We thank you for taking your time in giving us your valuable feedback on your experience. Thank you for your kind remarks on our property. Your continued patronage and suggestions are a vital part of our growth which will help us progress. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future. Wish you the best in all your endeavors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had a great stay at Le meridien. Fantastic breakfast options and great ambience. we were attending a conference. the only hitch seemed to be the confusion during the check in which took over 1 hour. Otherrwise a marvellous experience with extremely good and competent staff
loved the experience

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank springmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Le Meridien Kochi, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
We thank you for taking your time in giving us your valuable feedback on your experience. Thank you for your kind remarks on our property. Your continued patronage and suggestions are a vital part of our growth which will help us progress. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future. Wish you the best in all your endeavors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

It was an awesome experience to stay with Le Meridien Kochi, they upgraded me in a luxury suit since deluxe room was not available and my room was in another tower for which we have to go via boat on back waters which was excellent experience and nice view. Rooms were excellent, spacious, food was extraordinary authentic kerala food. if you are looking for a place where you can relax and enjoy excellent sea food, and njoi the nature then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Choose suites instead deluxe or standard rooms, rates are affordable for a luxurious holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Apsyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Le Meridien Kochi, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
We thank you for taking your time in giving us your valuable feedback on your experience. Thank you for your kind remarks on our property. Your continued patronage and suggestions are a vital part of our growth which will help us progress. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future. Wish you the best in all your endeavors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Le Meridien Kochi

My husband and I stayed at the Le Meridien Kochi for 2 nights. This was our first stop in India and a launching point for our Kerala backwaters trip. I have stayed at other Le Meridien properties in the past, which have felt up-to-date and well-maintained, but this property was very dated and in need of renovations. The pictures on the hotel website made the property look much more updated than it actually is, which was disappointing. The hotel's website now mentions that it recently started a renovation process, so it seems that the management is aware of the need to revamp. All in all, Le Meridien Kochi has the basics you need, but it is a very average hotel.

Location/service
The Le Meridien Kochi is located approximately 30 minutes from the major historical attractions in Cochin. When considering this hotel, keep in mind that there aren't many restaurants or interesting things to see in walking distance of the hotel, unlike some of the other options closer to Fort Cochin. The major advantage of this hotel's location is that it is closer to the Cochin Airport than hotels in the Fort Cochin area, making it convenient for those arriving on late-night flights like we did. The check-in process was quick, which we appreciated at that late hour. Overall, we found the staff polite during our stay.

Rooms
The room we stayed in was spacious, but had a noticeable damp odor. The entire room, including the bathroom were probably nice 15 years ago, but were in need of refurbishment.

Dining
We had both lunch and a Christmas dinner at the hotel since other options in town were closed for the holiday. The buffet had a wide selection of rather average tasting Indian cuisine. The waitstaff was pleasant and helpful.

Amenities
We did not use the pool, spa or gym, but from what we saw, these areas of the hotel were due for renovations as well.

Summary
The Le Meridien Kochi offers basic amenities and decent service if you need a hub for your stop in Cochin, but I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again (unless I needed to use hotel points or a credit). To avoid disappointment, it's best not expect the same standard seen at other Le Meridien properties, at least not until the refurbishment is finished.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Convinced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Le Meridien Kochi, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
We thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback on your experience. It is very unfortunate that the hotel and the services during your stay with us did not reflect the quality you expected. Our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We are currently undergoing renovation of the property which is aimed at giving our guest more options and the best product and experience in town. I am sure you will understand that we have full commitment to provide best services to our valued guests. Thank you again for your honest feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future. Wish you the best in all your endeavors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maradu
6.6 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
4.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kochi
Crowne Plaza Kochi
#1 of 3 in Maradu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
3.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kochi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kochi

Property: Le Meridien Kochi
Address: Maradu, Kochi (Cochin) 682304, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Maradu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Maradu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kochi 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashionably luxurious in 25 acres of beautiful, pristine environs, Le Meridien Cochin offers the perfect view into the best Kerala has to offer, her natural beauty of backwater rivers and coconut groves. Designed for the discerning traveler, the hotel offers a unique brand of chic, culture and discovery served with an Indian smile to the guest.Le Méridien Kochi offers a variety of guest rooms to satisfy the individual needs of our guests. Le Méridien Towers has 72 state-of-the-art suites with large bay windows overlooking the scenic beauty, bright paintings, and contemporary decor. Royal Club floors are bastions of luxury for the business barons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Kochi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Cochin Resort And Convention Center
Le Meridien Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Kochi Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kochi Kerala/Maradu, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing