We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and great food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Springfield Hotel & Health Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentre Halkyn
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent value and great food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

This is not the best hotel in terms of standard of the room but in terms of value for money it is difficult to beat. I stayed here 12 months ago and there has been a very noticeable improvement. The food was of a high standard and excellent value. The views are excellent and it is a very convenient location for travellers along the A55 in North Wales If you want a clean and comfortable place to stay at a good price then this hotel is recommended. Bedrooms and bathrooms are out-dated and need renewing but this would undoubtedly increase the cost of staying here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AAA04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    137
    44
    14
    9
See reviews for
95
151
51
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

This hotel was a lovely change from the one we had originally booked and had our booking totaly messed up, of this though we were glad because we ended up staying here. The welcome was fantastic and the member of staff who checked us in was lovely. She immediately showed us around the hotel showing us the pool and restaraunt and their opening times. The rooms were lovely, clean and modern and we had everything we needed. The pool was brilliant as well as the sauna which had to ourselves most of the time. The breakfast was lovely and the staff very attentive and couldnt do enough for us. A very relaxing stay and would deffinately stay again. the views were also lovely right over the estuary. they do need to change the post code though as it took us to the wrong place but thats the only negative thing.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becci_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

Stayed here en-route to North Wales - best decision made! Fantastic sized family room with more than enough space. Made to feel so welcome, and our 3yr old was centre of attention with all the staff that spoke to us. Food and service in the bar was second to none, as was the breakfast. The only negative was the extremely squeaky double bed - we woke our little one just by turning over or getting in/out of bed - and the squeaky floorboards but the positives really outweighed this fact - at £64 for the family room B&B, plus what we spent on the eveningmeal and drinls, it was still less than half what we paid the next night is a supposedly top hotel and that experience/review is definitely negative all the way. Would recommend the Springfield to everyone!! Top marks to the staff!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onlyali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel for the Easter weekend. 3 Nights.
Room
Was okey for what we paid for it. Bit on the small side, They don't give you many tea or coffee or Milk. and no biscuits like they do in a lot of hotels. We didn't sleep very well the floor boards creak when you walk across them. Thats all we heard all night and someone in another was snoring really badly kept us a wake all night.. You don't get a good nights sleep in this hotel.
Bathroom was also on the small side, the water kept going onto the floor when we had a shower. cleaners came round daily I would not think cleaning was of standard.
Pool
Well what can I say on the small side, changing room, there is not one, There is a very small room with a shower and toilet if you have a shower the water go's into the very little space you have to change your clothes. and you can't lock the door you can lock the toilet door but who whats to change in the toilet and its again very small. A lot of quests were coming from their rooms with their robes on over their costume through the hotel, This is not a good idea if you have function's going on in the hotel.
The Staff were very friendly and the breakfast and Dinner was excellent the best we had for a long time. If we are ever in the area we will most likey to have dinner there, Top marks to the chaf's, I wanted to take them home to cook our food. Thank you to the receptionist who sent my jacket back to me when I left it in the lounge.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wellings17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

The best thing about the hotel must be the breakfast - a well stocked, well cooked buffet.

The rest of the hotel is quite dated and really nothing spectacular. I didn't enjoy the room at all - small, not very comfortable, and the bathroom didn't impress me as being overly clean - which really bothers me at a hotel. It's not a place I'd avoid, it's also not a place I'd seek out.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewlywedsDec8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

Stayed for two nights. Room was clean and acceptable but walls in bedroom not sound proof. Could hear other residents talking and snoring. When residents next door walked across floor it sounded as though they were in your room. we were unlucky enough to have child in room next to us on second night. Noise was unbearable. If you want a sleepless night book this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirminghamColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

A great place and the friendliest staff. I got married here almost 2 years ago and we stopped over for a weekend in Feb on our way to North Wales. The staff were very welcoming and many of the same ones were still there (a good sign).

Location - excellent as it is just off the A55. Just far back so the road noise isn't a problem but easy to see when you are trying to find it.

Rooms - I ca't comment on the other rooms as I have only ever stayed in the honeymoon suite which is absolutely superb. You get your own entrance, a lounge with large flat screen and sofa etc, a huge bathroom with free standing bath and a fantastic bedroom. You get views of the hills to the rear so it really is a high-quality, romantic suite. I don't know if we got a special deal for the weekend but it was extremely cheap for what you get.

Staff - Very friendly. It feels like a family run hotel and they are very helpful.

Food - probably the best bit. I was amazed at the quality of the food at my wedding and it was probably even better this time. As another reviewer said better than hotels charging twice the price.

As I run my own business another thing of benefit to me was the wireless broadband throughout and it was free.

All in all a great hotel. if you are staying there ask for the honeymoon suite and eat in the restaurant as it is fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spikey54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pentre Halkyn
5.2 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
5.4 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
13.5 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mountain Park Hotel
Mountain Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flint
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
6.8 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Hotel & Health Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Hotel & Health Club

Property: Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Address: A55 Expressway, Pentre Halkyn, Holywell CH8 8BA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Holywell > Pentre Halkyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentre Halkyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Hotel & Health Club 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Springfield Hotel & Health Club enjoys fabulous views over the River Dee and has excellent road links to the beautiful Roman city of Chester, North-West England and North Wales. This friendly, comfortable hotel has a fantastic location for those travelling on business or for those exploring the attractions and countryside of North Wales. All of the rooms are comfortable and well equipped with colour freeview television, complimentary hi-speed internet, tea/coffee making facilities and en suite showers and baths. The brand new Health Club opened in March 2011, with facilities including a gym with state-of-the-art equipment, indoor swimming pool and sauna, all of which are entirely free of charge for guests. Free high-speed wireless internet access is now also available throughout the Hotel. The new restaurant and bar offer home-cooked food, made using fresh local produce. We are particularly proud of our food and have many regular customers. Or simply relax in the Bar and take in the stunning views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Springfield Hotel & Health Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Hotel And Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club Pentre Halkyn, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing