We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, exquisite food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentre Halkyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Arrived in the dark, so the just-off-the-A55 location was a bonus for us. Restaurant choice was good and the food was better than you'd expect for hotels charging double. Room itself was very spacious, clean and quiet - what more can you ask for. View from the room was a sloping field of grazing sheep, so a nice bit of rural idyll into the bargain.

Swimming pool looked very tempting, but time didn't allow - maybe next time.

Top value and a bit more soul than the chains - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcopoulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 493 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2010

We stayed at the springfields hotel and the hotel was second to none nothing was to much troube the team members were great and dinner was spot on !!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnsonwhalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

What a strange place. Downsides: Generally tatty, noisy plumbing in bedroom and creaking floorboards from above; north-facing outdoor tables (no sun); chlorine smell from pool, and yet...

My colleague and I tossed up whether to eat in the restaurant or take what would have been a long drive to civilisation (the hotel is stuck out on a bypass). We settled on the restaurant.

Wise decision. The food was spectacular! I mean not just good but the kind of cuisine you would expect in a top grade London restaurant. Our astonishment grew with every mouthful of every course. My (female) colleague, who eats out a lot, went so far as to say it was the best restaurant meal she had had all year.

Afterwards we congratulated the manager on the meal, who said guests often express surprise at the standard of the restaurant. Surprise? It was utterly bewildering, given the rest of the place!

Next morning for breakfast we were ushered to a tiny table in a corridor because the dining room was "being set up for a conference". A sloppy, tasteless affair that had spend far too long being kept warm. Back down to earth...

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulHowardCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Room was warm, overlooking the estuary, comfortable bed. Taken to our room by the first of the friendly staff we met. Enjoyed the pool, water was really pleasantly warm. It was small - that suited us. Staff happy to take cover off for us, both times we had it to ourselves. Breakfast was cooked to order Saturday and Monday, buffet service Sunday. Ingredients good, and a good selection of fruit, pastries etc. Warm toast brought when requested as well! We stayed three nights thanks to a special offer on Late Rooms. Road noise was not a problem; Saturday night the next door quests talked late - not exactly the hotel's fault. Freeview TV was a good bonus - just need to retune to get Channel 5! And simple free wi-fi!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Springfield Hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of July 09 and would definately stay there again. For the price we paid per night (£45 for a double room) we were really pleased with the quality of the room (a tiny bit dated in decor), that the bed was comfortable, and the room was a good size. We ate in the restaurant on the first night. Although at first glances the menu did look a little pricey, the portions were very big and neither of us could finish our meals. The other two nights we just ordered chips and sat in the bar while having a few drinks.

The hotel isn't in Holywell itself but is a quick 5-10 minute drive away. There aren't any restaurants or pubs in walking distance so thats why we chose to eat at the hotel each night. However, it is ideally located for people like us who wanted to explore the surrounding areas.

My partner and I both agreed that we had a nice, relaxing break. We both found the staff very helpful and friendly. If you are looking around for a cheaper deal it always pays off to phone them directly because this worked out cheaper than using the online 'last minute' type websites.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice, affordable break.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ooh_new_shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed for 2 nigths as it was close to a friends wedding venue.This is the dingiest hotel Ive seen-the hotel inspector would have a field day. Upon entering you are hit with a smell of chip fat. We arrived at 9.30pm and we got a room that stank of cigarettes, we asked to swop and the room stank of damp-when we complained again the girl said 'oh yes all 3 of those rooms smell as theyre above the pool (dont get excited-you wouldnt want to get in it!)' There were no other rooms available and as the grooms family and other firends were arriving the next day we couldnt really go somewhere else. The girl offered us the bridal suite for no extra charge so we said OK. It still smelt, the bath leaked, the decor was awful, 2 twin beds pushed together to make a double and the continuous humming of the kitchen extractor fans below us. The breakfast was very poor. Hot items left sitting in tubs of grease, soggy toast and awful coffee. You felt grimey after sitting in the restaurant. When we left, they tried to charge us extra for our room! They even tried to use our credit card that we had booked with to take extra money without our permission.I had to argue and say we had agreed the same price then had to show them the print out of the internet booking before she agreed. There was a far better 2 star hotel down the road and I would not stay here again. Yuck.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hoffyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

not exactly what we had in mind, saw it on a website and were given the imppression it was actually in holywell rather than on a dual carriage way. however it was within good distance of a few places but not the type of place where u could walk to a local pub...or anything for that matter. The service was very mixed. the staff were either completely rude and carried on walkin off while answering one of my questions very bluntly OR they were very pleasant....so no happy medium!! the pool was a good size and the bar stayed open late, recomend any of the starters in the restaurant but the main courses are far from good quality. would recommend as a cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlybalisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pentre Halkyn
6.8 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
5.2 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Halkyn
Travelodge Halkyn
#1 of 1 in Halkyn
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
10.1 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
574 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Hotel & Health Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Hotel & Health Club

Address: A55 Expressway, Pentre Halkyn, Holywell CH8 8BA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Holywell > Pentre Halkyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentre Halkyn
Price Range: $65 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Hotel & Health Club 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Springfield Hotel & Health Club enjoys fabulous views over the River Dee and has excellent road links to the beautiful Roman city of Chester, North-West England and North Wales. This friendly, comfortable hotel has a fantastic location for those travelling on business or for those exploring the attractions and countryside of North Wales. All of the rooms are comfortable and well equipped with colour freeview television, complimentary hi-speed internet, tea/coffee making facilities and en suite showers and baths. The brand new Health Club opened in March 2011, with facilities including a gym with state-of-the-art equipment, indoor swimming pool and sauna, all of which are entirely free of charge for guests. Free high-speed wireless internet access is now also available throughout the Hotel. The new restaurant and bar offer home-cooked food, made using fresh local produce. We are particularly proud of our food and have many regular customers. Or simply relax in the Bar and take in the stunning views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Springfield Hotel & Health Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Hotel And Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club Pentre Halkyn, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing