We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentre Halkyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed at the Springfield for the weekend of 13th 14th and 15th September 2013

I wasn't sure from the reviews what the hotel was going to be like and I hadn't visited it in about 15 years.

The staff were friendly and helpful, all local people with local knowledge and experience of the Holywell area

The rooms are clean, freshly decorated, a little dated but it was in good condition. Above all it was very comfortable. The bed was very comfy - I've stayed in many hotels with worse beds (and paid more for the privilege)

The breakfast was a buffet style and there was a good choice from cereal, fruit, cold meats, breads through to full range of cooked breakfast. They served good quality coffee - not instant! and had a range of teas available

One evening we decided to eat at the hotel. I had fish and chips my husband had ham egg and chips. Both meals were great, fish and ham were in plentiful supply and the chips !! wow - good old fashioned chunky chips ... we did not have room for a pudding, but shared one instead

Good range of beers wines and spirits available

On the Saturday night there was a wedding party, but we didn't get disturbed at all by it. The function room is large and the hotel holds parties, weddings and also cabaret type weekends - they have a Michael Jackson tribute act coming up before Christmas

The pool area is lovely and the learn to swim courses look to be a great idea

The gym has a range of modern equipment, Treadmills, bikes, cross trainer/step machine, free weights and rowing machine

I spent an hour just relaxing on a very comfy sofa, with a book and enjoying the view of the Dee Estuary an across to the Wirral from their enclosed Terrace.

Its good - welcoming comfortable and I would be happy to visit again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A1bossywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 487 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here for the Swim Inn course for 5 nights, would have stayed longer but had to get back for work. Wasn't entirely sure what to expect but was pleased with the hotel. Our room was well sized along with the bathroom which also had a bath. The rooms were fresh and clean enough. The public areas were ok but looked like could do with a few finishing touches or refurbishment. The swimming pool was good and the changing rooms were really nice with amazing showers. The staff were helpful. The only letdown was the restaurant. Not cosy to sit in at night and didn't like the food, was presented ok but had no taste. But others seemed to like the food so maybe we just were unlucky, (or spoilt!). The price was good, we were ther for the swimming course but had checked hotel prices and would have been £300 for both of us for 5 nights, good values for a hotel with facilities like these. Also offered beauty treatments but I didn't have a chance to try. Another plus is its central location, near Chester, not too far from Llandudno and also right next to the A55 which is a main road for this part of North Wales. Overall loved this hotel would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 411Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Staff are friendly enough, service is pretty good. Rooms are very dated and in need of refurbishment, carpets worn through etc.. However this was more of an asthetic thing, the room was comfortable, warm and functional.
The rest of the hotel is, again dated but serves its purpose.
With a revamp this would be a much higher rating.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leemmajunkie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I occasionally book this place since a few years and i was always happy with it.
Friendly service and good selection of reasonably priced pub food which tastes quite good.
Breakfast is self service from hot counter and the coffee could be better, but a bit of Nescafe makes it drinkable.
Rooms are clean, rates rater cheap, windows do open and size varies depending on where in the building it is .
The whole building does not really hide it's age, but the room rates do reflect this, quite
acceptable for me.
It appears that some refurbishment is under way as last time i stayed, the room
looked like being recently painted.
Ample free parking and WiFi is free as well, but can be a bit flaky in rooms at the far end.
I have never used the Spa facilities, so cannot comment on this,

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel is in need of a update, the rooms are ample for what you need, we stayed 2 nights for a family wedding, breakfasting in the morning is a bit manic, staff friendly and helpful, checkin was straight forward and easy, the gym was nice clean and tidy. Prices for food and drinks reasonably price.

Nice stay

Room Tip: We stayed in room 24 overlooking river Dee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtn01844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

For a quick one night stop over the hotel was fine. The staff were welcoming and helpful and everything was clean. The problem is that it just needs a total revamp as it looks horribly dated and appears not to have had one for many many years. Obviously in the current economic climate this isn't easy but then their prices need to reflect what is actually on offer! I think they benefit from the fact that there is a lack of competition in the local area and this allows them to continue charging a much higher rate than they probably should. Will probably stay here again as family live close by but it will be out of necessity rather than choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkDolly101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked our wedding ceremony and reception at the Springfield Hotel, from the first moment the staff have been fantastic, especially, Paul, Lee and Lisa who looked after us and our families really well. We booked almost all the rooms and we were given the bridal suite which was beautiful and spotlessly clean, even through check out time which was a bit mad with the amount of people Lisa smiled her way through and very efficient. Would highly recommend to anyone :) :) :)

Room Tip: Room 10 is the suite, and is lovely, unfortunately no view of the dee estuary but nice field views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pentre Halkyn
6.8 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Halkyn
Travelodge Halkyn
#1 of 1 in Halkyn
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
22.2 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
557 reviews
5.4 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Hotel & Health Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Hotel & Health Club

Address: A55 Expressway, Pentre Halkyn, Holywell CH8 8BA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Holywell > Pentre Halkyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentre Halkyn
Price Range: $66 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Hotel & Health Club 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Springfield Hotel & Health Club enjoys fabulous views over the River Dee and has excellent road links to the beautiful Roman city of Chester, North-West England and North Wales. This friendly, comfortable hotel has a fantastic location for those travelling on business or for those exploring the attractions and countryside of North Wales. All of the rooms are comfortable and well equipped with colour freeview television, complimentary hi-speed internet, tea/coffee making facilities and en suite showers and baths. The brand new Health Club opened in March 2011, with facilities including a gym with state-of-the-art equipment, indoor swimming pool and sauna, all of which are entirely free of charge for guests. Free high-speed wireless internet access is now also available throughout the Hotel. The new restaurant and bar offer home-cooked food, made using fresh local produce. We are particularly proud of our food and have many regular customers. Or simply relax in the Bar and take in the stunning views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Springfield Hotel & Health Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Hotel And Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club Pentre Halkyn, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing