We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
Dining in at Little Roost - living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining in at Little Roost - living room
Little Roost with car port and roof terrace above left The Roost next door with LIttle Roost at far end
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Dining in at Little Roost - living room
Little Roost with car port and roof terrace above left
The Roost next door with LIttle Roost at far end
Kitchen area - gas hob, fan oven, dishwasher, microwave
Double bed upstairs with luxury cotton bed linen, towels supplied
Well equipped kitchen at Little Roost - gas hob and electric fan oven
Oak staircase to bedroom and bathroom above
inside Little Roost
Walk in rainfall shower -  towels and shower gels provided.
Private roof terrace above carport   (access via stone steps )
Little Roost, springtime
Local pub and village shop  10 mins via woodland pathway opposite.  Part of the East Devon Way.
River Cottage Canteen & Deli at nearby Axminster (4 miles).  River Cottage HQ 12 mins drive
Woodland walk opposite Little Roost.10 mins pub and local shop. Bluebells and wild garlic in spring.
Lyme Bay - Jurassic coast - one mile away -  leave the car and follow riverside walk to the sea...
Lyme Bay - sandy beach - walk down from Little Roost or 5 mins drive.
Lyme's new walkway down to the beach and Jurassic coastline - access from Charmouth Road carpark
Lyme Regis sea walkway
HIX Oyster and Fish House restaurant overlooks the harbour and The Cobb at Lyme
West Bay -  featured in Broadchurch TV drama series -  25 mins drive away (21km / 13 miles)
Lyme Bay -  winter sunset
Bluebell woods, coastal path, Lyme Regis in spring
Roof garden in springtime
View up the country road outside Little Roost, summertime
East Devon Way- Footpath to Lyme Regis town and beach ( 20 mins)
Lyme Regis harbour view with the Cobb on RHS
Springtime, Uplyme.  lovely country walks in the lanes
Burton Bradstock - a drive up the coastline - home of The Hive beach cafe
secret window inside Little Roost
Julie and her lady friends are free range in garden at the Roost next door.
High Street Lyme Regis - December - great for Christmas shopping
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Uplyme, Lyme Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
j0hnw1955
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Retreat”
Reviewed July 6, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Once again we can't fault Little Roost. Rosemary is an excellent host providing everything you need and a little more.
The location is ideal just a 25 minute idyllic wooded riverside walk into the centre of Lyme Regis. We will definitely return when next in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2018
Thanks so much for reviewing. I think the East Devon Way riverside path is now even better due to recent improvements and good to hear you enjoyed walking into Lyme. Hope you'll get the chance to return some day. all best, R
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulinean...
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage for two”
Reviewed June 26, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We stayed at Little Roost 9-16th June and what a lovely week we had. The cottage is a delight. Very tastefully restored and everything you need and more. The shower is wonderful. We had breakfast on the roof terrace every morning. Rosemary and Duncan are very helpful and should be proud of this little bolt hole. Lyme Regis is just a 25-30 minute woodland walk away - we walked this every day or 5 minute car ride. Rosemary had kindly left us a welcome pack of wine, bread, eggs and biscuits! We would definitely recommend Little Roost and will return again one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2018
Thanks so much for your lovely review. Great to hear that you enjoyed the roof terrace - so fortunate with the weather this year! Hope you'll get the chance to return again sometime. best wishes, R and D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue G
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed June 10, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We spent a week in early June at the Little Roost. It is a beautiful little cottage ideal for a couple, perfectly placed to visit Lyme Regis and the surrounding area. Although there are plenty of houses around we didn't feel overlooked and enjoyed having morning coffee on the terrace looking at all the different types of birds darting in and out of the trees. There is a beautiful riverside walk into Lyme Regis through woodland and meadow and a short woodland walk to the village shop and pub.
Rosemary and Duncan made us very welcome and went out of their way to be helpful. There was a very generous welcome pack on our arrival and the fresh flowers were lovely. We were fortunate to be there during Dorset Art Weeks and so were able to visit Duncan's studio and see many of his accomplished paintings and one in progress.
We really enjoyed our week at the Little Roost and will definitely stay there again if visiting the area.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2018
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks so much for reviewing - and for your interest in Dorset Arts Week - and hope we may see you again one day. very best, R and D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilylhwi...
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely little cottage”
Reviewed May 8, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Great place to stay, very clean and tidy and kitted out with everything you need plus a few great goodies left by Rosemary.

Beautiful secluded area, but easy to find and an easy walk into Lyme Regis.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2018
Hi Emily - thanks again for coming to stay at Little Roost. The countryside around here is particularly lovely in spring with an abundance of bluebells and wild garlic. Many thanks for reviewing and hope you'll get the chance to come and stay again some day. kind regards, Rosemary H - owner, Little Roost at Uplyme
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryl m
Beckford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely getaway”
Reviewed April 28, 2018 for a stay in November 2017

This small but perfectly formed bolt hole has been refurbished and decorated to a really high standard. Welcome pack and flowers much appreciated. Loved the thick rope stairs handrail and the tropical shower. Gorgeous walk through woodland along the river but I'd suggest a taxi back unless you're fit and like hills!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2018
Thanks for your lovely review! Walking back from Lyme by road can be steep but the East Devon Way follows the river right back from town to Little Roost and is mostly flat - really lovely at the moment full of bluebells and wild garlic. The pathways are currently being improved so will be a lot less muddy in wintertime. And we're only five minutes by car from Lyme Regis and the Jurassic Coastline.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2018
Thanks so much for coming to stay and for your kind review. Know that you're welcome back any time at Little Roost. I'm constantly updating the local info file as I discover more and more great local places to visit and dine out in this fabulous area. All the best, R
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kris H
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed March 20, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Had the most amazing time at this beautiful cottage . Rosemary and Duncan are the most lovely hosts! Welcomed with flowers , wine and goodies. We highly recommend this cottage and will definitely be back x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2018
Good to know you enjoyed your stay at Little Roost - and made the most of the scenic, snowy weather. Really looking forward to a glorious spring now. Thanks for reviewing and hope that we'll see you again some day. Rosemary and Duncan Harris - owners, Little Roost at Uplyme
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing