We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous steak”
Review of Talbot arms

Talbot arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Uplyme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Pub, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous steak”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

A great meal, even though we arrived quite late for dinner.
One of the best steaks we have ever eaten, cooked to perfection (exactly as we had asked for it)!
Would definitely return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CorinnaJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talbotarms, Manager at Talbot arms, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hi Corinna,

Thankyou for your comments, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us good feedback.We are glad you enjoyed your steak!

Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Thanks
Holly x

PP Steve and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    26
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Seriously gone down hill within the last 3 years from when I last visited. If you employ very young staff who don't care then expect poor service!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxoxoxoxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talbotarms, General Manager at Talbot arms, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear oxoxoxoxox

I am really disappointed to hear that your visit was not up to our usual high standard.

As you say, some of our staff members are young, but they are all trained in customer service and should be working hard to keep our customers happy. We hope that you could share a few more details about your visit with us so that we can ensure this doesn't happen again.

If there is anything we can do to resolve this matter for you please don't hesitate to contact me on 01297 443136

We hope to see you again

Thank you
Holly
Pp. Steve and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday carvery!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a regular favourite when we visit Lyme Regis, it serves the tastiest Sunday carvery. A great choice of fresh vegetables (different every time), lovely meat, great roasties and tasty gravy. Only negative is I never have space for a pudding but guess I'll just have to live with that terrible problem! At under a tenner it's great value too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelanieW19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talbotarms, Manager at Talbot arms, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hello MelanieW19,

Thankyou for your lovely comments about our Sunday Carvery! We will pass your comments onto the chef and the rest of the staff.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Thanks!

Holly
pp. Steve and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“No lunch at lunchtime”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We recently gave The Talbot Arms another go having been disappointed on our first visit earlier in 2013 - sadly, it was not a success.

We ordered drinks (under the somewhat offputting stare of a local perched at the bar) and asked for the lunch menu. We were then told that, apart from a cold buffet, no lunches were available owing to some sort of problem in the kitchen. As we did not want a cold buffet and it was approaching 1:30pm we had a few sips of our drinks and then departed to get a proper lunch elsewhere.

Who knows, perhaps if we give it another chance sometime, it might be a case of third time lucky...?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blagbobennychicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talbotarms, Manager at Talbot arms, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Blagbobennychicks,

We are very sorry to hear of your experiences at the Talbot.

We appreciate your second visit but feel we have to explain why there was no hot lunch available on the day you came back.

Thursdays are our senior citizens lunch day. The week before your visit we had discussed with our regular lunchtime customers that the following week due to new equipment being fitted in the kitchen, we would have to shut off the gas supply. They all requested a summer buffet rather than having no food at the pub at all.

Regarding the local giving you an off putting stare, not sure what we can do about the facial expressions of customers sitting at the bar! :-) However, if you were certain it was one of our locals, we can assure you they're all normally a very happy and welcoming bunch.

Please do come again and make yourself known to us, we will endeavour to ensure your next visit is a successful experience!

Kind Regards

Holly x

PP Steve and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Come here for the best home made food!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a sirloin steak, one of best I've ever had. Can only remember 2 others as good and I eat a lot of Stirloin. My husband had the home made steak and ale pie. He said it was "delicious". Very relaxed nice atmosphere. Lovely large ground including "The PaddocK" with river running through it. Need to sort out seats on decking! Shall eat here again and again and agaiin - hopefully! Hosts very welcoming. Thank you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DorsetButtercups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talbot arms also viewed

 

Been to Talbot arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing