We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for River cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Talbot Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uplyme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talbot Arms
Ranked #3 of 5 Uplyme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect for River cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed for a night in one of the five rooms. It was very good value at £60/night and the landlord and his staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful with arranging taxis etc.The breakfast the next day was also great value for only £5 each. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this pub.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    33
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
75
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is a gem of a place.
We have eaten here several times over the last few years as we occasionly stay up the road in the camp site, during summer months for a few days at a time (Hook farm, which is a great place also) We have never had a bad meal, and is good home cooked pub food. This time we did not eat, as we had not planned on staying. We had accomodation booked elsewhere on the beach in Lyme Regis for the weekend, as it was my 40th birthday, and we were having dinner at Hix restaurant and River Cottage, over the weekend. However we managed to get an extra day off work and go a day early, with the prospect of finding somewhere to stay once there. We stopped at the Talbot purely for a drink before going into Lyme to find a place to stay. We were told by a lovely bar lady that they were not doing food that night if we were looking to eat, but they could arrange for an Indian to be delivered or for us to get any take away we wish and eat it in the restaurant. I just happened to ask her if they had any rooms and at what price etc. She said yes and gave me the price (with or without breakfast) and also recommended a few b and b's and hotels in Lyme, as I told her we really fancied something other to eat rather than takeaway. I cheekily asked her if they could knock a tenner off as it was lateish and we wouldnt have breakfast as we were planning on going to the River Cottage canteen for breakfast (which is amazing by the way) She checked with the landlord and he agreed to do a discount of 10 pounds! We had a drink and asked if she minded if we just pop down the road to Lyme to see if a b and b she recommended was free.
We decided in the end to return to the Talbot as what they were asking for one night was such good value and they were so friendly and welcoming, plus being quite tired ourselves.
They gave us a room instantly and we decided to order an Indian to be delivered (Cinnamons in Axminster) The room was lovely, clean and bright with a lovely shower/bathroom and smellies too, tea coffee biscuits etc, in a seperate block to the pub.
We were asked where we would like to eat our food that we had ordered, and a table set up for us. We had a couple of drinks while we waited and then sat down to an incredibly fresh and tasty curry...it was delicious! We are both very foody people and know a good Indian when we have one!
After having a few drinks and a bottle of wine we sat at the bar with the landlord, who was incredibly friendly and gave us info to get to the river cottage.
This place is well worth staying in and cant fault it, its actually nicer being up the road in Uplyme rather than Lyme itself as its away from the crowds and bustle of the seaside town and out in the countryside. We will definately stay again, and will be 100% eating there when we camp next at Hook farm.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neenor0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
195 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

We spent one night here - originally going to River Cottage for Valentine's Night dinner - then it burned down so we went to a restaurant in Lyme Regis instead (see separate review for Hix Oyster and Fish House). As mentioned by other reviewers there are 5 rooms - we had number 2. It wasn't large but very clean and comfortable and Mine Host was extremely helpful. The pub was very quiet but served good beer and cider. Breakfast was a hearty full English. We'd go back if we need to stay in the area again.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 5 are on the end of the line (so only one neighbour - not that we noticed any noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Talbot is a small pub in Uplyme. They have converted the old bowling alley behind the pub into en-suite bedrooms each with their own entrance. The rooms are very comfortable and well equipped.

We stayed whilst visiting River Cottage and the landlord was v helpful in arranging taxis - and when taxi did not turn up on one occasion taking us himself.

Bus stop is right outside and it's an easy trio from Axminster station or into Lyme. We'll definitely be back - probably give River Cottage a miss next time though!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberursel (Taunus), Germany
Level Contributor
161 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

The Talbot Arms has 5 small rooms at the back of the hotel that are modern and comfortable. The hotel itself is a Free House serving good ales and a fantastic Sunday carvery. Steve is a charming and accommodating host who would always go the extra distance to ensure our stay was as pleasant as possible (thanks for retrieving my slippers, Steve). This is an excellent choice to see the Jurassic Coast and other attractions around Lyme Regis. Plenty of parking is available as well and it is just a short 20 minute walk down a walking path to Lyme Regis itself.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

I recently booked The Talbot Arms for a friends and family reunion. Our family travelled from Australia, America and the local area to meet at "The Talbot" for a wonderful Sunday Lunch cooked and served in the dining room/lounge by the landlord, his wife and staff. It was a wonderful venue, amazing service, delicious food and well appointed dining room/lounge area. We were given every consideration and the landlord, Steve, worked with us on our full to capacity dining arrangements to ensure that a good time was had by all.

We took a look at the new accommodations at the rear of the pub. The room we looked at was a beautiful large double room with a great bathroom, in a rural setting. The accommodations are adjoined with the walls offset for greater privacy and separate from the main house, which would make them agreeably quiet. We would not hesitate to stay there another time when looking for accommodations in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penrithhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

We were made to feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for them, The rooms are very modern and clean, and everything was included. The breakfast was excellent and the evening meals varied and good. We will be back

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hobby16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uplyme
2.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#8 of 47 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#19 of 47 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 47 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Arms

Property: Talbot Arms
Address: Lyme Road, Uplyme, Lyme Regis DT7 3TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Uplyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Uplyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Talbot Arms Uplyme, Lyme Regis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing