We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“" Good Stay"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Steventon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Steventon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“" Good Stay"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

First impression on arrival very good, lovely period builing in well kept grounds, welcome by receptionist was very warm and welcoming,

Room very nice and spacious, bed and pillows very comfortable had a very good nights sleep.

Had evening meal on Saturday night, food of very good quality, my starter of feta cheese and tomato tart was a little dissapointing, the other starter was the asian platter which was presented excellently and my partner thoroughly enjoyed. For my main meal I had a fillet steak with diane sauce this I must say was excellent and cooked to perfection. Cannot comment on desserts as we opted out. Coffee and petit fours served in bar area to finish of the evening home made biscuits and chocolates were amazing. Breakfast was also very good full english taken.

Overall stay was enjoyed and definately will be returning again.

The only negative comments and these are minor, the valance sheet on the bed really could do with a wash black marks and stains on it, and light fitting in room kept flickering.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    47
    30
    12
    10
See reviews for
47
61
6
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
rob140567
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

I stayed one night and had room 17 in the annexe. Room cost £100 for the night and was really comfortable with a very nice huge bed. Only thing that let the room down was fungus growth on the bath plug and skid marks in the loo. Staff were really friendly and although bar lacked a bit of atmosphere was good value. I did not eat but had a sandwich from room service which was good value for £10.

I have rebooked and will use again

Room Tip: Annexe rooms very quite but lighting outside not superb so watch your step
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed for 4 days at this delightful hotel in a very good location in very close proximity to the A34.
The bedroom we had was in the annexe and was really beautiful, with an amazing amount of drawer space together with a good sized wardrobe. It was a very spacious bedroom with a very comfortable king sized bed. The en suite was luxurious and of a high quality with a bath and shower. The shower was much better than most of the hotels we have visited.
The quality of the food was exceptional, a very good choice, well cooked and imaginatively presented. The staff were very nice and very friendly and did everything to make this a very enjoyable stay.

Whenever we are in this area , we shall definitely stay again and would recomment this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17, which was in the annex and on the ground floor. It was a lovely room and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maesy359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

As a company, we visit Oxford regularly and are very disappointed when we can't get a room at the Steventon. The general ambience is lovely, the food is excellent and the staff are friendly without being overwhelming. We always have a restful nights sleep, especially thanks to the cosy duvets (they are like being enveloped in a cloud!). We will continue to book and would highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We had our wedding reception there in August and we stayed the night there and a lot of our friends and family stayed between 1 and 2 nights there also.
Everyone had a great time and all the guests told it was a great venue they thought it was.
All the staff worked really hard on the day to make our wedding reception everything we wanted and all of our trips before hand to discuss options and go through things were really helpful. It meant that on the day I had no concerns about the running of the reception and the timings.
The food we had was delicious and all our guests were impressed with the quality and portion sizes of the meals.
The guest rooms were all a really good size and breakfast in the morning was also good quality.
I am so glad that we had our wedding reception there and as a venue to get married in or to hold your reception, I cannot recommend it highly enough - all the staff and management work really hard to make the day what you want and the conservatory looked lovely in the day with all the natural light and beautiful at light with all the little fairy lights.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

I have visited this hotel twice now, and have had first class service from booking through to my stay each time.The food is wonderful, all staff are courteous, efficient and friendly from managers, waiting and housekeeping staff. The lady who checked me out on the 14th September deserves a special mention for taking a real interest in my experience at the hotel-thank you.
Its rare to find a hotel which provides a comfortable and homely feel- which is so valued and important when you are always travelling and on the road.

Room Tip: Easy to get to Milton park from here and ample parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoriW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We felt compelled to write a review having now visited this hotel several times for lunch - each time the food has been lovely (and good value for money) and the waiting staff have been very friendly and efficient. However, on every occasion our visit has been spoilt by the exceptionally rude receptionist who works at this hotel. Every time we have been here for lunch she is on the desk but can barely be bothered to say hello when we arrive; to be even vaguely pleasant or friendly seems beyond her capabilities. We specifically went to the hotel last Thursday 15th September 2011 to see if our welcome to the hotel was any better but alas it was the same miserable face that met us as we arrived. It is such a shame because the food is of a very nice quality and the other staff are very pleasant. As a result of the poor welcome we've now consistently received we will no longer be giving this hotel our custom. I hope that the management of the hotel are aware that their receptionist has lost them not only our custom, but that of our friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crowmanwob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Steventon
1.1 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel
7.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
8.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steventon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steventon House Hotel

Property: Steventon House Hotel
Address: Milton Hill, Steventon, Didcot OX13 6AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Didcot > Steventon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Steventon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Steventon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Steventon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steventon House Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing