We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for a great day!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alyth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Booked a private room for my Dad's 70th Birthday in June. We had lunch for 22 which was absolutely delicious, he had a lovely day. My mum and him also stayed the night which was a surprise present from my brother and I. The service was so friendly and efficient , we can't thank you enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 425 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

After looking at a few hotels in this area we were accommodated in the Lands of Loyal, Aylth. Despite the hotel being fully booked they managed to offer us a room in their converted Coach House. They did explain to us that there was a wedding planned for the second night of our stay, so we would be unable to use the lounge or eat in the dining room. However, this was to be no problem as they would still be able to give us dinner somewhere in the hotel or in our room. We were happy with this arrangement and looked forward to our two night stay. On arrival the first small disappointment was with the room. While cosy and comfortable the bathroom was a large wet room instead of the conventional bathroom. As this was the only accommodation available and everything was spotless we settled in, although, we did feel that we should have been told when booking that the room they were offering us was designed for the disabled. The next disappointment came that evening as we ordered dinner. The duty manager approached us to ask us where we would like to dine the next evening, at the Club House of the local Golf Course or at the Inn near Glamis Castle. We explained that we had not expected to be leaving the hotel. He was adamant that we would have to but would check with the management about our expectations of dining within the hotel. When he returned he told us again that it would not be possible to dine in the hotel. As we like a glass of wine with our meal we asked about transport to either venue and was told that that would be no problem as he could arrange a taxi for us. We thought he meant that any taxi would be complimentary but on further discussion it became clear that this was not the case. Again, we had little choice but to accept the situation but felt we had been misinformed at the time of booking. These two niggles did take the shine off our stay and that night we decided to book out in the morning and return home a day early. When we informed the charming lady owner/manager at breakfast of our decision to leave and why she was quite surprised and apologetic. Seemingly, we had been misinformed about the dining arrangements and could dine in the hotel after all, either in our room or in the private function dining room. Baffled and confused and already packed up for our departure we left that morning. The hotel is architecturally inspired and furnished with plush fabrics creating a grand but homely environment. The staff are very polite and friendly and dedicated to attending to your needs. Cleanliness is of a high standard and the food is wholesome and good. However, some of the fabric on the upholstery in the public areas is looking a bit tired and dull with wear and tear. Would we return? Perhaps.

Room Tip: Check size and facilities as not all rooms have a bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Lands of Loyal to celebrate my 50th birthday back in May 2014. On arrival we were totally blown away as we walked through the door into the main hall/lounge it really is quite breathtaking, the open fire. the period features throughout, the decor, absolutely everything was fabulous. We could not believe how lucky we were to be staying here. Our room was lovely overlooked the wonderful gardens and was so peaceful. We really didnt want to leave. We decided to have lunch and it was great, served in a lovely light and airy room, huge portions and excellent quality. We also had evening dinner which again we could not fault. We chose two sweets but really one to share was enough! The Hotel were kind enought to accomodate a special request for me and this was a really nice touch. The hotel was busy with a couple of private functions that evening but the staff were attentive without being too much. The small bar area was really nice and relaxing and the staff here were again excellent. Breakfast again could not be faulted and there was no rush over this at all, quite the opposite. This is a fantastic Hotel and we can't wait to visit again. The owner took the time to speak to us at length about the history of the hotel and again nothing was too much trouble. This truly is a special place to stay with wonderful interior and staff.

Room Tip: We had a four poster room which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillybaby2k10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Been a long time since we visited Lands of Loyal but we had a get together the other weekend a dozen or so of us had one of the dining rooms privately to ourselves. Was extremely relaxed, food and wine were excellent, with nothing to much trouble for the staff.
A very special place which an atmosphere that is quite unique.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastLothianGannet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

A very unassuming entrance gives way suddenly to a fantastic main lounge complete with roaring fire - a very warm welcome in more senses than one. The reception and restaurant staff could not have been more accommodating an de certainly felt valued guests.

A great place to bring friends for a relaxing weekend eating good food in a relaxed country house environment that immediately felt like being at home. Our room was very well appointed and comfortable with an impressive four- poster bed and modern bathroom.

Great value!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SilverFox992014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I live quite locally and have only ever had a few evening meals here in the past. My old friend was visiting from Yorkshire this week and as the weather has been wonderful I decided to treat her to a light lunch at this beautiful hotel. She was truly impressed with the grand old hall. I didnt expect to see the fire still burning as it was warm outside but it really gave the place that little bit of extra grandeur (not that it needs it). We had drinks outside - the views and gardens are fabulous - but ate a light lunch (soup and sandwiches) indoors in the hall as it was a tad breezy. The lunch was not 'light' (plenty of salad/fillings and the soup was a meal in itself). We didnt have room for a dessert unfortunately but maybe next time as they sounded lovely. Well worth a daytime visit and we didnt feel under-dressed in our casual clothes. Staff were polite and helpful. Definitely will come back

Room Tip: apologies - I didnt see or sleep in the rooms so should have not clicked on these 2 sections and can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotslassie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We enjoyed the view, the gardens, the quiet, comfortable room and the friendly staff, eager to please. We appreciated less the very poor lighting in the room. But the main problem came when, after telling the staff we were going our for the evening, we arrived back at 10.30pm to find the front door locked and no doorbell. After we banged and shouted for some time, a member of the kitchen staff appeared and said the staff had assumed everyone was in and locked up for the night! He led us round the back of the hotel and through the kitchen area into the hall of the hotel. The information in the hotel room said "If you intend to return to the hotel after midnight please inform reception so that we can make arrangements to have someone waiting for you." And we returned at 10.30 - I dread to think what might have been our fate if we had returned at 11.30!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EdiScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alyth
10.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
811 reviews
19.8 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
20.2 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
141 reviews
19.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,912 reviews
7.6 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#3 of 6 in Blairgowrie
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lands of Loyal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lands of Loyal Hotel

Address: Loyal Road, Alyth, Blairgowrie PH11 8JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie > Alyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alyth
Price Range: $157 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lands of Loyal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, traditional, owner run, country house hotel in pretty town of Alyth close to Blairgowrie in rural Perthshire. Excellent restaurant, food served all day, open to all, families welcome. 17 lovely bedrooms all ensuite with flat screen digital TVs and free wi fi access. Including a specially designed room for wheelchair access with adjacent room for a carer or travelling companionThe area is set on a hillside overlooking one of the three golf courses in the town and has its garden listed in the prestigious Scotland's garden scheme. Events take place locally throughout the year including festivals, concerts and highland games, Dundee and Perth city are both within easy access and Edinburgh and Glasgow are just 90 minutes drive away. The circular walking route, The Cateran Trail goes directly passed the door of the hotel making it a perfect stop for rest and refreshment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lands of Loyal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lands Of Loyal Hotel Alyth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing