We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good choice for dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lands of Loyal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alyth
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
167 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good choice for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great place for a meal. Lounge area before and after meal lets you enjoy time far removed from the modern world. Food was excellent and thought prices were reasonable for somewhere more upmarket than most places around. Service was absolutely faultless - friendly, interested and efficient. We had gone for lunch and disappointingly, they're not geared up for a lighter lunchtime menu. Would therefore recommend it for dinner rather than lunchtime. However have scored this based on the high standards provided.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotsguy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    35
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
81
126
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We just spent 2 days here at my nephew's wedding. It is the most perfect venue for a small wedding. I honestly could not fault anything (which is rare for me!). The staff are so helpful, welcoming and friendly. The food was fabulous, without doubt the best wedding meal I have had.I loved the big fireplaces and old style furnishings etc.The rooms were spacious and well equipped, fluffy towels, dressing gowns and toiletries.It would be worth getting married just to go back!

Room Tip: There is a separate house which is wheelchair accessible and child friendly with separate rooms for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just back from my sons wedding at the hotel on March 28th.What a wonderful 2 nights & a perfect day made more special for the happy couple by the excellent staff & service.An easy atmosphere in beautiful surroundings where you can only be relaxed.The food was superb & the choice excellent.Everyones meals/breakfasts were top quality.The staff are very friendly & most welcoming.Sit by the roaring log fire & just enjoy this hotel experience.
Our room was spacious,spotless,peaceful.Breakfast was 7 till 11,so no excuse for missing their great quality fayre.Staff are very efficient and the excellent service in all areas is delivered in a quiet & friendly fashion.
Everyone was impressed with the quality of the food & the choices available.
On behalf of my son & beautiful new daughter-in-law & family,I wish to thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The location of the hotel is at the end of Loyal Road and is a very peaceful place to visit. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The food is wonderful, good well cooked Scottish, using locally sourced ingredients. The hotel is very comfortable with a great big log fire burning away. I am looking forward very much to our next visit, just to be cosseted by the whole ambience of the place. I strongly recommend this hotel as a place to visit for a very relaxing time.

Room Tip: We had a room with a four poster bed, which was extremely comfortable and very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rollo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, Scotland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Although this was booked through booking.com, the hotel was oblivious to our stay when we arrived. We had the print out to show the booking. A breakdown in communication? Fortunately, there was "room at the inn". In future we shall book direct with the hotel. As previously reported, the hotel is unique. The huge open logged fire is impressive. The owners and staff are very attentive. The meals are not cheap, but the quality is first class. The bedrooms are beautifully old style.
A day's skiing at Glenshee some 30 miles north of Alyth was followed by a relaxing evening.
Quite simply, nothing is too much trouble to ensure you enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 98JHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shopper in Glasgow
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Second visit and we took my parents as a treat. It is just such an amazing place, once inside you just totally chill out. We were in the coach house. My parents had a 2 bedroom apartment with a sitting room, dressing room and fantastic bathroom. Our room was a double which was very cosy. The atmosphere sitting in the lounge is so laid back. The meals at night were fantastic and the breakfast was delicious. The service is very friendly. The only downside was we only stayed one night!!! Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: I think every room would be as good as the next
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taintor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This is not a hotel it is an experience.....A magical hotel with an completely unique philosophy and approach to hospitality. Nothing is too much trouble. Everything is arranged around the needs, comfort and happiness of the guests and the stresses of a normal hotel stay are removed completely. It is impossible not to relax. You don't even have to worry about missing breakfast because it waits for you! The food was exquisite, dinner was beyond delicious, service flawless, staff attentive and wonderfully friendly, rooms and grounds just delightful. We enjoyed every second of our stay and would like to thank the family and staff for a completely dreamlike experience. I don't think I will ever be so impressed by a hotel again, and I can be a fusspot! Go and enjoy the magic!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alyth
10.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
20.3 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
19.8 mi away
Knockendarroch House Hotel
Knockendarroch House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 stars 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
7.6 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#1 of 8 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
18.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 21 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lands of Loyal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lands of Loyal Hotel

Property: Lands of Loyal Hotel
Address: Loyal Road, Alyth PH11 8JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Alyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lands of Loyal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, traditional, owner run, country house hotel in pretty town of Alyth close to Blairgowrie in rural Perthshire. Excellent restaurant, food served all day, open to all, families welcome. 17 lovely bedrooms all ensuite with flat screen digital TVs and free wi fi access. Including a specially designed room for wheelchair access with adjacent room for a carer or travelling companionThe area is set on a hillside overlooking one of the three golf courses in the town and has its garden listed in the prestigious Scotland's garden scheme. Events take place locally throughout the year including festivals, concerts and highland games, Dundee and Perth city are both within easy access and Edinburgh and Glasgow are just 90 minutes drive away. The circular walking route, The Cateran Trail goes directly passed the door of the hotel making it a perfect stop for rest and refreshment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Lands of Loyal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lands Of Loyal Hotel Alyth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing