We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Losset Inn(Alyth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveler rating
278
7
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
7
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseperfect hostsspa bathfour postersingle roomattention to detailhigh standardlarge gardenfresh fruitperfect staytv loungeplaces to visittop classhouse is beautifully decoratedfriendly hostseggs benedictrelaxing weekend
Filter
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 289 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Took a long time to get around to this review. Stayed there last summer, one night, but wished we had stayed longer. Chris and Bettina have created a warm and inviting atmosphere and made us some of the best food we had, while in Scotland. They also indulged us with great conversation and provided valuable sightseeing info. Be sure to pet the adorable guard cats and feed the fish in the pond.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavatronix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

Bettina and Chris Black are lovely hosts. They are well-travelled and have put their experience from staying in numerous hotels into their own B&B. The bed is really comfortable and the decor is nice and bright. The bed has a duvet which is nice as I am not a fan of those fuzzy brown blankets. The room is very clean (I am slightly neurotic about cleanliness and this place passed) and our King Suite (from memory £155 per night) had its own sitting room with DVD player and flat screen TV. They have a DVD collection of over 300 so hopefully you should be able to find something to watch if you are stuck. The bathroom is lovely and light and the room is very big. The pressure in the shower is my only slight criticism. When you lift the button to make the water flow through the shower head and not the tap only 3/4 of the water comes through (I played around with it a bit) but otherwise everything is perfect. I drove to Alyth which is in the South-Eastern Highlands area of Scotland. My partner and I chose this B&B because of its (semi-close) location to Schiehallion, one of the Munros. The mountain is 1 hour and 18 minutes away from the B&B and there are plenty of gold courses around if that is your thing. Bettina is a lady with a huge personality and is very friendly. They have two cats which were not a problem for me even though I am mildly allergic to cats, as they were outside most of the time. The garden is lovely and spacious and the hosts grow their own rhubarb. If you stay here I would definitely recommend eating at the B&B for dinner as Chris is a man who can cook very well and also I drove around Alyth looking for the B&B and I didn't see many restaurants (or any at all - there may have been a grotty-looking pub or two?). Chris and Bettina also have a strong emphasis on local and seasonal produce. On offer there was rack of lamb, gigot of black-faced sheep, asparagus and parmesan tart, pumpkin soup and rhubarb tart with home-made vanilla ice-cream. All the dishes were superb (and I like eating my way around restaurants in London and have become quite fussy). Breakfast is great, the fruit is fresh and tasty and not sour at all like that fruit in London. Chris and Betinna also went the extra mile and printed off some maps and information for us for our walk up the Scottish mountains. Note that Alyth is quite remote (Stirling is 1.5 hours away) so it's great if you want a couple of days peace and quiet or if you are into outdoor things like kayaking, sailing, hiking etc. I would highly recommend a stay here for a couple of days and hope to return.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilikecheesealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

We chose Tigh Na Leigh with the help of Tripadvisor and the excellent reviews turned out to be well-founded. Our room was spacious, modern and uncluttered. The location was perfect for our needs as we were on a golfing holiday and there were 3 golf courses within 5 minutes drive of the guesthouse. Bettina was so helpful in advising us which golf courses to try and how to get there and we'll never forget our day at the highest 9-hole golf course in Perthshire near the Spittal of Glenshee, which Bettina had organised for us. We had the course completely to ourselves on a warm sunny day amidst glorious scenery - perfect. The freshly home cooked meals were first class and both Chris and Bettina were entertaining, helpful and excellent hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenpenOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

What a find! This is the most beautiful guesthouse we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The accommodation and hospitality were outstanding but best of all you didn't even need to leave the house to enjoy a stunning meal at affordable prices, cooked with love by Chris! A luxury home from home! We will definitely be back and have recommended it to all our friends and family!
Thank you Bettina and Chris
Barry and Lorraine x

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazza12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

My husband arranged this break for us as i was celebrating my 40th birthday.
as we approached Tigh Na Leigh we were warmly welcomed by Bettina.
we stayed in the four poster bedded room with the spa bath. as soon as we arrived nothing was too much trouble. their home is your home for the duration of your stay.
the room it self housed the biggest bed i have ever seen it was very comfortable to boot.i have a serious back complaint so i have to be comfortable. the breakfast was excellent and Chris is an amazing chef but on saying that if you have the chance to try Bettinas wild mushroon soup you must it is the best ive tasted.
if you are stuck for things to do Bettina has devised some sheets with have suggested things to do we chose one that included a visit to the smallest distillery in scotland.(have to go).the trips have a little bit of everyting and include driving throught the most amazing scenery.
Chris and Bettina have thought of everything and if you dont have it just ask and its there
the best place i have stayed in this country and i cant wait to return.
i would like to thank Chris and Bettina for a warm welcome and a pleasant stay at Tigh Na Leigh,all the best in the future xxx

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaggs69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews