We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveler rating
289
7
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
7
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housespa bathfour postersingle roomattention to detailhigh standardfresh fruitlarge gardenperfect staytv loungebrilliant hostsnew ownersplaces to visittop classhouse is beautifully decoratedeggs benedictevening meal was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 300 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed in this fantastic little hotel at the end of October, and absolutely loved it....

when we arrived we were greeted by a glass of wine, and instantly made to feel very welcome.

The room we stayed in was awsome, very large comfortable bed and an excellent en-suite.

The evening meal and breakfast on both days were exceptional, hats of to Chris, master of the kitchen...reccomend the chocolate mousse!!!!!!!!!

I work in the tourist industry and stay in a LOT of hotels/ BnB's, and by far this is the best.

Thank you to Chris and Bettina for a wonderful stay, we will most definetly be back.

Alan and Gaia from Edinburgh

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We arrived late on a dark and cold November night and stepped into a wonderfully warm welcome from Bettina & Chris. They showed us around and to our room and it didn't disappoint. The 4-poster bed was HUGE and so comfortable. The decor shows the hard work and dedication they put into the restoration. As does the breakfast! They told us about how many black puddings and sausages they had tasted to get just the right breakfast. And it's definitely paid off. We also had dinner on the second night of our stay. Chris is an amazing chef. We were truly stuffed and couldn't fault anything.
Bettina & Chris are great hosts, a wealth of knowledge about the area, friendly and chatty but not obstrusive.
The Christmas lights were being switched on during our stay and we were invited to watch the parade through the village with a warm glass of Gluhwein. The brass band in the market square definitely put us in the Christmas mood.
All in all we really really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate at all to recommend this wonderful guest house. We can't wait to return, maybe in the better weather when we can enjoy the garden which looked beautiful even in the rain and wind.
We've run out of superlatives so just to end by saying thanks to Bettina & Chris (and Tom the fantastically friendly cat) for having us and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The owners Chris and Bettina have thought of everything to ensure a very enjoyable stay. We arrived on an unusually sunny September afternoon and Bettina immediately put out 2 comfortable chairs in their beautiful garden, for us to enjoy the last of the sunshine. Dinner in their dining room overlooking the garden is thoroughly recommended as they are both keen cooks so we enjoyed an excellent meal and the setting is delightful. We stayed in the 'double room' which was extremely comfortable having 2 comfortable armchairs (often lacking in some hotels) and a very large bathroom. Couldn't fault anything in this delightful house, well deserved of the 5 stars - well done Bettina and Chris and many many thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I booked two nights at Tigh Na Leigh as a surprise for my girlfriend. We were warmly greeted by Chris upon arrival and Bettina showed us to our suite. They are both the most interesting, warm and hospitable hosts you could wish to meet, and made our stay relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable. Even Tom and Bunny (the cats) were friendly!

Both our hosts enjoyed telling us about the local sights and they are a font of knowledge for all walks, amenities and leisure pursuits the area has to offer. Bettina urged us to visit the nearby Reekie Linn waterfall and it was spectacular.

Our room was beautifully decorated, clean, spacious and generally 5* standard. The French linen bedsheets were soooo comfy and the bed was MASSIVE! The food that Chris served us was very, very good; locally sourced (sometime from their garden), perfectly cooked and served in the light, airy conservatory which overlooks the back garden, their pond and the church next door. I would strongly urge future visitors to book their evening meals at Tigh Na Leigh as you won't be disappointed.

Overall, a totally enjoyable stay. I would not hesitate in recommending this Guest House (B&B does not do it justice) to anyone wanting a leisurely break 'away from it all'. We usually stay in 4 or 5* accommodation and this is easily on a par with 5* hotels - perhaps more thanks to the welcoming hosts and relaxed atmosphere of Tigh Na Leigh.

Room Tip: Request the menu when you book and make sure you give Chris enough time to prepare your dinner. He only cooks what you order.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mellordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Our second time here, the first time we booked one night and stayed three! Cannot speak highly enough of the exceptional quality of the accommodation and the standard of the food cooked by Chris. Everything here is first class certainly the best 'guest house' we have ever stayed in. We were with two friends this time and they were equally impressed not only with the food and establishment, but found Bettina and Chris such great hosts. On leaving Tigh Na Leigh I felt once again as I had felt on our first visit, sorry to be leaving but very happy to have met Bettina and Chris and look forward to returning once again.

Room Tip: They are all best rooms !!!!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews