We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magic place”
other travelers have booked this property
A cottage-like wing of Bamff house converted in 2000 retaining many original features.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A cottage-like wing of Bamff house converted in 2000 retaining many original features.
Cosy lounge with wood-burning stove, wifi and tv. The wood-burning stove and tv in the comfy lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
A cottage-like wing of Bamff house converted in 2000 retaining many original features.
Cosy lounge with wood-burning stove, wifi and tv.
The wood-burning stove and tv in the comfy lounge
Twin Room. Beds can be converted into a Superking, on request.
Double room
You have your own picnic table and bbq. Note the sky colour!
The kitchen is well equipped and looks out onto the picnic table and bbq
The porch is a useful space for drying outdoor clothes, dog baskets and watching the world go by
Bamff is one of the very few places to observe beavers in the UK.
The Old Brewhouse even has its own patch of wild strawberries
Wetland restoration at Bamff. Credit Beavers.
Gate Lodge. Follow the track up to the main house for the Old Brewhouse. The Lodge is also available
The big pond on a misty morning
Timber extraction in the small woodland.
The Beaver Hide along the Cateran Trail, a delightful walk around Bamff, minutes from the Brewhouse.
Looking southwards over Bamff Home Farm from Balduff Hill.
The view north into the Cairngorms National Park, from Balduff Hill on Bamff. A super walk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Alyth, Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Piet N
Heteren
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magic place”
Reviewed October 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the old brewhouse with the kids for a week. I can assure it is a magical place to stay. The stunning nature wich you are surrounded within makes you feel like you are in a fairytale. The accomodation has everything you need. The kids went looking for beavers pigs and roedeer. It was the highlight of our holiday in Scotland. Many thanks Paul & Louise & Aileen for your relyable service. We will be back :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2015
We are delighted that your family had such an enjoyable stay at Bamff and thank you so much for taking the time to give some feedback. I hope you will spend many more magical holidays here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsay A...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second stay at the Bamff Old Brewhouse and it was every bit as good as the first.
We struggled with finding the estate the first time, however these GPS co-ordinates should take to right to the estate drive, which is then just a short drive further up, passed the wild pigs and the beaver dam until you spot the magnificent house.

N 56`38.483` W 003`16.183`

From booking with ease, with great communication from Aileen to a beautiful, well equipped cottage this place should be number 1 for anyone who is visiting the area.
This self-catering cottage has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds, and a beautiful roll top bath. Everyone we bumped into on the estate had a kind word and a smile. Our daughter who is 3 enjoyed the freedom of the open gardens, and playing on the trampoline, tree swing and slide.
A great base for travelling around Perthshire and Kinross, or just a lovely place to escape into the countryside for peace and quiet.
We will be making our 3rd booking very soon.
I would 100% rate this accommodation. Simply fantastic.
On a side note: the wifi speed is brilliant, for those that wish to stay intouch with the outside world!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage had everything you could possibly need.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2015
Thank you for your great review! The GPS co-ordinates are a great idea, very helpful - thanks for adding them.
We are happy you had a good holiday and that you found Bamff so welcoming and friendly once again. We look forward to your next visit!

Best Regards
Paul and Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn S
Orkney
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage - fabulous location”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely, cosy, warm and welcoming character property, well equipped and spotlessly clean on arrival, which is important to me as I don't want to spend the first few hours of my hols cleaning up someone else's mess! The booking process was handled very efficiently by Aileen and she was very friendly and welcoming on arrival. The owners, who live on site, are also very friendly and helpful, the evening spent beaver watching with Paul was the highlight of our stay. We loved seeing the wild boar, too, especially the sow with 10 little stripy piglets. We are both keen wildlife watchers and environmentalists with a strong interest in renewable energy, so the Ramsay's Bamff estate was the perfect destination for us (but it's not essential to have those particular interests to enjoy this place!). We had some wonderful walks exploring the estate and beyond, walking to the village through the Den of Alyth is a must for any visitor. I can't actually think of any negative aspect of our visit here, we were well placed for visiting local nature reserves, Dundee, Dunkeld and the Tay estuary, there are lot's of beauty spots a short drive away where one can get out of the car and explore on foot. A memorable holiday for all the right reasons!
K & J.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the delights of Bamff so much, it was a pleasure to be able to share them with you. We hope that we will see you again in the future.
Paul and Louise Ramsay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rittmr
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Magical Experience”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Charming accommodation in a thoughtfully converted building retaining all the best original features. Very comfortable & peaceful. A beautiful setting & a haven for wildlife. Watching the beavers & wild boar was a great experience & we hope to be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: character property, stunning setting
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. We are delighted that you had such a peaceful and relaxing time at the Old Brewhouse. We hope you will come back again soon.

Paul & Louise Ramsay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francine...
Chatillon, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: le cadre et la situation géographique
Liked least: l'absence d'accueil
Traveling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
Chère Madame,

Je viens de lire votre critique à propos de notre logement. Je suis très content que le logement vous a plu et que vous avez trouvé le cadre superbe. Merci!

Je regrette, tout de même, la manque d’accueil. D’habitude nous sommes chez nous et tout s’arrange avec les visiteurs, mais je crois que nous étions en France lorsque vous êtes venus chez nous. Par erreur on n’a rien arrangé pour que vous visitiez les castors. Nous aurions pu arrangé cela. Voir les castors sans guide est possible, mais il faut de la chance et, surtout, se placer sous le vent tout près de l’étang, ou du ruisseau. Autrefois on avait des sangliers dans des clôtures, mais pas maintenant (ou même en août l’année dernière). Quelques uns sont échappés: on les voit, par hasard, dans les bois, comme les chevreuils qui sont partout ici.

Veuillez accepter donc, Madame, mes regrets les plus sincères,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing