We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“very good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alyth Hotel Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Alyth Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Alyth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

10 of us landed in here and got seated without reservations. Extensive menu, good quality food, good portions and friendly efficient staff.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank shelly056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    29
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thankful to have had a discount voucher”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Visited the hotel for dinner with my partner on March 22nd 2014, thankfully we had a groupon voucher as the poor offering we received for dinner would not reflect the menu price, value for money it certainly isn't. Service was prompt and efficient, with a slight feeling of being rushed, part of the deal was wine with the meal, the first glass of White was room temperature the second chilled, red coloured flavourless hot water that was claimed to be tomato and basil soup to start, my partner had a slab of bought in chicken pate, the type I know from my catering experience to contain more pork liver than chicken, butter portions solid and straight from the fridge, hardly practical for spreading on oatcakes. For mains I had what remained of a homemade lasagne that had been over microwaved as pasta and parts of the meat were burnt, as it had been nuked it also meant any sauce that had been in was dehydrated from it using that product, this was covered up with some over grilled cheese, the accompanying garlic bread had been grilled on top but was barely cooked on top, chips to no surprise we're bought in deep fried muck, not much can go wrong with their cooking process. My partner had pork belly which was about 4 hours under cooked, no scoring on fat or any attempt made to cook it crisp as it should be, cooked chewy meat with an inedible half inch layer of fat is far from pleasant, it was smothered in a cream sauce, served with frozen veg, a slice of cooked apple which had not been cored properly still showing part of the bottom stalk, if this has not been cleaned properly and any dirt remained in the outer core there is potential for food poisoning, also to finish the dish was a piece of bacon folded on top, unsurprisingly the fat wasn't rendered and crisp on the bacon either. Neither dish would win any awards for presentation either. First thing you eat with is your eyes. A return from myself and partner will not be imminent, and as I know several people in the area word of mouth spreads fastest on tarnishing a poor reputation. Seating was a bit dark, but at least I got yo enjoy the view of the bar customers smoking outside the window. Severe improvement required!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food - friendly efficent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Enjoyed the meal - had the special for starter and main - was very good. my friend ordered the burger which was huge and apparently also good. Restaurant was busy but service was efficient.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hazel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Value Fish Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

An outstanding and delicious Friday Fish Tea which must be one of the best values in the area it must be the Alyth Hotel..
For £5.95 you get a delicious Battered Haddock, freshly cooked chips, garden peas. Bread and butter with a pot of tea. Fantastic value and all freshly cooked to order.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Group meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Booked the Alyth Hotel for a club social night out. We were greeted with a warm welcome on arrival and shown to our seats. The menu along with the Specials board covered everybody's requirements. After we ordered the meal which arrived swiftly not only did everybody gets their meal together but the quality and quantity ( to be honest personally too much ) was superb. As a matter of fact I know that the Hotel will be on our hit list the next time we go out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K57G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alyth Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Alyth, Perth and Kinross
 
Alyth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Alyth Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing