We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMFORTABLE STAY”
Review of Alyth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alyth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Alyth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hotel itself is clean,comfortable and welcoming.David the manager is hardworking and enthusiastic about his hotel and this has rubbed off on the staff who themselves were friendly and worked hard to please throughout our stay,As previous reviewers have stated I can confirm as someone who has a healthy appetite that the food is plentiful but this does not distract from the quality or the care with which it seemed cooked and presented.
The village of Alyth itself is delightful and quirky, the locals are a friendly sort and there is a strong sense of tradition and it appears to have everything you may need for a short stay.
I would strongly recommend this hotel to anybody wishing a pleasant and comfortable break with good food and service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toffeeskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 238 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great hotel situated in a beautiful village. Stayed as part of a 2 night dbb stay and cannot fault room which was very modern and stylish and breakfast was delicious and a wide choice of options were available. The manager David was fantastic and could not be more accommodating. Dinners were delicious and highly recommend haggis and black pudding balls as a starter!Will definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms at front quite noisy from music from bar next door but not bad enough that we couldnt sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleM1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We visited the Alyth Hotel again on another Groupon deal. The management has now changed hands and they are making small changes. The hotel is very clean and we were given a family room which was amazing to have so much space but also super clean as well. The manager and staff are helpful and friendly.

The food is great and plenty of it, so nice to be served breakfast and not have to get it yourself, so no buffet style here.

It is a lovely place to stop at even if it is only for one night. The hotel has a pub adjacent to the hotel which can be lively with the locals but its all good and doesn't open too late so you will still get a good sleep.

We would go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed on a Groupon deal but added on an extra night. Yes, the hotel is a bit dated but everything was clean, the staff were great and so was the food. Most enjoyable stay and would return. Felt the lounge bar was a bit of a staging post for customers dining in the hotel. A proper separate lounge bar would be better.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel get a bit of noise from the road outside especially as windows are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here on a Groupon deal we got as a gift. There were no doubles left for the weekend we wanted so we were given a family suite. Great friendly welcome and showed to our room - yes maybe the headboards on the beds were a bit dated - but our room had all the things you need for a great stay - Lovely crisp white linen, a great hospitality tray, mini toiletries and what lets lots of other hotels down but not the Alyth - lovely BIG white fluffy towels!! There's nothing worse than little hard towels when you want one to wrap around you. We had dinner that evening food was great - lots of pub favourites and some nice gastro pub options. Husband had the pork belly with bacon crisps and fancy mash, I had the chicken with stornoway black pudding in pepper sauce. Absolutely delicious. Even if our dinner hadn't been included with our deal, the prices were very reasonable. David the owner?/manager? who works incredibly hard and his staff are there when you need them but not in your face. Breakfast next morning was excellent. Alyth is small but we visited Kirriemuir and Blairgowrie both within 10 mins drive and noticed lots of other nice things to do in the surrounding area. Thanks David and the girls for a lovely weekend - we'll definitely be back!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you need a great family suite ask for room 4!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in March and were extremely happy with the hotel. Had dinner there on our first night and very impressed with our meals, both vegetarian choices and very tasty. The bedroom, a double, was a bit small but that's not a problem as we had everything we needed, a very comfy bed, flat screen tv and a good shower room. Alyth is a great little place, the hotel is well-placed next to the village square with shops, a bank and ATM and the bus stop. The bus to Blairgowrie takes about ten minutes, handy for going there for a drink and a curry if you don't fancy driving!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank AliCat062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Visited on a Groupon voucher and it was great value for money. On the positive side, clean, warm and friendly. On the negatives, very outdated and overpriced bar charges. The rooms had nice towels and linen but the furniture and bathroom were well overdue for modernisation. Comfortable bed and central location, though there isn't a great deal to do in Alyth it is a good base from which to explore many other Perthshire locations. We had dinner which was plentiful and tasty (if a little overcooked) and breakfast was first class. Won't be back but in fairness this is due to location as well as hotel condition

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alyth
6 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
4.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 6 in Blairgowrie
151 reviews
4.1 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#4 of 6 in Blairgowrie
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#6 of 6 in Blairgowrie
51 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#2 of 6 in Blairgowrie
143 reviews
9.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alyth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alyth Hotel

Address: 6 Commercial Street, Alyth, Blairgowrie PH11 8AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie > Alyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alyth
Price Range: $74 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alyth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Alyth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alyth Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing