We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay in Alyth”
Review of Alyth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alyth Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Alyth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay in Alyth”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I spent a pleasurable 3 nights here between 14th and 15th Sept as part of a two week golfing and site seeing holiday.The hotel was good in every respect apart from the rather cramped twin bedded room. A plus point was,however, the ensuite with a wonderful shower.Everything else was fine; great breakfast and evening dinner and reasonably priced wine list.
The manager and all the staff we came into contact with were very friendly and welcoming. Our first night was a Sat and there was a real buzz about the place and the dining room was full of locals and hotel guests - a good sign that the place is rated by the local population!
Our days out comprised two games of golf at Strathmore Rannelerroch and Glenisla golf courses(both in great condition and very enjoyable) plus a trip to the retail outlet at The House of Bruar on the A9 (very classy!) and to Blair Castle, also worth a visit

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougmurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    76
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
125
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

What more could you ask for a pleasurable short break, than an old coaching Inn, with bags of character in a pleasant Perthshire village adjacent a rumbling stream.
Add to that heady mix a warm friendly welcome, courteous and kindly staff and a range of locally sourced food, plentiful in portion and at an incredibly reasonable price.

Without question we would recommend the friendly and great value, Alyth Hotel to anyone going to the area, especially walkers (like us) looking for a central location to reach out to the huge choice of hills across Perth and Kinross, Angus and Aberdeenshire, all within reasonable striking distance.

But be warned if you choose the steak pie !! Its a Cow wrapped in pastry and very tasty too!! The Wild Boar burger was also a surprisingly spicy treat.

David and his staff were gregarious, affable and keen to please and after dinner you could relax in the warmth of the lounge or go next door to the adjoining bar.
If your going to this area for whatever reason, do consider staying here as a guest, you will be made most welcome and feel quite at home, thanks to the wonderful staff who really took pride in looking after us.

Thanks to David and the staff

Jim and Sue McHarg

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We loved this wee hotel, excellent happy staff, great food. We had our evening meal and breakfast and couldnt have been happier with the quality of both
Good atmosphere in the bar in the evening. Nice clean rooms.
Will definately be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaz69Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this lovely hotel as we were guests at a wedding at the Lands Of Loyal, which is two minutes up the road. The hotel staff were more than happy to allow us to check in early. We phoned in advance to ask of course. We received a friendly welcome. The room itself was lovely and clean. The breakfast the next morning was very nice and had plenty of choice. All in all a very nice and friendly stay at this hotel and I would not hesitate to stay here again and to recommend to my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My sister and I stayed here as we were attending a wedding in the area . We were given an early check in to allow us to prepare for the wedding along with several other wedding guests . A well priced lunch/ snack menu was available . We were escorted to our room which was clean and comfortable. Choice of Cereals and fruits for breakfast and cooked breakfast served by friendly staff . Will visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roughcaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stopped in here for an overnight on a hiking trip. The hotel is 50 yards from the town square but traffic is sparse so not really an issue. The new manager took us in an allowed us to check in very early as our schedule had changed which was a pleasant surprise. The room was small by international standards but pretty much standard for what you get in the UK esp at a small country hotel. Room was clean, comfortable bed overlooking the river. Standard kettle and a good selection of tea, coffee and cocoa. Shower is an electric unit but gave a nice hot shower. Everything seems clean and new. We didn't have dinner but did have a nice Scottish breakfast. The usual cereals, sausage bacon eggs etc but the scrambled egg and salmon on a muffin was a tasty treat.

Bar and dining areas have a nice ambience and would be a comfortable place to sit and have a meal and a few pints.

Wifi was poor but usable if one sat in the right place. That said the management is upgrading and I expect that there will be hotel wide service soon.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you need or want wifi in your room ask for Rm 7 ,8 or 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighR412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff made our two-night stay enjoyable. Dinner and breakfast were very good too. Parking was easy. Lots of useful tourist and activity information available. only negative: couldn't connect to the WiFi, unfortunately, even in the lounge.

Room Tip: No gym or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alyth
0.5 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
9.6 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 6 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
9.2 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
12.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alyth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alyth Hotel

Property: Alyth Hotel
Address: 6 Commercial Street, Alyth PH11 8AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Alyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alyth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Alyth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alyth Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing