We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Tasty Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fountain Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tenbury Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fountain Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very Tasty Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We are new to this area of the country and were staying with friends. Popped in for lunch, friendly welcome and a good selection of beers. I tried the foot long hotdog which was deliciuos, and definitely a foot long! My wife had a mushroom omlette which she thoroughly enjoyed, while our friends tucked into chicken, bacon and mayo sandwiches. The food was well presented and the service prompt. The prices represented good value for money. This pub is a little out of the way, but worth finding.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broadhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    27
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
43
9
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My Cousin had his Wedding reception here in September. On arrival we thought what a pretty place, great for photos, which it was. But under the surface it wasn't all it seemed, staff were disorganised (for a wedding) Buffet lunch was lovely.
But unfortunately my Cousin special day was tainted buy someone helping their selves to approx 9 wedding cards containing money :( how disappointing for their 1st day as Mr & Mr...
The Fountain mite I add charged them for the use of the wedding post box, which the Fountain left out on a table all nite for someone to help their selves too... Surely if a couple have spent so much money booking a wedding with a pub/hotel then surely the venue would be responsible to remove the post box to a safer place out of reach of other guest, until the morning after the wedding.
Giving it to the new Mr & Mrs their selves...
Disappointed that this terrible incident still hasn't been settle a month on..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sade179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We go to the fountain on a regular basis - whether it be Sunday lunch or a meal out! We are always welcomed and the food is always lovely. We take the kids and nothing is too much trouble for the staff! A lovely place to eat with fabulous staff!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxton, notts, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Fountain Inn where we stayed in the bridal
suite which was wonderful, clean and comfortable with jacuzzi bath. We ate both evenings
there and the food could not have been better, great steaks cooked to our liking, fish cooked to
perfection and very reasonable prices. Breakfast was also very good, kept us going all day.
The host and staff where very nice people and could not help you enough and i would like
to thank them for our lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

my son had his wedding there so we stayed there with our 2 children 10 and 12 the rooms
were so cold that we didnt sleep all night and my son rented a post box so people could put there cards in and some one broke in it and stole some of them 300 pounds in all and the fountain did not want to know my son and his wife worked so hard for this such a shame thay ended up in tears

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dawnwilso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed in the bridal suite the rooms were cold the jacuzzi didn't works and I hired their post box so my guests could post their gifts in there 6 cards were stolen in which my guests told me how much was there which amounted to at least 300 quid the fountain haven't helped since and the police didn't want to know. Try having.your new wife cry in front of you without feeling so helpless. Not happy

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Stude1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromyard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We discovered the Fountain Inn 2 months ago when friends touring the area invited us to join them. We were extremely impressed. The historic building is full of interest. We had lunch specials (Tueday, Wednesday and Thursday) £5 for one course. Remarkable value. We had variously a pasta dish, a Stroganoff, a fish pie and I had the brunch which was enormous. Staff (local girls) were efficient and pleasant. We have been back twice since with other friends who were equally impressed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenbury Wells
3.6 mi away
Talbot Inn
Talbot Inn
#1 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Rose & Crown
#3 of 5 in Tenbury Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
1.7 mi away
Brook Farm
Brook Farm
#4 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Townhouse Ludlow
The Townhouse Ludlow
#7 of 48 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Salwey Arms
The Salwey Arms
#17 of 48 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tally Ho Inn
Tally Ho Inn
#2 of 2 in Broadheath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Property: The Fountain Inn
Address: Oldwood, Tenbury Wells WR15 8TB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Tenbury Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tenbury Wells
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Fountain Inn Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing