We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch at the Fountain Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fountain Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tenbury Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fountain Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Bromyard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Fountain Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We discovered the Fountain Inn 2 months ago when friends touring the area invited us to join them. We were extremely impressed. The historic building is full of interest. We had lunch specials (Tueday, Wednesday and Thursday) £5 for one course. Remarkable value. We had variously a pasta dish, a Stroganoff, a fish pie and I had the brunch which was enormous. Staff (local girls) were efficient and pleasant. We have been back twice since with other friends who were equally impressed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    27
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
43
9
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed overnight. We ate in the bar with our young family, the menu was fine.
However my main complaint would be with the standard of our room, it was basic. There weren't duvets on the bed, just a sheet, fleece blanket and a thin cover. We felt cold and didn't get a good nights sleep. I've paid the same amount of money for B&B and had much better rooms than this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I went with friends for a casual evening meal. We got a friendly welcome and the service was kind and attentive, but both the "real ales" were "off" leaving me as a beer drinker with no option but "keg" or "bottled". To run out of one ale could be forgiven but to be out of both shows poor management somewhere. The steaks were fine and correctly cooked to order but the fish and chips was well overcooked, with the batter dark brown and hard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaffer837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

My family and I had the great pleasure of staying here recently, the accommodation was clean, comfortable and well equipped. The staff were incredibly polite and helpful - nothing was too much trouble.

If you are looking for a quaint, oldy, worldly place to stay, then look no further The Fountain Inn is full of charm. The grounds are super with a totally enclosed grassed garden which hosts a kiddies play area which is completely safe and well maintained.

Breakfast was lovely and everyone was catered for according to their dietary requirements.

You are on our list to revisit. Many thanks

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmartindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We went for a meal at the fountain on bank holiday Monday. As a family with small children (18mths and 5yrs) we always struggle to find somewhere suitable that we can sit and relax knowing the children are safe and enjoying themselves too. That is until we went to the fountain. The garden area is superb, large trampoline and adventure house with swing and slide which the children loved, aswell as plenty of room to run around, but the best part was that we were able to sit out with the children and be able to see them wherever they were playing. As for the meal well that was fabulous too and very reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon, we will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sammig82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have used this Inn several times over many years but recently before visiting friends in Tenbury Wells, we needed to eat. We rang The Fountain at very short notice on a Saturday evening to see if they had a table for two and fully expected them to say no. Fortunately, they were able to accommodate us and we arrived within the hour. We had a table in the main bar area by the fire, which suited us very well. We chose the gammon steak with chips, mushrooms, onion rings and tomato which arrived quite quickly after ordering and had been freshly cooked. It was delicious. Most of the meats are locally sourced and are a good quality. The local ale is kept in very good order. Staff were friendly and attentive even though there was a hen party being set up in the function room at the rear of the building. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindyloo5200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stopped off at this pub on route to ludlow. A place with a lot of history and even a resident ghost! We recieved a very warm and friendly welcome. There was a good selection of food on menu and a specials board. The prices were very reasonable. There was background music being played but it wasn't too loud, so we were able to have a conversation easily. The food was freshly cooked and didn't take long to arrive. Excellent value for money, we were very pleased with our meals, both quality and quantity wise.The atmosphere was great and the staff friendly, polite and helpful. There is also a function room and it does accomodation (although we didn't stay over so cannot say what that was like). The garden is quite big and in the summer it would be lovely to sit outside where there are tables situated. Plenty of parking available. Families are very welcome here and they take telephone bookings for tables. Real local ale is available. Will definately be returning for another meal in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenbury Wells
3.6 mi away
Talbot Inn
Talbot Inn
#1 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Rose & Crown
#3 of 5 in Tenbury Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
1.7 mi away
Brook Farm
Brook Farm
#4 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Townhouse Ludlow
The Townhouse Ludlow
#7 of 48 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Salwey Arms
The Salwey Arms
#17 of 48 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tally Ho Inn
Tally Ho Inn
#2 of 2 in Broadheath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Property: The Fountain Inn
Address: Oldwood, Tenbury Wells WR15 8TB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Tenbury Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tenbury Wells
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Fountain Inn Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing