We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little pub”

The Ship Inn at Tenbury Wells
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tenbury Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ship Inn at Tenbury Wells
N Lincs
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely little pub”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Popped in on the off chance looking for a coffee. V attractive small pub with an open fire which was just what we needed on a freezing cold morning. Clearly used by locals for Sunday lunch. Small dining area takes up most of the place.. V friendly staff and from what I could see of the food it looked v good. Could happily have sat in there all day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljrNLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
shrewsbury
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

stayed for one night & found that the hotel was charming & friendly,the landlord being very down to earth & pleasant.Eileen the no.1 bar lady was wonderful company & deserves a lot of credit for making every-one feel at home(thanks for a nice night)
the room is very nice but had trouble with the window blinds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

It was Ludlow Food festival weekend so needing a place for dinner outside the town we were lucky to have the Ship Inn reccomended to us.We booked a table and the venue was a lvely old pub with a great menu.
The staff and the landlord were attentive,polite and efficient.The food was delvered in good time as individually cooked and well worth the wait.The food was great value and so tasty, above the norm definitely not your ' pub grub' fare. Although not able to comment on the accomodation, anyone staying here would of course enjoy the meals offered in addition to the rooms.
A reservation and meal here is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MXX85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at The Ship Inn for the Tenbury beer festival. We had a great weekend,wonderful atmosphere and felt like locals by the time we left!
The food was tasty and reasonably priced, the village is well worth a visit. The room was bright and fresh.We will be coming back next year if not before!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Charming Inn with a couple of rooms out the back. Lay back manager with excellent staff and resident cat 'Harry'. All added to the character. We enjoyed our stay and would happily return when next in Tenbury (town of my childhood).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WyseOwls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stopped here one night. Great first impression with friendly staff and memorable landlord. Room was on the small side, and lacked shampoo etc, but had tea, biscuits etc. All faults were forgotten on reading the information in the room. So friendly and informative. Well kept Hobson beer accompanied our meal.They use a lot of cream in the cooking, which is not really to my taste, but it was all delicious.
Breakfast was cooked by the landlord, and was served prompt at 7.30 on Sunday morning as requested. One of the best breakfasts I've ever had in a pub.
Would definitely recommend the Ship in Tenbury.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank optom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We visited without booking for Sunday lunch. We were lucky enough to be just in time and for there to be a table available. The dining room was very busy but still the service was excellent. The food was well presented and cooked beautifully....the beef was tender and tasty and I had some of the best 'roasties' i've had for some time!! Spot on!!

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickworcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenbury Wells
6.5 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
3.0 mi away
Talbot Inn
Talbot Inn
#1 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Rose & Crown
#4 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Brook Farm
Brook Farm
#5 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
78 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Hills Farm
The Hills Farm
#1 of 1 in Leysters
40 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tally Ho Inn
Tally Ho Inn
#2 of 2 in Broadheath
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn at Tenbury Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn at Tenbury Wells

Property: The Ship Inn at Tenbury Wells
Address: 63 Teme Street, Tenbury Wells WR15 8AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Tenbury Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tenbury Wells
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship has recently changed ownership and we are now proud to launch our newly refurbished Restaurant and Bar. Along with a completely revised set of Menu's from our Head Chef, Tom Tudor. We offer Fine Dining in opulent surroundings, along with an extensive wine & champagne list. We carry a seasonal Cocktail & Gin menu, infused with fresh herbs and fruits from the restaurant garden. We have 6 en suite period rooms currently under refurbishment, ready for bookings in early spring. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ship Inn At Tenbury Wells United Kingdom - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing