We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection does exist!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brook Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brook Farm
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection does exist!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

My memories of this hidden gem will always be very special as it was the perfect setting for me to propose to my long suffering Girlfriend!

Even without the proposal I scored maximum "Great Boyfriend" points the minute we pulled up!

It doesn't matter why you are going to stay....just as long as you do!

In summary, the location is idyllic to say the least, the gardens are enchanting, the buildings are straight from a fairy tale, and the welcome from Sarah couldn't have been warmer even if you were a member of the family.

Attentive without being over bearing, although close in proximity, you could genuinely feel you are in the middle of nowhere and no one else is about.

We stayed in the Hop Pickers house, which has exactly the right blend of character features with the very latest creature comforts, it is decorated brilliantly without chince or cheese. Clean, tidy, furnished to a high quality, the bed was amazing.... I haven't slept that well in years! There is even a document that details the history of the barns pre-conversion which really makes you appreciate the building and history.

Amazing value for what you get, (don't tell Sarah, but I would have happily paid more!).

I cannot recommend this place enough, we are definitely looking at several return trips, there is so much to do in the area, we basically used the weekend to recharge batteries and just enjoy listening to music (They even provide an iPod and dock) while sat by the wood burner, Or lounging upstairs on the sumptuous settee watching a bit of TV.

For a better than value for money stay in a beautiful part of the world in amazing accommodation I have to say this place cannot be beaten...... Actually should I rave so much about Brook Farm, if you all listen to me there won't be any vacancies next time I try to book!

Sarah should be so proud of her little haven, keep up the good work and don't change a thing!

Room Tip: Hop Pickers was amazing, didn't see any other of the accommodation but I know it will be of equa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahwint, Owner at Brook Farm, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Gosh thank you! It's always a little bit terrifying when a review alert comes through - my heart leaps into my mouth. But happily it is now back where it belongs feeling all warm and lovely :-) Thank you - and Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
61
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We've just returned from 5 nights B and B at Brook Farm. We found it very comfortable and relaxing. Fabulous breakfasts, and it is hard to think of anything more Sarah or Wills could have done to make our stay more enjoyable. They are so obliging!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipHarbord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahwint, Owner at Brook Farm, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hello and Thank You! It was a real pleasure to look after you for a few days - I am very lucky with the people who choose to come here :-) Thanks for taking the time to write a review x Sarah x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

2 nights in Aug 13 spent in the beautifully situated hop pickers cottage. It's decoration is simply beautiful as well as practical. Lots of thought gone into this cottage and it shows. Little touches like the complimentary cake and breakfast basket made this stay excellent. The cottage was very clean and tidy the bathroom simply stunning. We enjoyed lovely local walks picked out from the information leaflets and maps provided. Sat outside in the sunshine on the decked seating area for our breakfasts and lunches. The surrounding land is home to beautiful wooded areas with little surprises to find in the clearings. Amazing stay thank you so much, you put hotels to shame! We hope to stay there again soon.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahwint, Owner at Brook Farm, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Excuse the late response - we're on holiday ourselves at the moment! So very nice to receive a review while we're away to remind us to go home and carry on! Thanks for posting your pictures too. Not sure it's perfect but we're doing our best! Will be very happy to welcome you again. Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

My boyfriend took me here for a surprise weekend, and it was beautiful. The house we stayed in was decorated beautifully with lots of little touches that made it even more perfect. The gardens are absolutely gorgeous, we could have spent a couple more days there just walking around the grounds and surrounding area, even in the rain!

Sarah and Willy are lovely and really helpful - we will most definitely be vising again, hopefully sooner rather than later!

It was the perfect weekend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahwint, Owner at Brook Farm, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for that. The Hoppickers is really very special. I call it 'lustic' because it is a bit too special to just be rustic but isn't conventional luxury. So glad you enjoyed it ....Clever boyfriend to choose it! We'd love to welcome you back again. Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed for three nights in early September - autumnal enough for the woodburner to be on. Brook Farm is a lovely old house and Sarah welcoming and charming. The guest part of the house is extremely homely (so many gardening books...) and we very much appreciated the many 'little touches' which made it special (sloe gin on the table, chocolates, candles etc. Lots of cats and an aged dog, donkeys and sheep, low doorways and a well-lived-in feel - we liked it a lot and intend to return.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms - you can opt (as we did) to book both rooms and have the whole guest wing to ourselves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Exeter_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahwint, Owner at Brook Farm, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review - Glad to see the Damson Vodka getting another mention!
And all my 'little touches' which so many people comment on and is the very best part of this job - going shopping and making the place look pretty! Thanks again, Sarah .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our second visit to Brook Farm and it will not be our last. We have stayed in many B&B's in recent years (many of them excellent) but this is the first time we have returned to somewhere so quickly & we are already making plans for subsequent visits. Sarah & William are warm & thoughtful hosts who share their lovely home & garden generously and with much attention to detail. Guests have 2 delightful bedrooms to choose from, with both a cosy private lounge & delightful dining room all located in one wing of the farmhouse. We enjoyed an evening glass of wine in the sunny garden before tucking into a delicious platter of meats, cheeses, fruit & homemade chutneys provided by Sarah all rounded off with the damson vodka (also homemade). Diets fly out of the window here...tea and cake on arrival, chocolates in the lounge plus several lovely breakfast choices to work your way through ( you would need to stay at least 4 days to sample them all!) Fabulous!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahwint, Owner at Brook Farm, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you lovely people! It's wonderful to get these great reviews but even nicer when people come back again! We look forward to next time. Thank you Sarah x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent four nights in the sweet Hen House self catering cottage at Brook Farm and would highly recommend it for anyone wanting a friendly, characterful and comfortable home away from home. We travelled up from Cornwall, stopping along the way to explore and break the journey, so by the time we arrived we were quite tired out. Luckily, Sarah provides a super basket of local produce as a welcome gift, so we were able to feast on bacon, sausages, eggs, mushrooms and tomatoes, all mopped up with thick chunks of fresh bread and local butter -YUM!
There was also a delicious lemon cake and all the basics (tea, coffee, milk, cereals etc) ready and waiting in the cosy kitchen and, even better, we were invited to go and help ourselves to the fresh fruit and veg growing so abundantly in the magical gardens!
The cottage was warm and welcoming and full of quaint and quirky little touches whilst being completely functional and easy to use as a base from which to explore the many local attractions. The bathroom is large and airy, with plenty of piping hot water and a nice powerful shower, whilst the romantic bedroom is most relaxing - the bed is just so comfortable and it's heavenly to peep out of the little window in the morning and watch the hens busily scratching around looking for worms under the roses on the arch.
I loved my early(ish) morning walks through Sarah's enchanting garden with our aged Border Terrier, who suddenly found a new lease of life exploring the multitude of new smells!
Sarah and William were perfect hosts - they were there to welcome us but then left us to our holiday without fussing, although if there was anything we needed they were always available at the drop of a hat.
All in all, I can't fault this tranquil haven as a holiday base and there are so many places to visit within the area that you simply wont have a long enough stay - we didn't!
Thank you to Sarah, William and dear soppy old Harry the dog for making us so welcome!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 81SB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahwint, Owner at Brook Farm, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
And another big thank you to you! I'm so glad you enjoyed the little Hen House and all the bits and bobs! And great that you like the area too especially coming from sunny Cornwall which I would love to visit more often. I very much appreciate your detailed review and hope it gives a real flavour of the place to future potential guests. We will be very pleased to see you again, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenbury Wells
5.6 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
6.4 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
5.6 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Talbot Inn
Talbot Inn
#1 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Salwey Arms
The Salwey Arms
#18 of 48 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Hills Farm
The Hills Farm
#1 of 1 in Leysters
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Farm

Property: Brook Farm
Address: Brook Farm Hayes Lane | Berrington, Tenbury Wells WR15 8TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Tenbury Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tenbury Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality B and B in the 16th-century farmhouse, set in eight acres of gardens, woodlands and meadows, in the heart of The Welsh Marches, close to Ludlow's restaurants. There are two bedrooms with their own bathrooms, a separate dining room and a guest sitting room with book-lined shelves and a wood burning stove. We have two one bedroom self catering cottages (the Hen House and the HopPickers) in the grounds, where dogs are welcome. We are keen gardeners, and our garden has featured on the front cover of the National Garden Scheme guide, and in English Garden magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brook Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Farm Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing