We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”
Review of Talbot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Talbot Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Talbot last weekend on a deal though secret escapes. The Inn is gorgeous, we spent the afternoon huddled up in the snug having a few bevvies, before having a nanna nap before dinner. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have stayed in at least this year, if not longer. Cannot fault the staff who were all round awesome, even calling us before we checked in to see if we wanted a reservation for dinner!

Dinner was, really, quite amazing. We missed out on the scallops, but our starters and mains were to die for. But the highlight was the desert - blackberry jelly with lemon curd and meringues. Still making me drool just thinking about it.

Our room (4) was lovely, very quiet. The bathroom was a bit small, but the shower was lush.

Breakfast - tasty, but not as good as dinner. My pot of tea never made it to the table, yet other groups got theirs, and my egg was more hard boiled than poached. Nice sausages.

All up - I would definitely recommend The Talbot, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DivineMrsE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbotinnnewnhambrid, Owner at Talbot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Monday just got better! Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all aspects about the Talbot from our lovely beds to our even lovelier and hard working staff! Please do come back and stay again soon! Kind regards, Ian Dowling, owner,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 287 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a very pleasurable weekend at the Talbot. It is a quaint, eye catching Inn, not pretending to be something it isn’t, nor trying to punch above its weight. Offering a good standard of accommodation ; attractive, clean and comfortable at a reasonable price. The restaurant offers a diverse menu of good quality food to suit all tastes, which is both well cooked and presented. The small residents “snug / lounge” is comfortable and quiet offering a retreat from the bar which is well appointed and homely with a fine selection of beverages ranging from local beers to fine wines. Perhaps the Talbot’s greatest asset is its staff. We found everyone very friendly and willing to help, nothing was too much trouble. We would have no qualms in recommending the Talbot to would-be guests and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbotinnnewnhambrid, Owner at Talbot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and everything about the Talbot Inn. Our team work very hard to make sure all our guests are looked after and it is always very pleasing when our guests acknowledge the hard work they all put in - thank you. We do hope you return soon! Kind regards, Ian Dowling, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I booked The Talbot Inn as a last minute choice via Secret Escapes for our wedding anniversary, we have not explored this part of the world despite it being on our doorstep!

From the minute we checked in to the minute we left, it was a delight. A warm and friendly welcome awaited us and we were escorted to room 7. A beautifully decorated room overlooking the car park and junction. We had 2 lovely seats in the window so sat and enjoyed a bottle of prosecco looking out onto a field of cows and enjoying the view. The TV in our room wasn't working but we don't watch much TV anyway so all the more excuse to sit and gaze out of the window! The room was very good, comfy bed and pillows and fabulous rainfall shower. Yes, there was a bit of noise from the road but we come from the City so didn't bother us at all.

We ate in the restaurant as a treat for our anniversary. A 3 course meal for the 2 of us and a rather enjoyable bottle of Rioja cost us £80 which was a really good price for the quality of food. The dark chocolate and rosemary tart for dessert was incredible, so much so that I had to swap with the hubby half way through because he couldn't resist trying it, but his cheese board was an excellent choice as well so no hardship for me!!

All in all, a real gem of a find for us and it gave us an excellent base to explore the local area. Thanks to everyone at The Talbot Inn for making our anniversary weekend so special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon_Jel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbotinnnewnhambrid, Owner at Talbot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review your celebratory weekend break at the Talbot Inn. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed everything that the Talbot has to offer. We will be running a number of different offers throughout the Autumn and Winter months so please do come and stay again with us! Kind regards, Ian Dowling, owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Called in on the off chance for Sunday lunch. Most pleasantly surprised! Polite welcome and friendly service from the bar staff. In addition to the ubiqititous Sunday roasts, there were some interesting starters and good main course alternatives. A sensible pricing structure ensures real diners are attracted, rather than the bargain basement diners who judge more by the volume on their plate, than the quality of the ingredients.
The kitchen displays some skilful touches and the vegetables were the best we've had for a long time. A most attractive conversion of the old landmark makes it a very nice to visit for a seriously good meal! We'll definitely be back.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank cannytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbotinnnewnhambrid, Owner at Talbot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent Sunday lunch with us and many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are in the process of changing our menu and introducing some new dishes to reflect the changing seasons so please do come back and visit again soon.! Kind regards, Ian Dowling, owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were touring to a number of venues around England with my parents and we were so pleased we chose this Inn with it's excellent rooms and high decorative standard. Food and staff were very good and the housekeeper particularly informative, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faye D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbotinnnewnhambrid, Owner at Talbot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our individually decorated bedrooms. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Ian Dowling, owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We really welcomed the new Talbot and had some good food. We took our son and his young family for Sunday lunch and were very disappointed. The portion size was smaller than usual -very few vegetables and beef looked shrivelled. Our major problem, however, was service. We were asked if the children should be served their meal with our starter and as they were 3 and 1 we said 'yes'. In the event our starters arrived with no sign of the children's food. They shared our bread to keep them happy. To cut along story short the children eat their meal before we got our main and were ready to go!
Not a good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mch826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbotinnnewnhambrid, Owner at Talbot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

I am sorry you were disappointed with your recent meal with us at the Talbot Inn. However, i am struggling to understand exactly what happened during your meal for you to write this review. You say the children were hungry and did not get their food as requested with your starter. Yet, when their food was served between your starter and main you have stated that they finished and wanted to go home? Surely, this would have happened even sooner had they been served their main meals with your starter? Anyway, if we agreed to serve your children's main courses with your starters and we didn't I can only offer my sincere apologies. As for the quality of the food, we only buy the best local beef (Sirloin) and Pork (loin) and again, can only apologise if you were not satisfied. We rarely have complaints about the quality of our food.

Obviously I like all our customers to leave satisfied so therefore could I ask you to call me directly at the Talbot Inn on 01584 781941 in order for me to address this.

Kind regards, Ian Dowling, owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

What a super find! We thoroughly enjoyed our two night break at the Talbot Inn. Had a standard room - very comfortable and clean with a great shower and a lovely touch that there was a bottle of mineral water left in in the room each day. Teeny weeny niggle that the road outside is a bit noisy but this is a coaching inn so you have to expect that it would be on a main road.
The cream tea on arrival was another nice touch and very generous and the evening meal we enjoyed in the restaurant, while not cheap, was exceptional quality and beautifully served. Breakfast too was a treat, you can really taste how fresh the food is.
All this topped off by a great team of friendly and hardworking staff.
We hope to be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbotinnnewnhambrid, Owner at Talbot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review your weekend with us, I am delighted to hear you had a good stay with us and enjoyed everything the Talbot has to offer - great food, lovely rooms and friendly staff! We do hope you return and look forward to welcoming you back .
Kind regards, Ian Dowling, owner,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenbury Wells
8.9 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
2.9 mi away
No photo provided
Rose & Crown
#4 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
11 reviews
0 mi away
Wigley Orchard Holiday Park
Wigley Orchard Holiday Park
#2 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Brook Farm
Brook Farm
#4 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
78 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hidden Valley Camping
Hidden Valley Camping
#3 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
8 reviews
4.8 mi away
St Michaels Holiday Park
St Michaels Holiday Park
#5 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Inn

Address: Newnham Bridge, Tenbury Wells WR15 8JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Tenbury Wells
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tenbury Wells
Price Range: $95 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Talbot Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Inn is an iconic 19th century building located in the stunning Teme valley. Sympathetically restored by its current owners, the building encapsulates an eclectic mix of tradition and rustic charm to provide a very comfortable but informal interior. The seven bedrooms are all designed with individual pieces of furniture and soft furnishings along with stone en suite bathrooms fitted with high quality over head showers (some baths as well). Our food is modern British in style and very much favours the abundance of superb fresh produce available in our local farming area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Talbot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Inn Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing