We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vallecito Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Spruce RV Park & Cabins
Bixby, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our first stay at Blue Spruce. We originally were going to Estes Park but the flooding hit and made it impossible to go to that area so we changed our plans to this area. It was a bit of a drive off the beaten path but well worth the wait. The RV sites are below an amazing canopy of trees as the name implies. There are rocky outcroppings on some of the sites, the landscaping is gorgeous. We were impressed with how beautiful this park is. Our site and others were clean as were the showers, and laundry. There are doggy doo disposal stations placed throughout the park with plastic bags.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
It is situated on a county road but it is quiet with little traffic. The National Forest entrance is just a mile down the road. It took us about an hour or so to get to Durango then another hour or so to go on up to Silverton. It is a good place for home base and day travel to other towns.
If I had to pick a negative it would be that the lake was low and there is a lot of old burned areas on the surrounding mountains. I would definitely recommend this RV park and we plan to return in the future. I will say though that we did not look at the cabins so we cannot comment on them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IGmom04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    6
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We spent a delightful few days at Blue Spruce in late August '13. When we arrived, we were impressed with the huge trees and the cleanliness of the park. We settled in to our reserved site, but after walking around a bit (after set-up, of course), we discovered another side - recently vacated - that was even bigger and prettier. A quick trip back to the office got us the "OK" to move to the newly-discovered site, and move we did... into site 103

The site was large and beautiful, backing up to their "mountain" and with a large graveled "sitting area" with fire ring... perfect for evening campfires with friends, new and old!

The attention to detail at Blue Spruce is much in evidence with little stone-surrounded planted areas with flowers and native shrubs. There is a perfect picnic place high on a rock outcropping that is easily reached. The laundry room is nice, clean, and in good order. The restrooms/showers likewise are clean and well cared-for. Every member of the staff as well as the owners are delightful... friendly and always happy to help.

As we were leaving Blue Spruce to head over to SE Utah for a few days, we made reservations for another couple of days after we returned from Utah... that was not our original plan, but Blue Spruce was just so nice, we wanted to return.

All in all, a great place within a short drive to Durango and super home base for day trips to Silverton, Ouray, and the surrounding area!

Recommended? Yes sir... highly recommended!

Room Tip: Site 103 was our favorite... Site 90 is nice, too (we stayed there on our return trip)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curmudgeonRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the RV Park this year. We stayed for a weekend the first time a month ago and found it so great we had to return and this time stayed for an entire week. The staff is great, the sites are clean, wooded and have lots of little critters to entertain you.

The restrooms and showers were clean and never seemed to be crowded. there were various activities available to include pool, ping pong, volleyball, a playground for kids, bicycles available to ride and a small fitness center.

The area has lots of hiking, beautiful scenery and quiet. There is a number of permanent summer campers that are more than welling make you feel welcome and help you enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: We have stayed in site 43 and 102 and found both to be excellent locations. The sites (90-104) are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Need to preface this review by saying that I made a reservation for a cabin here, during the time the wildfires were raging and so it was impossible to escape the smoke. If the cabin had been equipped with air conditioning of any sort, things might have worked out. The cabin we stayed in was cute but felt cramped because it had a very narrow hallway that led to the bedroom which was located at the back. In that hallway, the bathroom (super, super tiny and nowhere to put toiletries) was off to one side and a set of bunk beds on the other. Overall, the cabin was well kept, with the exception of faulty latch on screen door that would not lock.Husband, being the handyman that he is, quickly fixed it with a screwdriver. Sadly, the cabins face the county road that fronts the RVpark, and it was mind boggling just how much traffic there was, coming and going til well after dark, as the county road dead ended just a short way up from the RV park. Who would have thought that? We were to stay 2 nights, but on the first night, smoke poured into the cabin and thought we were going to have to evacuate. Had to close windows, which made the temperature in cabin go up to about 85, and it was miserable. Between the heat, the smoke and an ensuing asthma attack, it was not a pleasant stay. The next morning, we went to the management to explain that we could not stay another night, due to the heat, smoke, no air conditioning and my asthma. Technically, they could have held us to our reservation, but they were so very kind and had no problem with us leaving, and refunded our second night's fee. They get 5 big stars for customer service, which means a lot to me. This is a beautiful park if you own an RV, but if you are wanting a cabin, I would not choose this location. We wanted to get away from people, from noise, from traffic, and the cabins in this park do not afford that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Missy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The location is great, the staff was very accomodating, and the cabins were well maintained. However, the two persons cabins have a very small kitchenette. The biggest problem was that there is no bathroom sink. You have to use the kitchen sink for brushing your teeth and washing up.

Room Tip: Get a cabin with a bathroom sink!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arizona96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon, CO
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We rented a cabin (#16) and stayed for three nights. Wonderful place. Very quite and well kept. Ownership/management was great in meeting our needs. Some of the residents are permanent and retired. They were all super nice and made sure we were invited to all of their recreational activities. We played bingo one night (hevent done that in ages) and my 7 year old daughter had a blast. Very close to Vallecito Lake and some real good hiking trails.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mistere92105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had a lovely surprise when we arrived...great places to park up and all in a lovely wooded area. Well run, clean showers and washrooms etc plus a good laundry and shop. Staff were also very helpful and friendly. Great walks a few good places to eat around about and lovely quiet....all that we were looking for!

Room Tip: There were some people winging they did not get the level of electricity they wanted....so best to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Highbank-Condo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Spruce RV Park & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Spruce RV Park & Cabins

Property: Blue Spruce RV Park & Cabins
Address: 1875 County Road 500, Vallecito Lake, CO 81122-8832
Location: United States > Colorado > Vallecito Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Vallecito Lake
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Blue Spruce Rv Park And Cabins
Blue Spruce Rv Park & Cabins Hotel Vallecito Lake
Blue Spruce RV Park & Cabins Vallecito Lake, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing