We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh god no”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Mulberry Tree Inn

Mulberry Tree Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
North
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Oh god no”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Got lumped into going after work for new year. The floor was that sticky I nearly lost a shoe. Drinks were expensive (although that's just Stockton heath). Everyone in there seemed to be looking down their noses at everyone else (although that's just Stockton heath). The entire experience was so unpleasant that I left 5 minutes after midnight so I could start the new year by leaving crap behind me.

I wouldn't go back ever.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimb00b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Mulberry Tree Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Jimb00b,

Thank you for providing us with your review

I can confirm that I have passed on your comments about your visit to the management team and to the Area Manager of the Mulberry Tree Inn who would like to thank you for your feedback and to let you know that they have taken your feedback on board.

We do hope to see you soon at the Mulberry Tree Inn soon.

Kind regards,

John Barras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    34
    15
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“poor stock keeping dirty toilets”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Always lack of drinks other than industrial fiz lager. Will not put a 2nd ale on until you have drunk the previous barrel. Real cider ran out and not replaced. This was a FRIDAY !! Gents toilets smelly. No loo paper or even a lock on the door. Not the great pub it once was. perhaps that is why it was empty.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank alerhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Mulberry Tree Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear alerhunter,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Mulberry Tree Inn in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

John Barras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Should be much better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Mulberry tree hasn't made any significant changes in over 10 years. A pub right at the heart of Stockton Heath should be the place to be on a friday or saturday night but instead it looks tired and dated. Great to watch the football though as plenty of screens.

Sadly the Mull is falling behind as rival pubs/wine bars in the area are stepping it up with refurbishments and modern decor.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DansTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Another visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

An earlier revue of the Mulberry Tree was a snap visit during the day and I had given it a low rating. Following a further visit and in the evening I was surprised to see a vast difference. It was lively and had a good atmosphere. The regulars were friendly and welcoming and is worth a visit.
My suggestion is to take a visit and see for yourself but not necessarily during the day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stocktonplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Little atmosphere. Another beer palace for locals. Typical drinking haunt. A great pity as the pub is a focal point in Stockton Heath

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank stocktonplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Mulberry Tree Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear stocktonplayer

Many thanks for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
I have forwarded it to the Pub Management Team for their consideration.

Kind Regards,

Taylor Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mulberry Tree Inn also viewed

Stockton Heath, Cheshire
Stockton Heath, Cheshire
 
Stockton Heath, Cheshire
Stockton Heath, Cheshire
 

Been to Mulberry Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing