We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A meal for 2” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tom at 101

Tom at 101
Reserve with OpenTable
Tom at 101 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $17 - $31
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Owner - Tom Rogers
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“A meal for 2”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Nothing to write home about here. Starters were the garlic bread with mozzarella and sun dried tomatoes...which was ok but something you can buy at the likes of aldi only a lot more expensive. The other starter was a Caesar salad, again way over priced. We both ordered the haddock fish cakes for main which were not dissimilar to any local chippys, just a load of mash potatoes in breadcrumbs. At nearly 16 quid a pop I'd rather go the chippy. Good selection of wine but again, over the top cost. The 2 stars awarded are purely for the staff as they are quite attentive: thanks guys.

http://www.tomat101.co.uk/files/6613/6641/1275/tom_evening_APRIL_2013.pdf

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    114
    86
    59
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
377 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Poseur's central”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Always popular but certainly not because of the food. Full of poseurs & wanna-be's. Expensive way to be part of the scene or should that be seen?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the food didnt blow me away”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

the sticky chilli beef salad starter was a sticky mess my friend had the fish cakes and she said they were ok but a bit bland so not a great start of and the waiter looked a bit scruffy and his flys were undone ( i dint tell him lol ) ok on to mains ... i had the seabass and to be fair it was lovely my friend had the piri piri chicken and chips and she said that it was ok but prefered Nandos and its cheaper! The pino was about 20 pounds and we sent it back as it was not cold and the waiter looked at me like I was being fussy other than that the whole experience was uninspiring and a bit bland.. if i was writing a school report for one of my pupils it would say " has potential but needs to work harder!"

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank katie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Friendly and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I don't go to Tom's very often but when I do it is better each time. The staff is always attentive. The atmosphere on a Friday evening is superb.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EnergyStudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and service at tom's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Me and a few friends went on Saturday night I had a perfectly cooked duck egg with asparagus and for my main I had 7oz fillet steak cooked just the way I like it the staff are very friendly and helpful had a great time will be returning soon

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom at 101 also viewed

Stockton Heath, Cheshire
Stockton Heath, Cheshire
 
Stockton Heath, Cheshire
Stockton Heath, Cheshire
 

Been to Tom at 101? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing