We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the most beautiful hotels in switzerland”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Soglio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Soglio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2010

The Palazzo Salis is a completely authentic and preserved old palace in the wonderful village of Soglio, at the small Italian end of Switzerland, a 45 min drive from St. Moritz. The wooden and painted rooms are all unique and did not really change since the 19th century, there is a beautiful park behind the building, and exquisite meals are served in the medieval dinner hall of the 1st floor. The whole small town of Soglio has been left completely untouched by mass tourism and yet has been a peripheric perl of tourism to the nearby Engadin for many decades, to be reached only with the yellow post bus or through the scenic hiking trail starting at Maloja. For day tourist: just stop here to have coffee and cake in the hotel's café.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LuKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 60 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2010

We were extremely disappointed by our room at the Palazzo Salis. We hoped to have one of the beautiful rooms on the web-site - all old panelling and antique furniture - and what we got was a dreary attic. The furniture could have come from a jumble sale, the bottom half of the door had been repaired with a sheet of bare hardboard, the bathroom was primitive, it was hard to see out of the small dormer windows, the flimsy curtains didn't meet in the middle. Everything had been done on the cheap.

We were also disappointed by the garden at the back. Gardens are supposed to be tranquil places where you can relax. The first thing you see at Palazzo Salis is a cast-iron pole with a notice on top setting out the rules and regulations you are ordered to obey - just as if you were entering a municipal park. You expect it to list the fine - so many Swiss francs - for walking on the grass.

The dirt bothered us a little. Normally hotels in Switzerland are so clean you could eat off the floors. At Palazzo Salis the family portraits in the public rooms are so blackened - they need cleaning so badly - you can hardly see the faces. If you look at the backs of the pictures from above - they hang out from the wall at an angle - you see three hundred years of dust and grime. There is a fine line between 'authenticity' and squalour.

Palazzo Salis has no parking: in fact the whole village is a no-parking zone. You have to park in the municipal car-park at the entrance to the village and feed the meter. If there is no space left - we got the last one - I don't know what you do. You can't park on the side of the road up to the village: it's zig-zag bends up a mountain-side. Then you hump your bags up steep cobbled lanes - which are very slippery if it rains - from the bottom of the village to the top.

The village is 'different' from all the other villages I have seen in Switzerland. Every village in the Engadine valley is a picture postcard - each one prettier than the last. Every house is beautifully painted, every garden is immaculately maintained, every window-box is full of flowers. The streets exude prosperity, order, well-being. At Soglio half the houses are derelict. Several of them are empty shells without windows or floors. You have the impression that the villagers emigrated en masse, throwing away the keys as they left. It looks like a ghost village. On a dark, stormy day, it exudes poverty and decay.

When I said to the owner that we would like to cancel the second and third night of our three-night booking, she told us - several times over, in two or three different languages - that 'We had a contract' and must pay for all three nights even if we only stayed for one. I protested that the hotel had hardly kept their side of the contract: that they should have provided a room in keeping with their web-site and the price they were charging. It was no use: it wasn't the first time she had used the 'we have a contract' argument. In the end, she wore me down. In a moment of weakness I agreed to stay one night and pay for two if we were 'let off' the third. The result: the highest price I ever paid for a night in a hotel, and the worst value for money. I see now how the Salis family treated their peasant-tenants when they didn't pay their rents.

We left in a rain-storm after breakfast. It was so dark - the clouds had come down to touch the ground - night could have been falling. As we stumbled back down the cobbles, with water gushing in the gutters, we gradually realised that two slightly sinister-looking men were following us. They were flitting through the twilight from one derelict house to the next. As they got closer we realised - from their faces and their movements - that they were almost certainly long-stay psychiatric patients out for the day. I thought, at the time, that they might have come from the ghostly hospital which is hidden among pine-trees at the start of the road up to the village. It probably wasn't the case. But you see the kind of thoughts that spring into your mind as you make your escape from Palazzo Salis.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank OldEnglishParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2006

Soglio has a magic to it that can only be experienced by walking its' narrow alleys and enjoying the breathtaking scenery around it from nearby perches. Though there are a couple other small hotels in the town, I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere but here. It was built in 1630 by Knight Baptist Von Salis, expanded a bit and renovated in a way to accomodate guests, such as adding small bathrooms, but never compromising the feel of the elegant old palace that was home to this aristocratic family. Many art artifacts, sculptures, paintings and murals fill the halls and rooms. In our richly paneled room, #9, was an original bed from the 1600's with Baptist's name carved in the headboard. It didn't squeak or rattle a bit- fine construction! The place is filled with priceless antiques, and you feel very much lost in time strolling the grounds and wandering through the mansion. The gardens in back are stunning and are shaded by massive trees. There's a small playground for children, and at any time goats may descend the hill clanging their bells and greeting visitors. This is a perfect spot for an afternoon lunch- the pasta is wonderful. Same for dinner in a cheery dining room; the dishes are incredible and Italian influences are dominant.There are no TVs, radios or phones in the room. Not luxury by any means, but cozy. The hotel usually had people out front drinking and sharing stories well into the night. That's about as lively as it gets in town, thankfully. We were greeted warmly by owner Monica Cicognani and a great staff. Although we spent a lot of time taking incredible hikes from here, one may be just as happy relaxing in the gardens and enjoying a book in the shade.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank LLindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bru_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank colettez326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir wählten das teuerste Zimmer, aber es sind offensichtlich alle phantastisch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chrigel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gionataLecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Palazzo Salis, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soglio
10.2 mi away
Hotel Solaria
Hotel Solaria
#3 of 3 in Bivio
25 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus
Hotel Waldhaus
#1 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
279 reviews
0 mi away
La Soglina
La Soglina
#2 of 2 in Soglio
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Stua Granda
Hotel Stua Granda
#1 of 2 in Soglio
13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Salis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Salis

Address: Villaggio 131 | 7610 Soglio, Soglio 7610, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Soglio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Soglio
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing