We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
38
22
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
22
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplace to staypastabreadgardenchristiandishesreadingtripadvisorchefmonikamonicavillage
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 67 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This beautiful Palazzo of the 17th century has been entirely restored and is set in the beautiful little town (or rather village) of Soglio, high above the Mera river. The views are stunning and the hotel is situated on a small piazza in the middle of the town. The owners have had the intelligence NOT to gut the entire place and to modernize the rooms, but rather to keep the original rooms with, amongst others, the most amazing original floor boards. The result is that the rooms are perhaps not of the highest standard, but instead you have a unique experience of living in this very beautiful palazzo. Add to that the excellent kitchen, superb breakfast, the lovely terrace and the very friendly service and you have a unique experience in this remote part of Switzerland. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mjelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

It has been a while since I staid at this hotel, but at the time I was not active on TripAdvisor, so I did not write a review. However, the (bad) experience has stayed with me, and I write this review now.

We stayed a weekend with another couple in the autumn of 2010. The town of Soglio is amazing and the building itself is great and has a lot of charm. The rooms are quite big (the ones I saw), but very cold, and the furniture a mixture of antique and something picked up from a jumble sale. The worst part of this place is the owner. Incredibly rude man. The service on a whole was non-existent. This place is not really a hotel, it is closer to a B&B.

We also dined in the restaurant one evening, and the food was very good, but overpriced - just like this place. The only reason I do not rate it 'terrible' is because of the charm of the village and the building that houses this "hotel". Can not recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We just returned from 17 days hiking around Switzerland (6 adults)...and Soglio exceeded all expectations...what an amazing village. My friend Terry said it best...he said he has always wanted to "go back in time"...he said, "we did it." The village was just perfect, the hiking was amazing....and the Hotel Palazzo Salis is the place to stay. First, ignore the shutter island review/comments...very funny and creative, but off the mark. This place is old, historic and beautiful. If you're looking for a Marriott Marquis, then don't visit Soglio. If you want to expeience a village and a culture that has not be destroyed by "progress", then you'll love Soglio (and Guarda...spend some time in the Hotel Meisser as well!!!).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matt723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

The Palazzo Salis is a completely authentic and preserved old palace in the wonderful village of Soglio, at the small Italian end of Switzerland, a 45 min drive from St. Moritz. The wooden and painted rooms are all unique and did not really change since the 19th century, there is a beautiful park behind the building, and exquisite meals are served in the medieval dinner hall of the 1st floor. The whole small town of Soglio has been left completely untouched by mass tourism and yet has been a peripheric perl of tourism to the nearby Engadin for many decades, to be reached only with the yellow post bus or through the scenic hiking trail starting at Maloja. For day tourist: just stop here to have coffee and cake in the hotel's café.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LuKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We were extremely disappointed by our room at the Palazzo Salis. We hoped to have one of the beautiful rooms on the web-site - all old panelling and antique furniture - and what we got was a dreary attic. The furniture could have come from a jumble sale, the bottom half of the door had been repaired with a sheet of bare hardboard, the bathroom was primitive, it was hard to see out of the small dormer windows, the flimsy curtains didn't meet in the middle. Everything had been done on the cheap.

We were also disappointed by the garden at the back. Gardens are supposed to be tranquil places where you can relax. The first thing you see at Palazzo Salis is a cast-iron pole with a notice on top setting out the rules and regulations you are ordered to obey - just as if you were entering a municipal park. You expect it to list the fine - so many Swiss francs - for walking on the grass.

The dirt bothered us a little. Normally hotels in Switzerland are so clean you could eat off the floors. At Palazzo Salis the family portraits in the public rooms are so blackened - they need cleaning so badly - you can hardly see the faces. If you look at the backs of the pictures from above - they hang out from the wall at an angle - you see three hundred years of dust and grime. There is a fine line between 'authenticity' and squalour.

Palazzo Salis has no parking: in fact the whole village is a no-parking zone. You have to park in the municipal car-park at the entrance to the village and feed the meter. If there is no space left - we got the last one - I don't know what you do. You can't park on the side of the road up to the village: it's zig-zag bends up a mountain-side. Then you hump your bags up steep cobbled lanes - which are very slippery if it rains - from the bottom of the village to the top.

The village is 'different' from all the other villages I have seen in Switzerland. Every village in the Engadine valley is a picture postcard - each one prettier than the last. Every house is beautifully painted, every garden is immaculately maintained, every window-box is full of flowers. The streets exude prosperity, order, well-being. At Soglio half the houses are derelict. Several of them are empty shells without windows or floors. You have the impression that the villagers emigrated en masse, throwing away the keys as they left. It looks like a ghost village. On a dark, stormy day, it exudes poverty and decay.

When I said to the owner that we would like to cancel the second and third night of our three-night booking, she told us - several times over, in two or three different languages - that 'We had a contract' and must pay for all three nights even if we only stayed for one. I protested that the hotel had hardly kept their side of the contract: that they should have provided a room in keeping with their web-site and the price they were charging. It was no use: it wasn't the first time she had used the 'we have a contract' argument. In the end, she wore me down. In a moment of weakness I agreed to stay one night and pay for two if we were 'let off' the third. The result: the highest price I ever paid for a night in a hotel, and the worst value for money. I see now how the Salis family treated their peasant-tenants when they didn't pay their rents.

We left in a rain-storm after breakfast. It was so dark - the clouds had come down to touch the ground - night could have been falling. As we stumbled back down the cobbles, with water gushing in the gutters, we gradually realised that two slightly sinister-looking men were following us. They were flitting through the twilight from one derelict house to the next. As they got closer we realised - from their faces and their movements - that they were almost certainly long-stay psychiatric patients out for the day. I thought, at the time, that they might have come from the ghostly hospital which is hidden among pine-trees at the start of the road up to the village. It probably wasn't the case. But you see the kind of thoughts that spring into your mind as you make your escape from Palazzo Salis.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank OldEnglishParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews