We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best steaks...and still from Argentina!”
Review of El Estribo

El Estribo
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Still the best steaks...and still from Argentina!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The squabbling between Argentina and Spain thankfully hasn't yet interrupted the supply of meat! On yet another visit to El Estribo the steaks (bife de lomo) were just excellent: juicy, cooked to perfection, and the serving is ample. No first course or dessert required! The service, as always, is impeccable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cliffordchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    83
    25
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Casares, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“10/10”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

If steak is what you want, look no further than this superb Argentine Steak restaurant situated right on the seafront in Sabinillas. The fillet steak medium-rare is always my choice and I've yet to be disappointed: always cooked to perfection, juicy and tasty.

Service is warm, with a smile and always above average. It's a bit expensive I suppose, but no more so than anywhere else that serves a good quality steak, from my experience.

Always brilliant!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BoneyEyesJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as usual - but still good”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We are fairly regular visitors to El Estribo and always enjoy it. A great setting and excellent atmosphere. On our last visit, the fillet steak was excellent, although the secreto de cerdo was not up to usual standard - rather tough and overdone. Service was good and although the restaurant is not cheap, I thought the price was reasonable overall. So, in summary, I recommend the restaurant, but not in such glowing terms as some of the other reviewers

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank denspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Always Excellent”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have been visiting this Restaurant during our summer holidays for the last 4 years. Always excellent food, excellent service and an excellent view. The best Steak on the Costa del Sol.
Best to book, as most nights people get turned away

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“One of our favourites”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This restaurant is in a lovely location sea facing, it is set out beautifully with clean tablecloths.

service is also very good and the menu has many choices the speciality being steak. We took some guests there for dinner and the service was excellent and we really enjoyed ourselves.

they have a separate area to get the cocktails just perfectly shaken and stirred.
its always busy and this adds to the lovely atmosphere on a summers evening.

Would I go again YES would I recommend it ? I always do

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DuquesaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Estribo also viewed

San Luis de Sabinillas, Manilva
San Luis de Sabinillas, Manilva
 
Casares, Costa del Sol
San Luis de Sabinillas, Manilva
 

Been to El Estribo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing