We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Birthday Treat..”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kitley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kitley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yealmpton
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Birthday Treat..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The welcome on check in was friendly and the reception was warm and cosy due to the log fire. We were shown to our room, which was on the second floor with far reaching views. It was a good size but the décor is a little tired and needs refreshing. We arrived at the bar for a pre dinner aperitif Plymouth Gin and tonic of course. We were shown through to our table and the maître dee was extremely courteous and helpful. We had 3 superb courses and were fit to burst. Superb breakfast in the morning full Devon YUM. All in all would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    168
    58
    20
    8
See reviews for
101
226
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

2nd stay here and again didn't disappoint, this time had a suite on the ground floor, lovely view. The staff are so helpful and friendly, the food was lovely. The cooked breakfast was wonderful, we had an evening meal which was excellent with a good interesting menu available. The hotel is a very old building and has some interesting features, the lovely staircase.All in all a very good stay, we will try to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank city-crystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend stay at Kitley house. It's set in beautiful grounds surrounded by meadows of sheep ,the sounds of pheasants and owls at night . Our room was warm and cosy with the added character of creaky floorboards . The hotel was very clean and welcoming with the open fire to greet you as you enter the front door . The cream tea was absolutely delicious and our evening meal was a superb . The staff were very friendly and provided a great service . Overall we found our stay at Kitley a lovely experience and would recommend it for a relaxing treat away .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BjjPrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We loved our stay at Kitley House. Really good value for money and the food was just excellent. Staff couldn't have been nicer. We arrived dripping wet and weary having been walking for hours to find a log fire burning and a warm welcome even though we turned up a day early on the offchance they could fit us in. Will definitely go back and take the children. I don't care about the paintwork on the window or the small mark on the carpet, it was clean, full of history and a real treat to stay there. Thanks to all who made our stay so special.

Room Tip: We stayed in the attic room which was quiet and really good value. 3 windows all overlooking the pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staplehurst, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

just returned from a couple of days at Kitley. The hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly. The food was excellant, the lounge had a lovely log fire and the dining room had a nice view over the grounds. Our only reservation was that our room was 3 flights up and whilst very clean needed a bit of revamping and t.l.c. We will come again once the upstairs rooms have been
renovated. The area of South Hams was impressive.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms a little drab and need more t.l.c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddynewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

An excellent place to stay, The food is alway superb and the staff are all very friendly.

The bathroom could do with a bit of a revamp, but the place has got lots of character, it provides an opportunity for some lovely walks whithin the grounds..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda A, Front Office Manager at Kitley House Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Steve,
Thankyou for your review of the hotel on trip advisor, we always find comments really useful as it helps us improve our service. We will be undergoing a refurshment
programme soon and this will include our Standard rooms on the second floor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Kitley soon! Best Regards Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We have visited this hotel about five times over the years.
On our visit this time (our first in two years) things had definately changed. I understand that the hotel had to cover a wedding function and a ruby wedding but to stick all paying guests in a small room to be treated like second class citizens and I am not exaggerating, it was really bad there just wasn't enough staff to cater for everyone.
I felt the parties took the priority and as a paying guest I felt we didn't recieve an attentive service.
Our room which was a state room was very nice, but it could of been cleaner as there was dust on the lamps two black hairs in the bath and the shower didn't work.
Food was nice but again I didn't think it was as good as I remembered but it was acceptable.
Would we return I'd like to think that this visit was poor due to the functions on that day and this was a just a one off...I really hope so as this has always been a favourite place of mine.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie-booo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yealmpton
4.1 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
13.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
2.6 mi away
St Elizabeth's House
St Elizabeth's House
#2 of 3 in Plympton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitley House Hotel

Property: Kitley House Hotel
Address: Yealmpton | Nr Plymouth, Yealmpton PL8 2NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Yealmpton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yealmpton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kitley House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kitley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitley Hotel Yealmpton
Kitley House Hotel Yealmpton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing