We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience but...”
Review of Kitley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kitley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yealmpton
Certificate of Excellence
Waalre, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great experience but...”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

At the end of a long bumpy drive you reach a beautiful secluded lush river valley among the trees. The house is monumental. We had one of the smaller rooms in the old servant's quarters - up up two flights of narrow winding stairs. We didn't get the type of room we had requested three months previously although they offered to move us later in our stay. The room was adequate and the bed comfortable but it was a pity that no-one had checked to see if all the lights worked or if the fittings needed repair. The staff were very friendly and prepared to go to great lengths to cater to our (sometimes unusual) needs. We were happy with the simple Continental breakfast with a good choice of bread, muffins etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    170
    61
    21
    9
See reviews for
106
228
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maidstone
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent 4 nights room only in July. The Hotel was originally a grand old house with a lot of history. We were on the second floor and the twin room was comfortable. It was a fair distance and a lot of stairs from reception, no lifts are available. The staff responded well to our request to take bags to our room and a fan to cool the room. The only downside was the breakfast for room only guests which is expensive £14 per head. Go to the local farm shop or nursery for half the price. We had dinner one night in the restaurant, fairly expensive but good quality but a looong wait.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coopermanloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was an overnight treat for a 50th birthday. Lynda the lady I dealt with had organised a birthday card and a complimentary bottle of fizz. A really nice touch.
We stayed in the Hubbard suite which was large and had a vaulted ceiling in the bathroom and views out over the lake.
The hotel is an old mansion house set in large grounds. The building oozes history and it is very restful.
The food and service are excellent, although we only stayed 1 night we fealt like we had a complete break

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jrmplym1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Booked an overnight stay (via a last minute type website - so the price was OK) in what was called by Kitley a 'State Room' described thus on their website: 'There are 4 deluxe State Rooms on the First Floor. These rooms are large mini suites in a variety of individual colour schemes and layouts. The State Rooms in particular feature large full height panoramic windows and each has a lounge area. The beds are mostly kingsize with options for Double or Twin occupancy. The rooms are particularly suitable for families of 2 or more children.'
This, as it turned out, is pure marketing rubbish. The room was not particularly large - it was slightly larger than your average hotel double room. It was not a 'mini suite': one room with a bathroom is not a suite, mini or otherwise, in any hotel. There was a full height bay window which added about 3 feet by 6 feet to the floor space. This tiny additional area, it turned out, was the 'lounge area' which was filled with two small chairs and a little table with the tea/coffee stuff on it. We had a child with us so we assumed that, since the room was 'particularly suitable for families of 2 or more children' there would be plenty of space for extra 'z-bed' arangements. They had put in one extra bed, as requested, (which, by the way, was very uncomfortable and resulted in it being abandoned and the thin mattress being laid on the floor) but that left virtually no spare floor space. 2 extra beds would have been impossible.
The room was all a bit shabby, as was the whole building. There was only one small recessed ceiling light for the room (to get enough light the two bedside lights had to be used). One of the power sockets wouldn't work. There was a most peculiar smell in the wardrobe. The bathroom was fine and the shower was powerful. The hotel's attention to detail was poor: they knew we were a party of three (the extra bed) but they didn't supply extra cups, glasses or tea/coffe stuff - we had to ask for them.
The dinner, however, was very good. I do however, always baulk at the British practice of charging for veg: it's mean spirited. The food was great and the service was very good, cheerful and efficient (Thank you Nathan).
The hotel grounds are pretty but a good, hard working, gardener would be a bonus.
All-in-all, don't expect this hotel to be up there with the great British tradition of Country House Hotels. It's a long, long way from being that despite the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank The-Rupert-Seller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Arrived yesterday for a one night stay to attend a party. On first impressions the house is very large but not as dramatic as other buildings from the same period. The reception area was clean but not very impressive. The staff were friendly enough and got us checked in without problems. We were in room 12 which was a double at the cost of £100. After the long walk up to the top I realised I was in what would have once been the servants quarters, all the decor was old tatty and mismatched all windows and doors were in a serious state of disrepair. The room itself was small with a small double bed and not much else. It was very warm and smelled unusual but unfortunately 2 of the 3 windows did not open one of which was in the bathroom which was again small and basic. The shower head was covered in limescale and water pressure weak. The taps in the basin were also in need of a good clean. The mattress was about as thin as I think they come and the springs were uncomfortable digging into my ribs. The wall paper was most definitely around the same age as Stonehenge and the carpet throughout was not far behind. The bar and function room seem to have been invested in recently but the rest of the house and grounds seem to have been neglected. The bar was surprisingly expensive a can yes CAN of Guinness was £4 and s mohito nearly 8. The breakfast was very nice with all quality ingredients just not very much of it for the money. 1 egg 1 sausage about 3 small mushrooms and some bacon which was a bit greasy, plenty of toast and warm fruit juice though.
All in all I have stayed in better budget hotels for a fraction of the price and will most definitely be looking for a premier inn should I need to return to this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Kitley House Hotel was the venue for the wedding of two very dear friends of mine over the last weekend. We were too late in booking to get rooms at the hotel; but we were there all day and until late in the evening.
The service was superb on all counts. The staff were helpful and friendly, to the point that they actually made a real contribution to the success of the event overall.
The wedding was held outside near to the lake on a small island, which was very picturesque. The drinks were fairly reasonably priced, and the meal was fantastic. Overall, I highly recommend this Hotel for a venue for such events.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is in an interesting country house built in 1825, set in the middle of park and farmland. New owners are refurbishing it and we had one of the older rooms in the attic that was nevertheless very adequate and amazing value for money. It is worth recommending on account of the quiet position, the excellent restaurant and the lovely staff.

Room Tip: I suspect you get what you pay for. The attic room we had was excellent value for money but if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris-and-Joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yealmpton
4.8 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
2.7 mi away
St Elizabeth's House
St Elizabeth's House
#2 of 3 in Plympton
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
3.2 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
205 reviews
13.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitley House Hotel

Property: Kitley House Hotel
Address: Yealmpton | Nr Plymouth, Yealmpton PL8 2NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Yealmpton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yealmpton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kitley House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Kitley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitley Hotel Yealmpton
Kitley House Hotel Yealmpton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing