We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby without the chic” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kitley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kitley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yealmpton
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Shabby without the chic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Booked an overnight stay (via a last minute type website - so the price was OK) in what was called by Kitley a 'State Room' described thus on their website: 'There are 4 deluxe State Rooms on the First Floor. These rooms are large mini suites in a variety of individual colour schemes and layouts. The State Rooms in particular feature large full height panoramic windows and each has a lounge area. The beds are mostly kingsize with options for Double or Twin occupancy. The rooms are particularly suitable for families of 2 or more children.'
This, as it turned out, is pure marketing rubbish. The room was not particularly large - it was slightly larger than your average hotel double room. It was not a 'mini suite': one room with a bathroom is not a suite, mini or otherwise, in any hotel. There was a full height bay window which added about 3 feet by 6 feet to the floor space. This tiny additional area, it turned out, was the 'lounge area' which was filled with two small chairs and a little table with the tea/coffee stuff on it. We had a child with us so we assumed that, since the room was 'particularly suitable for families of 2 or more children' there would be plenty of space for extra 'z-bed' arangements. They had put in one extra bed, as requested, (which, by the way, was very uncomfortable and resulted in it being abandoned and the thin mattress being laid on the floor) but that left virtually no spare floor space. 2 extra beds would have been impossible.
The room was all a bit shabby, as was the whole building. There was only one small recessed ceiling light for the room (to get enough light the two bedside lights had to be used). One of the power sockets wouldn't work. There was a most peculiar smell in the wardrobe. The bathroom was fine and the shower was powerful. The hotel's attention to detail was poor: they knew we were a party of three (the extra bed) but they didn't supply extra cups, glasses or tea/coffe stuff - we had to ask for them.
The dinner, however, was very good. I do however, always baulk at the British practice of charging for veg: it's mean spirited. The food was great and the service was very good, cheerful and efficient (Thank you Nathan).
The hotel grounds are pretty but a good, hard working, gardener would be a bonus.
All-in-all, don't expect this hotel to be up there with the great British tradition of Country House Hotels. It's a long, long way from being that despite the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank The-Rupert-Seller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    166
    58
    20
    8
See reviews for
98
224
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Arrived yesterday for a one night stay to attend a party. On first impressions the house is very large but not as dramatic as other buildings from the same period. The reception area was clean but not very impressive. The staff were friendly enough and got us checked in without problems. We were in room 12 which was a double at the cost of £100. After the long walk up to the top I realised I was in what would have once been the servants quarters, all the decor was old tatty and mismatched all windows and doors were in a serious state of disrepair. The room itself was small with a small double bed and not much else. It was very warm and smelled unusual but unfortunately 2 of the 3 windows did not open one of which was in the bathroom which was again small and basic. The shower head was covered in limescale and water pressure weak. The taps in the basin were also in need of a good clean. The mattress was about as thin as I think they come and the springs were uncomfortable digging into my ribs. The wall paper was most definitely around the same age as Stonehenge and the carpet throughout was not far behind. The bar and function room seem to have been invested in recently but the rest of the house and grounds seem to have been neglected. The bar was surprisingly expensive a can yes CAN of Guinness was £4 and s mohito nearly 8. The breakfast was very nice with all quality ingredients just not very much of it for the money. 1 egg 1 sausage about 3 small mushrooms and some bacon which was a bit greasy, plenty of toast and warm fruit juice though.
All in all I have stayed in better budget hotels for a fraction of the price and will most definitely be looking for a premier inn should I need to return to this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Kitley House Hotel was the venue for the wedding of two very dear friends of mine over the last weekend. We were too late in booking to get rooms at the hotel; but we were there all day and until late in the evening.
The service was superb on all counts. The staff were helpful and friendly, to the point that they actually made a real contribution to the success of the event overall.
The wedding was held outside near to the lake on a small island, which was very picturesque. The drinks were fairly reasonably priced, and the meal was fantastic. Overall, I highly recommend this Hotel for a venue for such events.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is in an interesting country house built in 1825, set in the middle of park and farmland. New owners are refurbishing it and we had one of the older rooms in the attic that was nevertheless very adequate and amazing value for money. It is worth recommending on account of the quiet position, the excellent restaurant and the lovely staff.

Room Tip: I suspect you get what you pay for. The attic room we had was excellent value for money but if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris-and-Joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Don't stay at Kitley House if you want a basic standard hotel room like any other, but if you want something different and fancy staying in an intriguing historic building then this could be for you. Our room at the top had a tremendous view over the estuary and was clean and comfortable with the emphasis on peace and quiet with only the noise of owls at night. Continental breakfast was slightly expensive as there was limited choice, but the dining room was spacious, different and worth the experience. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The impressive house is situated in extensive grounds where we could have enjoyed more time, but our aim was to visit Salcombe - one of the many delightful places in the local area. It took 40 mins drive to reach Salcombe rather than the 20 mins noted online, but after a full day it was a delight to return to Kitley for a relaxing drink on the terrace bar overlooking the estuary. Kitley is a high maintenance rural country house. Though everything was clean and tidy, It was difficult to control the water temperature in our ensuite shower and the water flow itself wasn't impressive. However, in our view these little annoyances were all part of the Kitley charm!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeepersP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is on the up. The restaurant is first class and the service excellent. They have a very good team who are making the hotel a delightful place to visit either to stay or for a meal. The setting is fantastic, peaceful and relaxing. A quintessential English country hotel. Pay the extra for a large room they are worth it. If not, be prepared for a small room but don't let it put you off.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weronhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I booked this hotel as part of a 3 hotel trip for my wifes 65th Birthday, we stayed on 15th july. Of the 3 hotels it had the worst rating on tripadvisor. It was undoubtably the best by far. We stayed in the Reynolds suite which was spacious with superb views down the estury from a large bay window with 2 armchairs in it. Previous reviews talk of shabby and flaking paint, which may be true about flaking paint but certainly not shabby. i would say in keeping with an ancient stately home. The grounds are stunning. We started with a drink in the bar followed by a cream tea - it was the best cream tea we have ever had, beautiful jam and cream, home made warm scones and fresh strawberrys. Our meal in the evening was suprising as again it was one of the best meals we have ever had in a very nice restaurant. The presentation was fantastic, the home baked bread in flowerpots with canapes and pea volute as an apetiser, complimentary, was a very nice touch. I had flash fried breast of wood pigeon and my wife had scallops to start - both were superbly cooked gain the mains, steak with crevettes and rack of lamb were perfect. Desert was home made and very well presented and the cheese board offerred a very good variety with grapes and apples to boot. The service was first class, prompt, friendly, attentive and not in your face. Breakfast again was very good indeed, wonderful cereals, the grenola with fruit and dates was the best I have ever had and, the cooked breakfast was a cut above with honey roast sausages and Hoggs pudding.
In all I would say if you want excellent decoration and modern facilities, book the premier inn, but if you want excellent food in excellent surroundings with outstanding service and views to die for - this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Book The Reynolds suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IhateARORA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yealmpton
4.3 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
St Elizabeth's House
St Elizabeth's House
#2 of 3 in Plympton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
3.6 mi away
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
13.3 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitley House Hotel

Property: Kitley House Hotel
Address: Yealmpton | Nr Plymouth, Yealmpton PL8 2NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Yealmpton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yealmpton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kitley House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Kitley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitley Hotel Yealmpton
Kitley House Hotel Yealmpton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing