We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kitley House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Rose & Crown(Yealmpton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Smithaleigh(Plympton)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boringdon Arms(Plymouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Plymouth(Plymouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveler rating
291
174
70
23
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
174
70
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskitley housemurder mysterycream teastately homelong drivewaysconeswedding venuetheatre companylog firesome tlcfour poster bedstandard roomtop floorchurchill suitelovely locationcooked breakfastwarm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
378 - 383 of 567 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is in an interesting country house built in 1825, set in the middle of park and farmland. New owners are refurbishing it and we had one of the older rooms in the attic that was nevertheless very adequate and amazing value for money. It is worth recommending on account of the quiet position, the excellent restaurant and the lovely staff.

Room Tip: I suspect you get what you pay for. The attic room we had was excellent value for money but if you are concerned about stairs and refurbishment condition then it might be wiser to pay more.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris-and-Joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Don't stay at Kitley House if you want a basic standard hotel room like any other, but if you want something different and fancy staying in an intriguing historic building then this could be for you. Our room at the top had a tremendous view over the estuary and was clean and comfortable with the emphasis on peace and quiet with only the noise of owls at night. Continental breakfast was slightly expensive as there was limited choice, but the dining room was spacious, different and worth the experience. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The impressive house is situated in extensive grounds where we could have enjoyed more time, but our aim was to visit Salcombe - one of the many delightful places in the local area. It took 40 mins drive to reach Salcombe rather than the 20 mins noted online, but after a full day it was a delight to return to Kitley for a relaxing drink on the terrace bar overlooking the estuary. Kitley is a high maintenance rural country house. Though everything was clean and tidy, It was difficult to control the water temperature in our ensuite shower and the water flow itself wasn't impressive. However, in our view these little annoyances were all part of the Kitley charm!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeepersP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is on the up. The restaurant is first class and the service excellent. They have a very good team who are making the hotel a delightful place to visit either to stay or for a meal. The setting is fantastic, peaceful and relaxing. A quintessential English country hotel. Pay the extra for a large room they are worth it. If not, be prepared for a small room but don't let it put you off.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weronhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I booked this hotel as part of a 3 hotel trip for my wifes 65th Birthday, we stayed on 15th july. Of the 3 hotels it had the worst rating on tripadvisor. It was undoubtably the best by far. We stayed in the Reynolds suite which was spacious with superb views down the estury from a large bay window with 2 armchairs in it. Previous reviews talk of shabby and flaking paint, which may be true about flaking paint but certainly not shabby. i would say in keeping with an ancient stately home. The grounds are stunning. We started with a drink in the bar followed by a cream tea - it was the best cream tea we have ever had, beautiful jam and cream, home made warm scones and fresh strawberrys. Our meal in the evening was suprising as again it was one of the best meals we have ever had in a very nice restaurant. The presentation was fantastic, the home baked bread in flowerpots with canapes and pea volute as an apetiser, complimentary, was a very nice touch. I had flash fried breast of wood pigeon and my wife had scallops to start - both were superbly cooked gain the mains, steak with crevettes and rack of lamb were perfect. Desert was home made and very well presented and the cheese board offerred a very good variety with grapes and apples to boot. The service was first class, prompt, friendly, attentive and not in your face. Breakfast again was very good indeed, wonderful cereals, the grenola with fruit and dates was the best I have ever had and, the cooked breakfast was a cut above with honey roast sausages and Hoggs pudding.
In all I would say if you want excellent decoration and modern facilities, book the premier inn, but if you want excellent food in excellent surroundings with outstanding service and views to die for - this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Book The Reynolds suite
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IhateARORA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

On arrival the drive is extremely poor full of potholes etc, the car park is a bit shabby and needs resurfacing, reception was good but we were taken to the foot of the stairs and given brief instructions on how to get to the room, we then entered the maze that was before us. The room was a let down with flaking paint and peeling and stained wallpaper. The service in the restaurant was not good due being understaffed as there was to be a wedding fare the following day and the food was definitely not of the standard we expected given the ratings that this hotel claimed they had.

Stayed: July 2013
3  Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews