We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondeful”
Review of Kitley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kitley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yealmpton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and myself have stayed here many times
We married here and January of this year renewed our vows
It was the first place ten years ago my then future husband took me
Every time we have stayed its been fantastic !!!
Yes the rooms need a little attention but cosmetic only it's clean and quiet and the staff are fantastic the food brilliant the atmosphere spot on if you want to relax n just chill
I belive the new owners will take this wonderful hotel and enhance it for the better
We will b back ...not a threat a promise ....totally recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellykimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
There are newer reviews for Kitley House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 533 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

First visit to this hotel. The long drive really makes you think what I am going to experience. The exterior of the hotel is typically that of a country house. We had a great deal through secret escapes which included dinner and I was expecting a fairly mundane menu with little style...............how wrong could I be. The food was first class and the staff extremely helpful. Breakfast was outstanding with a full choice.
Bedrooms were clean and linen was of a superior quality.
I have only stopped giving the 5 stars due to the TLC which is required on the décor and the lack of a bar ( under refurbishment). The new owners were in the process of updating the décor, so I am sure that on my second visit, that I will provide 5 stars.
Well done Kitley House Hotel..you get my vote

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianberridge1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Do observe the speed limits on the drive of the hotel, as any increase in speed could well result in damage to your transmission and/or suspension - ruts and potholes galore!!

An hotel that would benefit from some attention, with wallpaper beginning to peel from the first room we viewed and peeling paint and woodwork in need of restoration.

Having booked an overnight stay, whilst enjoying a long awaited trip to the area, through a well known website, after reading favourable reviews, we arrived full of goodwill. This soon dissipated after being informed our room was on the second floor. I have restricted mobility, although the two flights were negotiated with effort and a bruised knuckle (due to the bannister ending before the flight had been scaled). The person who booked us in (Julie) checked availability on the first floor and advised us that there was an alternative room available at the additional cost of £50 - totally unacceptable, having purchased a room at a reduced price.

Having committed ourselves to the original room, which turned out to be a family room, with a connecting door, we unpacked, remarking that the view from the double bedroom was unusual - it was actually one of the chimneys, just about far enough away to open the window. The children's room was no more attractive. As we were only staying one night, this was no real problem. However, there was something that was totally unacceptable. The listed hotel used a sani flow system and the overpowering aroma of effluence was evident as soon as the bathroom door was opened. On being told about the smell, my husband was advised that the room was towards the end of the circuit and that the system blocks up and the smell becomes worse with warmer weather. The fact that this was known to the staff and the room was not checked before being offered to guests (even ones such as us, who took advantage of an offer to stay there at a reduced price) is surprising to me.

My husband went down to reception and spoke with Tamsyn, who gave him keys to two other second floor rooms. My husband was unable to access one room - there was a problem with the lock - but the second room room was acceptable (or so we thought). We left the room and went elsewhere for a meal and returned to discover that the bathroom heater could not be turned off - on one of the few warm evenings and nights we have had.

There were a couple of positives to the stay. The afternoon cream tea was acceptable, although we had to wait for the scones to be made - a fact that was not shared with us at the time of booking. The breakfast was acceptable, with a choice of items. The breakfast waiter was attentive and helpful.

Room Tip: As there is no lift, if you have any mobility problems, check the location of your room. Beware roo...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joan4327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

this was a 2nd visit to this hotel, and it was just as good as we remembered.
the staff are all very friendly and extemely helpful (especially nathan) nothing is too much trouble.
the food is of an excellent standard.
the hotel itself is a 500 year old country house set in the middle of a country estate, peace and quiet all round. ( dogs are very welcome)
if you are thinking of staying here i would thoroughly recommend the hotel and if you can stretch the budget i would recommend a suite, the club rooms are nice but quite small.

Room Tip: there is no lift, so would recommend a suite on the 1st floor or the hubbard suite (disabled suite...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladylectrician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Kitley House is a great place to stay if you are in Plymouth or surrounding areas. It is quiet and has wonderful surroundings . The staff are always friendly and helpful, there is ample free parking which these days is a joy for anyone staying at a hotel anywhere these days. The food is of the highest quality whether it be dinner or breakfast. Rooms are very good and have character and are spotless. As someone who stays at hotels a lot this is my first choice when staying in West Country. Graham D, Buckinghamshire

Room Tip: If you can go for state room,
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamdearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great welcome, Great staff, happy to chat and help. The staff in the bar were great at the cocktails and generally made you feel part of the family. Nothing was too much for any of the staff. Fantastic suite with great views. Happy to say going back in July and looking forward

Room Tip: Corner suites are simply divine
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tstrong1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We only had the one night and Karl and the team did all possible to make our stay as best as possible given the ongoing modernisation work inhand.
The cream tea is 1st class, the dinner and breakfast, both worth the money..excellent infact.
Yes the hotel was shabby and yes the grounds needed the attention of a groundsman but at the price we paid, it was worth the money. Our room was clean if on the small side and in need of some TLC. Once all areas of this hotel are up to scratch and if the staff stay the course it will be a gem!

Room Tip: Have a look at your room before you move in.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yealmpton
4.2 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
4.8 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
2.6 mi away
St Elizabeth's House
St Elizabeth's House
#2 of 3 in Plympton
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
13.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitley House Hotel

Address: Yealmpton | Nr Plymouth, Yealmpton PL8 2NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Yealmpton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yealmpton
Price Range: $87 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kitley House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kitley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitley Hotel Yealmpton
Kitley House Hotel Yealmpton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing