We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service”
Review of Kitley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kitley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yealmpton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked this overnight stay thanks to an offer from Secret Escapes. It included a cream tea on arrival, three course dinner, a bottle of wine, bed and breakfast. The suite we had, the Rodney, had an enormous (more than 2 metres in length) sofa and 5 floor to ceiling windows which overlooked undulating fields. It also had a four poster bed and a huge bathroom. It would have been nice if the bathroom had a separate shower, considering its size, but it was a nice powerful shower all the same.
I perused the sample menu online, liked the look of one of the starters so when I rang to book a time for dinner, I asked Tamsin what the chances were of that starter being on the menu. On arrival at the hotel, Tamsin was on the reception desk. She remembered my request, looked online at the menu and went down to the kitchen to see if something similar could be replicated for me. She returned to tell me that the chef was more than happy to do that starter for me!! We went down to dinner and my special starter arrived...it was divine as was the whole meal. I had salmon ravioli with a smoked salmon and chive sauce followed by sea bass on wilted spinach and saffron potatoes followed by the cheese board which was wonderfully presented and very tasty. My husband had a fish pattie followed by lamb also finishing with the cheese board. The whole meal was first class and Karl, our waiter, was very attentive but not overly so. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful and the cream tea, sitting in front of a log fire, was yummy!
Having read other reviews, I would agree that some aspects of the hotel are a little in need of some TLC but my husband and I both liked the fact that the hotel was not at all stuffy and that the staff were wonderfully helpful and approachable.
We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: The Rodney had spectacular views and huge windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolineSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 552 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Kitley Hall is set at the end of long drive. A truly stately property. A beautiful setting but the building and grounds have seen better days and are really in need of some TLC and a refurbishment. The room we had to be fair had just been repainted and being one of the State Rooms on the first floor had plenty of space with wonderful high ceilings and views over two sides of the property - down to the lake and woods beyond and the other over to the "wedding Island" where apparently you can get married! The entrance hall is very grand with a huge roaring log fire and the reception staff were very welcoming (as were all the staff in general), however reception rooms to the side of reception and down towards the dining room appeared to be undergoing refurbishment of some sort, but generally had little in the way of furniture and pictures and frankly should have just been closed off rather than left open and looking rather sad. The grand staircase up to the first floor is indeed very grand but desperately needs pictures or tapestries or something on the vast areas of walls. At present there are just a few maps at the top of the stairs which didnt make a lot of sense. The corridor down to the rooms was also rather bland and uninspiring and the staircase up to the second floor looked very much as if it used to be to the servants quarters so glad we had not chosen a room up there!. Beware there is no lift and lots of steps so carting luggage up to your room is a bit of an issue. The "Sarah Martin Suite" is named after a past housekeeper at the hall who is alleged to have written the "Old Mother Hubbard" poem. Its a large room with a nice sitting area with large flatscreen TV and a nice fireplace, and also has a writing desk area in a side window alcove overlooking the wedding island. The bed is in the centre of the room between two huge grand floor to ceiling windows and was quite comfortable though not huge but had a strange load of odd bits of foam packed into the end between the the end of the mattress and the bed frame! Good sized clean bathroom. The mock wood laminate bathroom floor was somewhat buckled around the toilet pedestal, but again appeared like the bedroom to have recently had a coat of paint. Curtains appeared to be very grand but on closer inspection very skimped on material so no fullness. Just enough material to close them. The wardrobe contained what at first sights appeared to be a safe but on inspection was just an old tin box screwed to the wall with no lock. There was also an iron but no ironing board?? There was however an excellent and very fast free wifi service in the room. The room also had a lovely old fireplace though no longer in use. Bedroom housekeeping left a bit to be desired, bed wasnt made properly (just pulled up not made) Had to ask reception on third day and then done properly.
Room rates are pretty reasonable even for the state rooms and include a well cooked English Breakfast. The dining room and bar were again nice at first sight but on closer inspection desperately in need of refurbishing. Good breakfast (hot food is freshly cooked to order) and served in front of another roaring log fire and an excellent dinner was also served in the same room.
All in all a pleasant stay with friendly staff doing their best but it just needs a bit of TLC and a good refurbishment and it could be so much better.

Room Tip: Definitely go for first floor state rooms and avoid the second floor rooms in the roof space. When w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GastroInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The management and staff worked hard to make it a Christmas to remember. Nothing too much trouble. Food and entertainment most enjoyable.
There were log fires, Organised walks, for those who wanted it.
A Trip to the pantomime.
Murder mystery evening.



.Sister of Stewart

Room Tip: All rooms looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

A drive down the long drive and you arrive at a very nice looking building. Into reception and you are met by friendly and helpful staff. Off to your room,mine was called the Churchill, and very nice to,a large room with a fourposter, a large bathroom adjoins but only a shower over a bath separate shower would have in my opinion would have been a lot better
A visit to the restaurant and bar where really nice and great food can be had
A little disappointed in the overall decor needs a lick of paint here and there ,new carpets in rooms are needed
Also not impressed that dogs were allowed(this will cause a few bad comments no doubt aimed at myself) but hey it's my review
Overall not a bad place to stay

Room Tip: Try and stay in a suite as the room I had to move to at the top of the hotel was rather basic and sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My mum and I spent the weekend at the Kitley House Hotel. Firstly, it's brilliant because we could take the dog, and it is set in really beautiful grounds, with woods where we could walk him. The hotel itself is pretty grand inside too, with good size rooms which, although they are in desperate need of a lick of paint, are very comfortable. The food was also excellent. The thing that really stood out about this hotel, however, was the staff, who were really friendly and helpful. Overall, it was also pretty good value for money. Had the Murder Mystery dinner not been cancelled, it would have been absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: Look out for deals on this hotel before you book! There are some very good ones if you look online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minnie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for two nights at this country house hotel. The ambiance is nice and the main public rooms are satisfactory. It would be a perfect back drop for a wedding, however, the fabric needs some attention. The main door is an original feature but the small ramp that allows disabled access detracts from the entrance. The main door needs a refurbishment as it has many layers of paint and looks scruffy rather than the entrance to a high class hotel. The reception staff are friendly and helpful but there is no way of attracting their attention is there is no one at the desk this can be annoying if you have to hunt through the hotel looking for the night porter so you can get the key to your room. The fire in the main hall is a nice touch and was needed when I visited. the main staircase is impressive as is the window at the half landing. The is however a lack of paintings on the walls, there are rails on either side of the windows which should either have tapestries or paintings hanging from them. At the landing there are some old charts but these out of place despite the ship model on the stair case. The route to the upper story rooms is not well sign posted and looks just like the servant staircase that is was. The paint on the doors needs attention and the doors would benefit from push plates. The housekeeping staff are young but willing to help. Room 15, has a strange smell of a bad drain as you approach the door. The ensuite is small but functional, although the shower curtain is too small as it is limited by the eves of the room. The bath is not a bath and is not a shower tray. The curtain should be replaced with a screen. The toilet has a macerator attached which is very loud as is the fan which is attached to the light switch. The cold water does not get cold even if the temperature outside is freezing. The shower and conditioner are in holders on the wall which is tacky and the conditioner one did not work and when reported could not be replaced. The bed was comfortable but again the furnishings and decor was tired and could do with a refresh. The features of the windows while original could still be in good repair. The view was amazing and the grounds looked fantastic. I had dinner and all the food was well presented, good quality a dinner for two with wine and port was £80. The wine list had some high quality wines but nothing under £17. I ordered the cheese board and port and they came separately with a 15 minute separation, when I mentioned this a second port was forthcoming. I asked for a ice bucket and ice in the room which was put in the room with glasses, however, there was a bottle of champaign on the chest of draw next to where they put the bucket ... it would not have taken much thought to put the bottle in the ice. In summary a nice location good food and in general good staff held back by failing decor and furnishings.

Room Tip: not rooms on the second floor in the eves
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

What a fantastic get away. I have never felt compelled to give a review on anywhere I have stayed before (let alone as soon as I got home) but this was wonderful. We just returned from an Easter weekend get away with the dogs and came along the drive to the view of such a wonderful characteristic building. As we came through the entrance we were greeted with a warm glow of an open fire and the most friendly and helpful staff I have come across. Although the building itself is in a little need of TLC the staff here are wonderful and really make this place special. they are helpful, welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We have stayed in places with our dogs before and although they have been advertised as "dog friendly" we have always felt like we were more like an irritant than guests where as here the dogs really were welcome. We settled in the bar (with the pooches in toe) and had a fabulous dinner were the service again was truly excellent. A grand room (we stayed in the Hubbard) and had breakfast in the privacy of our room in the morning overlooking the river and wildlife. Breakfast was the best I have ever had. This charming place really was made so great with its staff! Great job guys. We will defiantly be back.

Room Tip: Great dog walks in the grounds! Bring your pooch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yealmpton
4.2 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
3 mi away
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Elfordleigh Hotel
Elfordleigh Hotel
#15 of 21 in Plymouth
460 reviews
4.8 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
2.6 mi away
St Elizabeth's House
St Elizabeth's House
#2 of 3 in Plympton
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitley House Hotel

Address: Yealmpton | Nr Plymouth, Yealmpton PL8 2NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Yealmpton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yealmpton
Price Range: $86 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kitley House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kitley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitley Hotel Yealmpton
Kitley House Hotel Yealmpton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing