We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yealmpton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peel House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Yealmpton B&B and Inns
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly home away from home”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I loved staying with Lynn and Richard at the Peel House. They couldn't not have been more helpful and accommodating in helping me arrange our stay from the US. A friend and I were there for a wedding and had a wonderful time. Lynn is a fantastic cook and breakfast was made to order each day.

Lynn greeted us on the sidewalk and welcomed us in with beverages and homemade cake. They have an adorable, very friendly, dog, Floss, who loves to have her belly rubbed.

Everything is spic and span clean and very cozy. Lynn and Richard are delightful. I certainly hope to return and will tell all my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
29
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Excellent well run superb . Nicely decorated, comfortable bed,private facilities ,breakfast as you want it cooked to order ,hot and well presented . Landlady / owner very very pleasant nothing was to much trouble would highly recommend this B and B if you plan on visiting Plymouth and surrounding areas And right next door an absolutely superb pub with an award winning restaurant would highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Sorry no pool or fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

From our first contact to enquire about booking a room Lynn and Richard were friendly and welcoming. Lynn was happy to accommodate our request for a late breakfast which we really appreciated and offered to drive us to our evening meal at the Treby Arms. The B and B is immaculately clean and our room large and comfortable. Good choice at breakfast. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farthingate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Having stayed in many B&B's throughout the UK, Peel House ranks very highly. Upon entering there is a real wow factor, the decor is charming and it is meticulously clean. Lynn and Richard are lovely hosts, extremely welcoming and helpful. For our arrival Lynn had baked a delicious chocolate cake which, along with a cup of coffee, was perfect after a long drive. Our breakfast the following day was fabulous - Lynn's scrambled eggs are amazing! Peel House has set the bar for all B&B's - I hope we get the opportunity to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMF24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

As a person who normally stays in hotels, whilst traveling the country, I had this place recommended as a possible suitable location to stay whilst meeting up with a business friend in a local .pub

I have read some recent reviews and can only concur with the comments. Lynn and Richard were wonderful chatty hosts, but not overbearing. The cleanliness and service were second to none and the breakfast, personally cooked by Lynn when ordered, was excellent.

I wish to mention that on arrival, after an exhausting day, Lynn offered me a pot of tea and to sit in the lounge whilst I unwound - the highlight was a homemade cake with the tea, which Lynn advised me had been made by one of her daughters - it was WONDERFUL !

I was also given a small flask of fresh milk to use in conjunction with the various drinks available in the room - a very nice touch, which did not go unnoticed.

All round, I can only concur with a previous review that this is the standard that other B & B's should aspire to. I will certainly travel out of my way to stay here again on my business travels

Peter

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were attending a function locally, and decided to stay overnight at Peel House - we had a very friendly welcome, the room was chic and very comfortable, clean and fresh - lovely little details like shells on the mantlepiece, and bedside lamps that coordinated with an stunning metal wall art hanging.VERY comfortable bed - Lynn and Richard were most friendly and welcoming and it made the whole weekend delightful. Great breakfast - would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked this B&B after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor as we were attending a 60th birthday party on the 23rd of November in the neighbouring pub/restaurant. It was a foul night with heavy rain and strong wind.
We were given a warm welcome by Richard as Lynn was out at the time. The entrance was bright, immaculately clean and inviting. Richard offered to carry our bags up to the room which was on the first floor. We were not disappointed as the bedroom was also beautifully presented with crisp white linen and had a colour co-ordinated throw on the bed. There were two illuminted lamps on the bedside cabinets that gave a warm glow to the room. The carpet was freshly vacuuumed and the curtained drawn as it was now 18.30. The decorative fireplace was dressed as a focal point. The heating was on low and the temperature was just perfect for us.
There was a dressing table with kettle, mugs and a basket of varoius teas, coffee, hot chocolate, milks and sugar. Also there was a lovely blue bottle of water and two glasses.
A large fitted wardobe had plenty of hangers for our clothes and an ironing board. Another nice touch was the inclusion of a hot water bottle for those with cold feet!
All of the bedroom furniture and soft furnishings were beautifully presented and everyting worked as it should do. There was a television which was wall mounted and a satellite receiver.
The bed was a 5 foot double and was very comfy along with the pillows. A small round table, chair and a full length mirror completed the funiture.
There were lots of nice pieces of decoration in the room, not the usual 'leftovers' you often see in B&B's.
We then went off to meet Floss the resident dog. We are animal lovers and were already getting withdrawl symptons from ours. She was a small bundle of curls and loved a tickle. Just super.
Lynn arrived a little later and also gave us a warm greeting.
We were asked what time we would like breakast and shown where we would be having this and at the same time given a potted history of Peel house. It used to be the Police Station and Magistrates Court in the 1800's. Everywhere we went within Peel House was immaculate and spotless but not clinical. It had a lovely cared for feeling to it.
We went back upstairs to get ready for the 60th Party. The en suite shower room was sparkling clean. The white towels were soft and fluffy and there was 'Pears' handsoap provided for the basin and Pears shower gel in the shower cubicle.
The beauty of Peel house is that it was adjacent to the pub/restaurant that was the venue for the 60th and that was another great experience which I will review seperately.
Breakfast was beautifully presented by Lynn as Richard was out walking Floss.
The sideboard was laid out with fresh fruit, whole, prepared and dried, Luxury yohgurt, a selection of cereals in glass display jars and juice. It was a perfect selection. Lynn then took our orders for hot breafast and the type of toast that we would like. It was cooked to perfection and once again beautifully presented. Because Lynn and Richard are so friendly we lost track of the time and it was only when we got back to our room that we noticed that we had spent an hour and a half eating and chatting to them. That may sound as if they were intrusive but it couldn't have been more different. They were so nice that WE wanted to talk to them.
So I would sum up Peel House as beatifully presented, immaculately clean, super breakfast and run by a lovely couple who take pride in what they are doing. They offer a B&B that other B&B's should aspire to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happilyretired_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yealmpton
1.3 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
528 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
207 reviews
3.5 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
St Elizabeth's House
St Elizabeth's House
#2 of 3 in Plympton
478 reviews
4.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
4.3 mi away
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peel House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peel House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Peel House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Peel House Market Street | Yealmpton, Yealmpton PL8 2EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Yealmpton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Yealmpton
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynn and Richard guarantee you a warm welcome at Peel House. They offer stylish comfort in a village setting using local produce for their delicious breakfast menu. The rooms have a contemporary style with a boutique feel. TV, WiFi access, tea and coffee making facilities, luxury bedlinen, towels and toiletries help to make your stay as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Peel House Bed And Breakfast Yealmpton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing