We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A private paradise!”
other travelers have booked this property
Breakfast at Rafiki's Resthouse. Back verandah. Private.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breakfast at Rafiki's Resthouse. Back verandah. Private.
Entrance side. Video lounge upstairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Breakfast at Rafiki's Resthouse. Back verandah. Private.
Entrance side.
Video lounge upstairs
Downstairs terrace and splash pool
Shall we join?
Kudu
Rural Africa bedroom
Guest bathroom, toilet and shower
Bird Lovers' bedroom, en suite
Vervet monkeys appreciating the fresh water
Warthog family
Our garden brings shade
At the fence, playing elephants
At the fence, rhino breakfast meeting
Buffalo herd at river
Lion kill buffalo
Fish eagles, 2 mins from our house
Visiting giraffes
Safari at your doorstep
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Marloth Park, Mpumalanga

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
deborahm3...
1 review
“A private paradise!”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Rafiki’s Resthouse has spoiled me. My husband and I made our first trek to your lovely continent and are already planning on returning! Spending 12 days in this virtual private paradise was the trip of a lifetime. The setting of Marloth Park is so very unique. Experiencing living among wild animals was surreal. I never imagined I would have zebras and kudu eating pellets out of my hand. I couldn’t wait to get up in the morning and sit on the veranda waiting to see what animals would visit. I also eagerly looked forward to relaxing each evening on the veranda and being amazed at all the visiting wildlife. Mischievous monkeys, bush babies snacking on their nightly banana, magnificent kudu, bushbuck, warthogs, birds, beautiful spider webs glistening in the morning sun – each day a new surprise. It was also ideal to be able to walk five minutes to the Crocodile River fence or drive along the river fence and watch animals in Kruger congregate by the water. The location is also perfect for driving into Kruger – only a fifteen minute drive to the Crocodile Gate.

The home is so comfortable and welcoming. We were never uncomfortable despite it being extremely warm most days. The veranda was the perfect place to kick back and relax. The bedrooms offered comfort and privacy, and each room has its own air conditioner. The bathroom and kitchen facilities very nice – not missing a thing. We took advantage of the grocery store as well as ate out at various restaurants in Marloth Park. Our housekeeper, Betty, was fantastic. Not only did she keep the house immaculate (always when we weren’t around) she also introduced us to animals and was so very pleasant at all times. Gerda made sure to answer any questions we had and went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our holiday.

I can’t wait to return!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and tell us about how you experienced Rafiki's Resthouse. We are delighted to read that you appreciated our house as much as we do and also found a perfect alliteration :). Guests like you make us realise why we want to share our haven of peace. Although we did not meet, we hope that indeed we still will some time in the future. The animals visiting the garden would be as honoured as we would be. We were told by a little fly named Betty that you took great care in providing fresh water and were a wee bit too generous with the food pellets. No wonder the animal world misses you a lot! Hope to meet you one day.... Gerda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amigolucy
minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Zebras came every day to our doorstep!”
Reviewed April 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

There are hardly enough words to describe the Rafikis Experience! We are two retired Americans who spent three months in SA. The research for lodging was overwhelming - especially for the last month of our stay. Research ended the minute I saw the photo of the zebra grazing right at the deck of the house! I knew this would be an experience that overpriced group safari packagers could not offer. We booked a month and it was the best of our whole adventure to this lovely country! Where else in the world (literally) would this opportunity be quite like this. We had daily visits from the zebras, monkeys racing around the canopy of shade trees - their cheeky behavior endearing. Or the regal male kudos with their quiet elegance invite a place on our steps for a small pellet... the family of seven plus old grandpa warthogs that snorted till satisfied. I lose count - impala, wildebeest, a three legged bushbuck, a genet, monitor lizard, and the very shy bush baby who had a daily banana. It was like living in the safari magazine itself - and all of it in our own backyard. It felt surreal. As well, the house has every comfort - from great showers to fully stocked kitchen. Betty, the housekeeper, kept every corner (literally) immaculate. The location in Marloth Park, which is in itself a nature reserve, could not be beat. You are steps away from a walking path viewing the Crocodile River. Elephants, hippos, wildebeest. Though we were 15 minutes from Kruger and had numerous self drives and guided drives - the time at Rafikis was our most treasured. It's hard to describe what it was like to be so immersed - and to have an animal look directly in your eyes with no fence or car door between you is like a fairy tale. The owner Gerda made it all so easy to book - and answered countless emails from me before we ever even left the States. Her generous attention will never be forgotten. Gerda - you gave far more than would ever be expected. Thank you for a lifetime of memories. We are raving fans and will happily spread the word about this unique opportunity! Wish I could give ten stars!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write down your experience at Rafiki's Resthouse. We are so glad, relieved even, that all went well here as you had seen so much in South Africa by the time that you arrived at our place. It was such a great pleasure to have you as guests, for every one. For Africa, because you had an open mind and were very interested in the people and the culture. You wanted to soak it all in. For me, because you are such great people and wonderful nature enthusiasts. For Betty, because you appreciated her and her work and her personality. And last but not least for the animals who must have highly appreciated the respect that you have for them and their environment because the garden is crowded, they even sleep here as if they seem to wait for you.
By staying here a month , you have clearly left your mark, for ever. We all miss you dearly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen27_1...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“at one with nature”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

I was over from the UK for three weeks and as with every trip, have to go on safari, my sister-in-law found Rafiki and we booked it. It was five and adults and two children. Short car journey to The Kruger which was ideal. We even stayed "at home" one day after a morning drive, and it was so relaxing with birds and animals visiting. During of five night stay we had kudo, bush baby, monitor lizard, warthogs, civet and of course baboons come to the veranda, the only "regulars" that didn't come was the leopard and zebra, but we did see the zebra in the village at a neighbour's house. Would definitely stay here again, we all loved it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2017
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we are particularly happy when experienced safari goers appreciate the house and garden. You probably did not see the zebras because the herd that regularly visits had a new born calf during your stay. Unfortunately, it had been attacked by a predator, had difficulty walking, and died a few days later. That is (wild)life as well. Nature took its course.
The picture of the wounded calf was put on our Facebookpage.
We hope to welcome you again one day, who knows .....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neha P
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently amazing!”
Reviewed February 13, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed here last year when Rafiki's Resthouse had only just opened. We were blown away by living so close to nature so we decided to come again. Rafiki's Resthouse is even better now! If that was even possible. Every room has aircon. Some remaining little fences and gnomes have been removed so you really feel like you are in the middle of the bush. My favourite bedroom has an extra nightstand and the entrance has a beautiful new sign! Anyways... Rafiki's Resthouse does an incredible job of putting you at one with nature while at the same time providing you the comforts of home (or in our case, better than home!).
When we came last time, we did not feel the need to swim but now it was a hot week and the pool was sooo refreshing.The zebra's even passed by to come and look at that strange creature in the water.

Betty not only does an amazing job cleaning, but she now cooks traditional dishes! As always, the owner is extremely helpful and knowledgeable (a good combination!).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2017
Thank you so much for the time you have put into telling us that you had a great stay. That makes us and Betty and the animals visiting the garden very happy. We love returnees and hope to welcome you again with open arms. Gerda.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarenceT...
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly 'Safari at Your Doorstep'”
Reviewed January 26, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

It was an amazing and incredible safari experience staying in Rafiki’s Resthouse.

During our 1-week stay there I stood two meters from a giraffe, stepped aside for a herd of five male kudus galloping across the road and marched alongside a herd of zebra at sunset.

The stay in Marloth Park made my complete Safari experience perfect because it allowed me to get out of the car and had a close encounter with the animals ,unlike Kruger National Park where you could only view the animals from inside the car. It is perfectly safe to get out of the car because Marloth Park doesn’t have the “Big Five” and other dangerous predators. It enabled me to take photos with the animals which was pretty awesome. It gave me the perspective of how big the animals actually were.

During the day zebra and other animals came to graze in our backyard. At night we saw the rare thick-tailed bush babies came all the way to the veranda. Even people we met who have been living in Marloth Park for years said they had never seen one.

The Crocodile River, which is part of Kruger National Park and where even more game can be seen is only 3 mins walk from the house. Rafiki's Resthouse is also very close to gate 2, from where the entrance to Kruger National Park is only 15mins by car. The people who live in Marloth Park said that from some houses on the other side of Marloth Park you have to drive more than twice that distance to get to Kruger.

The interior of the house is beautifully decorated and homely. Rafiki's Resthouse also does an amazing job of giving you the feeling that you are in the middle of nature while at the same time providing all the comforts of home. Oven, stove, fridge, freezer, aircon, boiler, etc. are all present. The fan in my room didn't work very well but luckily there was aircon and a mosquito-netted window as a backup. The fan was repaired the same day.

Betty, the helper and cleaning lady, was very friendly and had an incredible smile. She’s always there when we needed help.

The website has a wealth of information. Gerda (the owner) is always quick to reply with detailed information about my queries.

Overall, I would highly recommend Rafiki's Resthouse. Sitting on the veranda and watching the animals pass by your backyard is a truly serene and awesome experience.

Thank you Gerda and Betty for the most pleasant experience and stay in Rafiki's Resthouse.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience when staying at our house. We are truly happy that you enjoyed it so much, particularly since you were guests from so far away. You were wonderful and very respectful people. I think that even the animals miss your kindness and respect.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinaborms
Hoedspruit, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adventure, and fun.”
Reviewed November 29, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very nice, first time, in South Afrika, Rafiki guesthouse!
All kind of animals, coming up to the lovely terras, while we where playing bridge.
Our hostess, Gerda, showed us the Kruger Park, on his best, we saw the Big Five in one day!
Amazing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location , animals
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2016
So that future guests do not misunderstand : I am usually not around and therefore cannot take guests into Kruger. But I happened to be in Marloth Park and was willing to give an introduction to Kruger and wildlife in general.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amigolucy
minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“We haven't been there yet...”
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I have NEVER written a review BEFORE a visit... but can't resist. We have booked month of March at Gerda's Resthouse. It took weeks of research and countless other tempting spots. However - Gerda's sincerity and efforts to answer countless questions won me over. She is DELIGHTFUL. Aside from the smiles I get reading her emails - this lady is a WEALTH of informative tips. We have three months in SA - and aside from Kruger she throws out ideas galore for us to research. We dreamed of a Safari all our lives... and we are getting that with her backyard - plus three months in SA for the price of many "official Safaris" that last but days. We can't wait to start....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2016
Humour is the sauce of life :) .
Thank you so much for appreciating the help offered. I will do everything I can to make your stay in South Africa (and Rafiki's Resthouse :) ) not only unforgettable but I do hope it will make you wish to return :). There is sooooo much to do and to see.
Gerda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing